$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

3 stars
4230 Union Deposit Rd., Harrisburg, PA 17111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
16 reviews
Sweet time at Hershey

We stayed in the hotel since it was close enough to Hershey Park, but not as expensive as other... See full review

  • Madam X
  • Aug 4, 2014
Nice getaway

Staff was very friendly, room was clean, breakfast was good and hot. Just wish the room doors were... See full review

  • electrical genius
  • Sep 17, 2013
a winning combination...welcome to the Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East (Hershey Area).We'd like to make a motion that you stay at the Hampton Inn® hotel in Harrisburg-East (Hershey Area). Our location is super-convenient to the state capitol and the beauty of Harrisburg. Need a second? Okay, we're just eight miles from the family fun of Hershey. See the holy grail of American chocolate, package your own Hershey's Kisses and have blast at Hersheypark.Plus, don't forget that Amish Country and Gettysburg are just a short drive from our location. Throw in the golf courses, excellent dining and shopping, and our hotel in Harrisburg will sway any visitor. So vote for a stay at the Hampton Inn hotel in Harrisburg-East (Hershey Area), and you will enjoy a winning combination.services & amenitiesEven if you're in Harrisburg to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. That's why we offer a full range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay with us exceptional.Are you planning a meeting? Wedding? Family reunion? Little League game? Let us help you with our easy booking and rooming list management tools.* Meetings & Events* Local restaurant guide

Hotel Map

40.2796 -76.8146
Nearby airports
Harrisburg Intl Airport, (MDT), 9.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 95.00, MI, NW; Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 113.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 16
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madam X
Gaitehrsburg, MD
Aug 4, 2014

Sweet time at Hershey

We stayed in the hotel since it was close enough to Hershey Park, but not as expensive as other hotels in Hershey itself. It was around 20 minutes from Hershey which was not a bad drive. We had two kids, aged 4 and 6, and the hotel staff was family- friendly. It is located close to many eateries, so there were choices as to where to dine, since there was no restaurant in the premises. Overall, the experience was good. As with all Hilton properties, the room and bathroom were clean with ample towels and amenities. The free breakfast was good, with waffles, breads, sausages, eggs and cereals. There was not that much variety in fruits, considering it is in an agricultural town, but it was ok.The room designated to us was close to the pool, and that made it very noisy. It was quite a busy week-end, and so the staff appeared to be stressed. The cafe machine and water at the lobby was a welcome treat to tired drivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
electrical genius
forest hill, MD
Sep 17, 2013

Nice getaway

Staff was very friendly, room was clean, breakfast was good and hot. Just wish the room doors were heavier because you could hear everything. Overall, great place and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kids in tow for super wkd
North Jersey
Aug 4, 2013

Slept like a baby

I'm a light sleeper and for a hotel that was at full capacity and full of kids, I slept very comfortable. Rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. It is also two lights away from the highway and eight miles away from Hershey park. I have stayed in other hotels closer to the park and were not as nice as this one. Staying just a few miles away payed off. Definitely more value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Right off the highway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jun 22, 2011

Crowded

The hotel was nice. However, the hotel guest included two sporting groups. Will avoid visiting during this time. Eating area and pool were toooo small for the size of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, DE
Apr 25, 2011

Hampton Inn Harrisburg

In town for our family reunion. Convenient to Hershey without all of the pandemonium. Quiet, clean (very new?) staff was very nice. Breakfast was suprisingly wonderful (big waffles!). Defintely our place to stay when in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GratefulDad
Arlington, VA
Mar 21, 2011

Well done

Very professional and competent, and allowed us an early check-in for child-care purposes. All-around smooth and a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pharmacy directly across the street and a Panera restaurant on a speck beyond that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran and family
Vernon, NJ
Nov 29, 2010

Great Place to Stay!

Normally when we go to Hershey Park, we try to stay in Hershey, but decided to stay on the outskirts to save some money, since I had to book 3 rooms for this trip. I called before we left home to make sure that all 3 rooms would be together. The very courteous and friendly front desk girl told me that she already put us on the same floor and the rooms are next to each other. I was impressed by this, because normally when I book a room with a hotel I have to request this. The staff, (all the staff including the front desk), were so nice. I was standing waiting for an elevator after I went down to get myself a cup of tea and a staff member (I think she was from housekeeping), greeted me with "good morning" and then proceeded to ask me how I liked my room? We had a nice conversation during the elevator ride my foor. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was incredible with so many selections, we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but some of our family members has a little bit to eat before we went to an incredible diner nearby. But from what I saw it was organized, not crowded and there was hot food too! And the dining area was clean. We've been to hotels in Hershey where the complimentary breakfast did not consist of hot food and it was very crowded and messy looking. The hotel is about 15 minutes away from Hershey Park and it is very easy to get to and from Hershey Park from this hotel. It didn't even feel like 15 minutes, it felt like it was less. We will definately be coming back to this hotel on our next trip to Hershey Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a wonderful diner in a neighboring town, the food and the service were great. It was the City Line Diner,3302 Derry St. in Paxtang which is a short drive. We went there for breakfast the 2 days were were there the waitstaff and the customers we all very friendly and the food was great. The last day we were closer to lunch time and some of our group had lunch and the lunch was also wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hershey family vacation
new hampshire
Jul 25, 2010

Hamton Inn - Harrisburg

The building had a very dated appearance in the hallways and in the rooms. There were stains on the carpets and we had mildew in the grout in the bathroom and all along the bottom of our shower curtain! We only stayed one night and by the time we had gotten into our room after a night out at Hershey Park, it was too late and the kids were sleeping before we noticed. I will say that the staff was very understanding and accomodating to our situation and remedied it ASAP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elkridge, MD
Jul 19, 2010

Very nice

Very nice hotel except for the broken elevator. The only working elevator sounded like it needed repair also. It had a great breakfast and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg-East/Hershey Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocono Traveler
Pocono Mountains, PA
Jul 5, 2010

Just OK

It was in a quiet area with some decent food places near by. Hotel looked like it needed an update (dirty rugs. Rooms and Bathrooms were small. The ceilings were low which made the hotel seem cramped. It was OK but it wasn't worth the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search