$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
23 SOUTH SECOND STREET, HARRISBURG, PA 17101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
114 reviews
A true four star experience

Quick, courteous check in and check out. Hotel is very close to the thriving downtown restaurant... See full review

  • scumbag
  • Jan 2, 2014
last minute

Everyone was friendly and the food was well prepared and delicious See full review

  • English Rose Garden
  • Jun 28, 2013
Free Wi-Fi and sophisticated dining on Harrisburg’s Restaurant Row
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey are welcomed in a large, sumptuous lobby featuring a dramatic staircase, wood pillars and contemporary seating. Room options include double, king and deluxe rooms. Stop in at the on-site 2wentyThre3 restaurant for traditional favorites such as steaks, seafood and pasta. For additional dining options, more than 60 fine dining restaurants, casual eateries, bars and coffee shops line Restaurant Row, within walking distance of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey.
Highlights
  • Concierge service
  • Governors suite available
  • Indoor pool with portholes looking into 2wentyThre3 lounge
  • One block from the Susquehanna Art Museum
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Rooms
Traditional style is highlighted with poster beds, tufted easy chairs and warm colors in guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey. Rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, CD players, coffee makers, free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, voicemail, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Soothing complimentary sleep amenities such as lavender linen spray and eye masks ensure a good night's sleep.

 

Features
The 10th-floor fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey features elliptical machines, recumbent bikes, treadmills and weight machine overlooking the Susquehanna River. A heated indoor pool features underwater portholes that look into the hotel's 2wentyThre3 lounge. Creative comfort cuisine is the focus at chic 2wentyThre3 restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is available. Valet parking also is available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (8 mi/12.2 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-83 (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (3 mi/5.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts (Across the street)
  • Strawberry Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • City Island (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The State Museum of Pennsylvania (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Harrisburg Mall (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Roundtop Mountain Resort (11 mi/17 km)
  • Hershey’s Chocolate World (12 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,500 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.2592 -76.8802
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International Airport / HIA, (MDT), 11.00, MI, W; Baltimore International, (BWI), 90.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vermont
Aug 7, 2009

Harrisburg

Went to see a concert. Unfortunately, we didn't spend much time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 14, 2007

very comfortable beds, quaint neighborhood

The Crown Plaza Hotel had its prons and cons. The beds were unbelievably comfortable and this hotel s located in a charming section of town. However, the price was a little high. I also had a few other issues: my room smelled like onions (and no amount of room fragrance covered it), and the breakfast was not good (don't order the pancakes!). Beyond that, I remember someone got stuck in the elevator for 30 minutes the previous day and someone complained to me that the parking spots underneath the hotel were so tight that you would definitely get your car dinged up if you parked in there. Maybe that's why the parking fee was only $8.00! Valet service was also as slow as molasses. But the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Friday night many people were gathered a short way away to see a band play. I believe it was located in the entertainment district. Seems to be a rousing night life here.

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn ,NY
Aug 26, 2009

Nice location, near night life

Nice hotel and the service at the restaurant is excellent. Very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dncetchr AG
NC
Dec 26, 2009

Our PA Stay

Our room was upgraded so we had use of a refrigerator since we had an infant with us who needed milk. We were provided with a crib at no extra charge. It was nice to not worry about packing those items in the car. Our older son loved the pool, which was very warm to swim in for December. We were on vacation and found the hotel to be very close to all of the attractions we came to see. All in all, the hotel was very nice. Room was clean, had the pool, room service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be conscious of driving instructions. Some of the highways are tricky and change without visable signs.

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy and Rob
Watertown, New York
Jun 10, 2013

Nice place!

All was well until the fire alarm sounded at 3:30pm on Saturday night. We should have had a free breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good!

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portage, PA
Jul 24, 2008

ok place

ok place to stay--expected better service for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pottsville, PA
Jul 13, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

The Crown Plaza was very comfortable and very clean. The pool was closed for renovations. I picked this hotel because it had both a restaurant and a pool. Staff were very friendly and courteous. Bathroom was somewhat small, but again very clean. The location was good, because you were in walking distance of many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loujits
New York
Aug 27, 2012

Harrisburg room

Hotel is nice, but over-priced. We had three seperate rooms and all had drain problems in the shower. The toilet is also very close to the bathroom door. Great staff and location, try Firehouse Restaurant few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Firehouse Restaurant

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 8, 2007

Nice stay but.........

I had a wondeful stay at this hotel but the only thing that really bugs me was the slamming of the hotel room doors. There was a loud bang everytime someone leaves there room. It woke me up a few times. Other than that, everything else was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
condor7
oceanside
Oct 29, 2013

nice personal

great personal... very helpful, friendly and educated...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top