$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

3 stars
4021 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
33 reviews
Holiday Weekend

About twenty minutes from Hershey Park but with the 4th of July and a boy band concert everything... See full review

  • VA Dad of two girls
  • Jul 8, 2013
Loved it!

Clean and lovely hotel! Had a great experience. See full review

  • spelchick98
  • May 17, 2011
Harrisburg PA Hotel Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East , the perfect location for business or leisure travel! We are located just 4 miles from the PA Farm Show Complex and 10 miles from the Hershey attractions, including Hersheypark, Giant Center, and Hershey's Chocolate World. Downtown Harrisburg is only 4 miles from our front door. Each guest enjoys the following complimentary items: hot breakfast buffet featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, 24/7 coffee station, onsite parking, Business Center, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, seasonal outdoor pool, guest laundry facilities. Explore our state capital, catch a sporting event on City Island, or take in the beautiful scenery over a picnic lunch at The National Civil War Museum. Looking to explore more of the Keystone State? Our hotel is located minutes from many major interstates providing easy access to Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course (15 miles), Carlisle's famous car shows (25 miles), Lancaster's Amish country (35 miles), or historic Gettysburg (40 miles.) In addition, our great location at exit 48 off Route 83 provides easy highway access to Harrisburg International Airport. Business travelers appreciate our close proximity to state government offices, Sysco, Pepsi, UPS, Pinnacle Health, Hershey Foods, and many more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Texas Roadhouse
steakhouse and bar
Empire Asian Bistro
sushi bar, midscale Asian dining
Fiesta Mexico
Mexican cuisine, table side guacamole

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 25, 2010

Bait and switch

I reserved my room requesting non smoking and two queen beds. When I arrived at the hotel they said they didn't have any rooms like that left. My choice was a smoking room or a room with one king. Period. When I showed them my reservation, they said I had just "requested" that type of room. The person at the desk had a take it or leave it attitude and was totally unapologetic. [...] I'm NOT HAPPY. The shower curtain didn't fit the shower, so we had a minor flood on the floor of the bathroom and the fixture in the sink was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 10, 2009

Gross!

A nasty experience! There was hair everywhere...sheets, toilet, shower... No one to clean the room. Mold all over the bathroom ceiling. Thank goodness it wad only one night in that nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock, Illinois
Aug 1, 2010

Holiday Inn East Harrisburg

First room was not cleaned from previous guests at our late (10:00 PM) arrival. Lobby crowded and hot. 2 people working front desk appeared to me to be more interested in their Blackberries then the guests. Dust on light shades was thicker in lobby than rooms. Breakfast was a real show. The staff was not equiped or concerned about the number of guests at feeding time. It looked like a commercial and all the people were related to Cliff the mailman. Toilet was moldy but there were no alternatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwich, CT
Aug 20, 2010

Request for a REFUND!!!!!

We had two rooms across from one another the one room was directly above the front enterance, where later to discover the speakers for entrance music was placed on either side of rooms windows. The rooms were filthy we laid towels down on the carpets & bathroom and if that wasn't enough we couldn't get any sleep due to the night club outside our window; there was one channel on the TV and it was the disney channel my husband & I were not happy. The other room had a broken door and fridge that spoiled our son's milk & our vacation. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelby, Ohio
Aug 3, 2010

Not worth the cost

The hotel has been updated but you can tell it was updated which meant not to the best standards. The rooms where not dirty but the cleaniness I expect. The staff was not rude but not the most welcoming that I have experienced in other hotels. The pool was very small with limited seating area and ridiculously small pool towels which there were never enough of. The toilet ran all night which was annoying, the refrig made noises, plus the room was facing the highway which you could hear, not to mention the noises in the hallway, limited parking, and the sink was cracked in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hershey Park was not worth the expense. Too long of wait for rides, cost too much for admission, and food was ridiculous in price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit Michigan
Aug 23, 2010

Motel Express

There was no fan in the bathroom. Air conditioning in room was very noisy. Tv did not work properly. Elevator ran slow. Breakfast was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hershey Park is not too far away. Less expensive then staying right in Hershey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorktown, IN
Jul 2, 2009

the experience

The paint was chipped off the door frame to bathroom as well as mold on ceiling, fan was extremely loud & didn't serve it's purpose. The room needed a good dusting. The breakfast was bad. We had to go next door to McDonalds & saw 3 other families from the hotel there. There was alot of noise in the hallway after 10:00 pm. I put a note under the managers door & there was no response. The pool needed cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hershey attractions was only about 10 min from hotel. There was also outlet shopping at Hershey. There was also a mall near. I would highly recommend Fudruckers!!! The best hamburgers ever!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stine2121
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 30, 2014

Stayed for Travel Purposes

Checked in late at night...traveling to State College, PA the next day for game day. Booked room that night and room was on the first floor...might have been last room available. The room smelled of mildew and the sheets were wet and damp. It was too late to ask to be moved to another room. The room was also out dated. I would not stay here again for the price there were other hotels in the area that had a competitive rate and would have been nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJK3
Business
Chicago
May 12, 2012

Not 5 Star

The hotel does not have a shuttle service to the airport. Although the room was very clean, the carpet was threadbare in spots, the light fixture in the hall was hanging from the ceiling and the toilet wobbled when you used it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Texas Roadhouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARRISBURG EAST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of 2 and wife
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 18, 2010

Nice hotel but bathroom not acceptable!

We went to the hotel after a day at Hershey Park. The hotel and room were decorated beautifully. The beds were comfortable. I also liked having the huge TV and refrigerator in the room and the computer access in the lobby. THE BATHROOM WAS UNACCEPTABLE! The bathroom didn't even have a working vent. After every one of us took a shower, it was like a sauna in the bathroom! There was also mold on the ceiling tiles of the bathroom, and the bathtub had a very slow running drain. It seems to have been clogged with something. Also, the complimentary breakfast had a lot to be desired: watered down OJ, stale bread to make toast, hard overcooked bacon. The Holiday Inn Express at Kings Dominion in VA had a better breakfast and bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top