$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
23 South Second Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
73 reviews
Nice hotel, not a bad price

The hotel was nice. It's location in downtown Harrisburg was convenient. Easy to get to. See full review

  • MrDFab
  • Jul 30, 2014
A true four star experience

Quick, courteous check in and check out. Hotel is very close to the thriving downtown restaurant... See full review

  • scumbag
  • Jan 2, 2014
Free Wi-Fi and sophisticated dining on Harrisburg’s Restaurant Row
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey are welcomed in a large, sumptuous lobby featuring a dramatic staircase, wood pillars and contemporary seating. Room options include double, king and deluxe rooms. Stop in at the on-site 2wentyThre3 restaurant for traditional favorites such as steaks, seafood and pasta. For additional dining options, more than 60 fine dining restaurants, casual eateries, bars and coffee shops line Restaurant Row, within walking distance of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey.
Highlights
  • Concierge service
  • Governors suite available
  • Indoor pool with portholes looking into 2wentyThre3 lounge
  • One block from the Susquehanna Art Museum
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Rooms
Traditional style is highlighted with poster beds, tufted easy chairs and warm colors in guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey. Rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, CD players, coffee makers, free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, voicemail, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Soothing complimentary sleep amenities such as lavender linen spray and eye masks ensure a good night's sleep.

 

Features
The 10th-floor fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey features elliptical machines, recumbent bikes, treadmills and weight machine overlooking the Susquehanna River. A heated indoor pool features underwater portholes that look into the hotel's 2wentyThre3 lounge. Creative comfort cuisine is the focus at chic 2wentyThre3 restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is available. Valet parking also is available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (8 mi/12.2 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-83 (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (3 mi/5.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts (Across the street)
  • Strawberry Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • City Island (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The State Museum of Pennsylvania (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Harrisburg Mall (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Roundtop Mountain Resort (11 mi/17 km)
  • Hershey’s Chocolate World (12 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,500 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.2592 -76.8802
Nearby airports
Baltimore International, (BWI), 90.00, MI, S; Harrisburg International Airport / HIA, (MDT), 11.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 73
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Galatea
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Disappointed

This hotel needs a lot of work. The room they put us in first had mold in the shower, and the heat did not work. It was also very small. We had to complain several times to be switched to another room which they finally did. The food and drink menu had very limited selections . This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel and clearly it is not. I would never stay there again. It s too expensive for what they offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
luica
Business
NJ
Jul 29, 2013

not so goog

The Hotel is in not so good location, the bathroom is so small that you can't move and you need to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barberton, OH
Oct 4, 2010

Frozen Food

The only parking was the valet provided which was outragously expensive. Then they treated us like we were stupid because we didnt kno where to go with our car and didnt check in before they took it to valet. Then we had no help getting our luggage to the room. Then once we got everything into our small room (pictures are deciving) we ate at the resturant in the hotel, 2wenty-thre3. We both got the cheese lasgania and we both had to send it back because it was still frozen in the middle. They just reheated them and gave them back. Which made them even more dried out. We got one free dessert, even though two meals were horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fair Consumer
Business
Crofton, Md
May 9, 2010

Just not what I expected

I am sure this Hotel is fine, It was just not what I was hoping for. There is no personal parking and vehicle handling. Mandatory Valet is very inconvenient, and an additional charge not disclosed in the initial information. Noisy room in the front of the Hotel, i dont know what the back room was like. [...] was a God Send. She understood that i was not satisfied and provided Excellent customer service by trying to help me find a suitable hotel within their family of hoels. [...] is the very best part of my experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 18, 2008

horrible place

The Crowne Plaza at Harrisburg was horrible, the bed was rather small lookin because everything was sort of crammed together. The bathroom looked not as upclass as the rest of the hotel you could see the pipes and stuff. The location was horrible we thought that gangs were going to steal our car--thankfully nothin happened to the car. There was no hotel parking unless you counted the fee of 18$ per night for the valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping mall was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Will E P
Business
Chester Township, NJ, USA
May 1, 2012

Not what i expected

What i got was an average hotel stay with basic options. When i arrived they didn't have the hotel room i originally booked. They told me next time to call ahead to make sure they have the room, booking online doesn't guarantee that. Also, when i booked I was promised a complimentary bathrobe. You can say i never got that. I chose this hotel for 3 reasons. Its location, which was a good location in downtown Harrisburg, PA (the only plus). Its parking lot, but they charge for that (18 a day for valet parking). And Finally, the pool, but that was very cold throughout our stay. I never went in. Very disappointed. Regarding the room it was fine, nothing spectacular. My biggest complaints is the shower. Goes from hot to cold and back often during your shower. Not very pleasant. Buffet style breakfast was a little pricey as well for being a mediocre hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking at the Hotel is $18 and only valet. If you want to avoid that charge on your hotel bill park on the street and walk. Its free all weekend Friday after 6pm - Monday morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bluemarshmonster
Business
Bernville, PA
Mar 18, 2013

Skinny walls

Stayed over after the St. Patty's day parade. Didn't use any amenities. Just needed a place to crash. Location was perfect for the parade. Hotel staff was extremely polite and helpful. Hotel very nice looking. No mini fridge in the room. Biggest issue with not giving a high rating was that the walls are paper thin. We were kept awake till 3am from the people in the room next to us. The walls were so thin that you could hear them using the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, NY
Aug 5, 2013

Hershey Park Vacation

Hotel was average, nothing special. Parking is hard to find therefore you need to valet everytime at a whooping 18 dollars. Staff was very friendly and accomidating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leominster, MA
Dec 1, 2009

Good hotel, Bad area

Me and my girlfriend were going down to Hershey PA just to get away. The location of this hotel was about 15-20 minutes away from Hershey Park/Attractions. The one thing I did not like was that there was NO parking at all for the guests at this hotel. Not only did you have to pay around $100 for your room, you have to pay $18 a night just for vallet parking. (Even though this is convinent, it was not convinent for my wallet.) Other then that their pool was amazing. Just be aware that there is no parking and you need to pay $18 a night for vallet parking. Other then that the room service was very quick, great food, and reasonably priced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 5 blocks away there is an amazing breakfast restaurant called Roxy's. It is very small, but great food, and extremely quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, Ct
Aug 5, 2010

Hershey Park

At the hotel we went into the pool only two times, it would have been nice if there was a jacuzzi. We only ordered room service once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel, it's a big rip off. two pieces of bacon cost 4$, that's 2 strips only. a breakfast for 2 cost 25$. that's more than lunch for two.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top