$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

2 stars
View map of 473 Eisenhower Blvd/I-83, Harrisburg, PA 17111

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
204 reviews
For what it is worth

Great lociation and the staff was niece, and good sounrounding easily to get to the interest and... See full review

  • Jounior
  • Aug 11, 2014
Great Place

This was the most affordable location we visited during our trip and the staff was great. The room... See full review

  • COL D
  • Jul 11, 2014
This budget hotel near the Harrisburg Mall features an adjacent restaurant that serves high-quality comfort food and specialty microbrews. Also featured at the Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg are guest rooms with microwaves, refrigerators and free Wi-Fi. An outdoor pool and fitness center are available. Located at the junction of I-83 and I-283, the Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg provides convenient access to downtown attractions such as the National Civil War Museum at Reservoir Park. Hershey is a short drive away.
Dining
Free breakfast at the Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg features breads, cereal, fruit, pastries, waffles and beverages. At lunch or dinner, sample the lineup of one-of-a-kind microbrews at the adjacent Lancaster Brewing Company. Pair a signature beer such as Milk Stout or Amish Four Grain with an order of LBC meatloaf, Amish Ale braised bratwurst or a thin-crust pizza.

 

Rooms
Free Wi-Fi Internet access is available in all guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg. Rooms feature one king or two queen beds, interior access corridors and patios or balconies. Also included are microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, cable TV with HBO, complimentary bath amenities, hair dryers, in-room safes, iron/ironing boards and wake-up calls.

 

Property features
The Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg lobby seating area is situated along floor-to-ceiling windows. Additional spaces include an outdoor pool and children's pool surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. The Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg fitness center includes exercise bikes, a stair climber, treadmill, weight machine and TV. Parking is free. The hotel offers a free airport shuttle.

 

Highlights
  • Adjacent to Lancaster Brewing Company restaurant
  • Less than a mile from the Harrisburg Mall
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Free airport shuttle

 

Nearby attractions
  • Harrisburg Mall (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Strawberry Square (4 mi/5.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania State Capitol (4 mi/6 km)
  • City Island (4 mi/6.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center (4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Hershey's Chocolate World (9 mi/13.8 km)
  • Roundtop Mountain Resort (11 mi/18.1 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 1,000 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi
Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (5 mi/7.4 km)
  • Adjacent to I-83
  • Adjacent to I-283
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (3 mi/4.4 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (3 mi/5.6 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (3 mi/5.7 km)
  • Free airport shuttle available

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg also booked these hotels.

★★
$56
3.4 / 5 48 reviews
★★
$53
3.5 / 5 77 reviews
★★
$67
2.5 / 5 10 reviews
★★
$63
3.6 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$59
3.2 / 5 92 reviews
★★★
$63
3.2 / 5 97 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bmeh
Family
king of prussia
Sep 1, 2015

Not worth it

Rooms are old and dirty. Staff was not pleasant except one maid who saw us looking for the breakfast room which was locked as the front desk gave us the incorrect time. Pool was dirty. All in all the rooms are over priced due to the location of the hotel within 10 miles of Hershey. If you are underdecided and wonder if its worth it to spend an extra $40 for a newer chain then you should do it. I would give it a one on the green stars scale as there are no efforts here to reduce waste or recycle materials

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cortni k.
Friends
New Fairfield
Aug 28, 2015

terrible hotel

Hotel was out dated and dirty and there were bugs in our room. Would not reccommend, and staff was rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Lo
Family
Dover
Aug 27, 2015

Good trip

It was ok for the money. It was what we needed for the two nights. We had a bed and is all we needed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Lo
Family
Dover
Aug 27, 2015

Good trip

It was ok for the money. It was what we needed for the two nights. We had a bed and is all we needed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kul
Couples
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

Family and Friends

Overall, it had good experience on this stay at Howard Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joy
Family
N/A
Jul 26, 2015

It was disgusting, it helps to pay extra for sanitary.

The cleaning people needs to do their job. The toilet was disgusting, urine and fecal matter in the toilet, carpet looks never been vacuumed for weeks, and the sheets and pillowcases looks like they're never been washed, otherwise the other staff were nice, big size room, the shower pressure was good, the free breakfast was decent and the location was good, only a few minutes drive to Hershey's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gizka
Family
N/A
Jul 23, 2015

Disappointing

we were disappointed with the room. It was not very clean. We also noticed that there were ants on the safe, not even close to where there would be any food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LTB1
Single
N/A
Jul 14, 2015

Disappointing Stay at HOJO's

I've stayed at this particular hotel twice in the past couple of years. It is not a four star hotel so I didn't look for that kind of experience. The problems were numerous this stay: I stay two days. There was no room service given. I reported the iron not working and it was never addressed. The soda/water machine was sold out for both days. Lastly, there was a centipede in my bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JOSE V.
Family
N/A
Jul 14, 2015

family

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel was not clean. Inside the room the ceiling was falling off, the hot water in the sink did not work. Most of the cable channels did not work either and the wifi failed to work on the first day of arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alejandra E.
Friends
N/A
Jul 12, 2015

I honestly liked it.

It was an excellent room but the inly thing that I did not like was that we found bugs in the sink. So I think that should be taken care of. But everything else met my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top