$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
View map of 23 South Second Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
76 reviews
Everything was fine, no problems, the location was convinced.

Enjoyed my stay everything was fine no concerns. Thanks for everything. See full review

  • Shirl the Pearl
  • Aug 18, 2014
Nice hotel, not a bad price

The hotel was nice. It's location in downtown Harrisburg was convenient. Easy to get to. See full review

  • MrDFab
  • Jul 30, 2014
Enjoy Your Stay at One of the Best Harrisburg PA Hotels Nestled on the banks of the Susquehanna River, surrounded by historic architecture and modern buildings, is the bustling city of Harrisburg, PA. Our hotel's location is in the midst of this capital city where science, art, business and culture combine to create an urban oasis. When you stay at the Crowne Plaza® Harrisburg – Hershey Hotel, you'll have a successful trip thanks to our amenities and close proximity to State Government offices and companies such as Rite Aid, Highmark, Tyco and IBM. We have 10,500 square feet of space that's great for meetings and banquets, and other perks like a Crowne Meetings Director and a Daily Meeting Debrief make us "The Place to Meet" near Hershey, PA. Our hotel's downtown location also makes us the ideal place to stay for a fun vacation. Walk to the Capitol Complex and State Museum to learn about Pennsylvania's history, or enjoy a meal at an eatery on Restaurant Row, Harrisburg's eclectic culinary district. For some family fun, head to Riverfront Park and City Island to enjoy river recreation, or ride a roller coaster and indulge in candy at Hersheypark in nearby Hershey, PA. Our hotel's the place to be in Harrisburg and offers great amenities such as an indoor pool, a Fitness Center with city views, and a chic restaurant, 2wentyThre3. With all of this, you're bound to enjoy your stay at the Crowne Plaza® Harrisburg – Hershey hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

★★★
$139
4.2 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$67
3.0 / 5 118 reviews
★★★★
$143
3.9 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$116
4.3 / 5 42 reviews
★★★
$63
3.2 / 5 97 reviews
★★★
$114
4.2 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$101
4.1 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$59
3.2 / 5 92 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.
23 Caucus Lounge
Enjoy a refreshing cocktail in our comfortable lounge. Happy hour from 5PM -7PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 76
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brett B.
Family
stony point
Mar 14, 2015

stay

Not what i expected. Seemed a little run down. Parking was a little steep in price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J. Campbell
Family
Bremerton, Washington
May 6, 2014

Wouldn't be my first choice...

This place would probably do fine if you are traveling on business in downtown Harrisburg, or planning a night out in downtown and need some place close that you can stumble back to afterwards but for anything it is not a good choice. First of all, due to the location and lack of parking expect to pay for parking, $18 a day. And if you are there during a weekend and they have any functions going on you can expect to sit and wait for a while to get your car checked in or out, because they take people other than just those staying at their location. I also thought it was odd that they didn't include breakfast of any kind. I have stayed at other places that provide a full breakfast, and most places provide at least a continental breakfast. In fact, the Crown Plaza in San Diego provides breakfast and dinner free of charge, partly the reason I chose them for this trip. I won't make that mistake again. Now let's talk about those functions. They seem to host a lot of functions on the weekend, which can interfere with parking and just plain getting into the hotel all together. One night, the lobby was so full of people that we would have had to wait for like 30 minutes to be able to use the elevators to get to our room, they finally took us across the way and had us use the service elevator. Not exactly what you expect for that type of a place. And as for the amenities, they have the usual laundry room, even though it only has one washer and one dryer, a lounger, dining area, weight room, and a pool. While I didn't use some of them, I can tell you the pool is just that, a basic pool. They don't even have a hot tub or Jacuzzi, which was a big disappointment. And if you are out all day and don't get dinner before returning to the hotel, don't think you can just walk downtown there and get anything to eat, because everything closes up earlier. I think the next visit I'll look for something a little further out of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat while you are out during the day before returning to the hotel, because everywhere downtown closes early and there isn't much of a selection downtown to begin with.

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD Joe
Family
Washington, D.C.
Mar 31, 2014

More for business

We were in Harrisburg meeting up with friends. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza. There is NOTHING to do in downtown Harrisburg on the weekends. The CVS even closes at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday. Nice hotel, but location is more for business in Harrisburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Major Pap
Family
Rockland, New York
Aug 7, 2013

My lousy stay at Crowne plaza- HARRISBURG

It was not good at all. I requested a double bed in my reservation. When I got there it was a single bed. I was told they were sold out. They also told me because my reservation was thru a 3rd party they could not accommodate me for a double bed. Also the mattress was hard like wood. There was nothing 4 star about my stay. I will never use Crowne Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbumjay
Family
Midlothian, VA
Aug 2, 2010

Nice Hotel

We attended a wedding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dncetchr AG
Family
NC
Dec 26, 2009

Our PA Stay

Our room was upgraded so we had use of a refrigerator since we had an infant with us who needed milk. We were provided with a crib at no extra charge. It was nice to not worry about packing those items in the car. Our older son loved the pool, which was very warm to swim in for December. We were on vacation and found the hotel to be very close to all of the attractions we came to see. All in all, the hotel was very nice. Room was clean, had the pool, room service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be conscious of driving instructions. Some of the highways are tricky and change without visable signs.

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ft Myers, FL
Aug 10, 2009

Enjoyed the hotel. Great location

The only problem I had with the hotel was the towels. There were only 3 towels/washcloths in bathroom; but there were 4 of us. I had to request more towels. Then after taking to cleaning lady, she gave us enough each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sc fireman
Family
ft. inn sc
Aug 7, 2009

ok

overall it was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

not alot of places close by.

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Long Island, Ny
Jul 27, 2009

crown plaza

There wasn't really anything bad about this hotel, just that there really wasn't any thing to do, it was a ghost town lol. Other then that its okay. Nice stay, staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Its like 20-30 min to hershey depending on traffic.

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
phila. pa
Jun 8, 2009

Very nice hotel

We were able to check in early which was a highlight since the kids wanted to swinm and I wanted to relax. The room were very clean and comforable and the staff nice and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historical site/Capital were close by. Hershey Park a good 20 minutes.Restaurant nice .Pool was great for the kids!

Back to menu Return to top