$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
23 South Second Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
77 reviews
Nice hotel, not a bad price

The hotel was nice. It's location in downtown Harrisburg was convenient. Easy to get to. See full review

  • MrDFab
  • Jul 30, 2014
A true four star experience

Quick, courteous check in and check out. Hotel is very close to the thriving downtown restaurant... See full review

  • scumbag
  • Jan 2, 2014
Free Wi-Fi and sophisticated dining on Harrisburg’s Restaurant Row
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey are welcomed in a large, sumptuous lobby featuring a dramatic staircase, wood pillars and contemporary seating. Room options include double, king and deluxe rooms. Stop in at the on-site 2wentyThre3 restaurant for traditional favorites such as steaks, seafood and pasta. For additional dining options, more than 60 fine dining restaurants, casual eateries, bars and coffee shops line Restaurant Row, within walking distance of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey.
Highlights
  • Concierge service
  • Governors suite available
  • Indoor pool with portholes looking into 2wentyThre3 lounge
  • One block from the Susquehanna Art Museum
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Rooms
Traditional style is highlighted with poster beds, tufted easy chairs and warm colors in guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey. Rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, CD players, coffee makers, free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, voicemail, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Soothing complimentary sleep amenities such as lavender linen spray and eye masks ensure a good night's sleep.

 

Features
The 10th-floor fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey features elliptical machines, recumbent bikes, treadmills and weight machine overlooking the Susquehanna River. A heated indoor pool features underwater portholes that look into the hotel's 2wentyThre3 lounge. Creative comfort cuisine is the focus at chic 2wentyThre3 restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is available. Valet parking also is available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (8 mi/12.2 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-83 (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (3 mi/5.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts (Across the street)
  • Strawberry Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • City Island (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The State Museum of Pennsylvania (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Harrisburg Mall (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Roundtop Mountain Resort (11 mi/17 km)
  • Hershey’s Chocolate World (12 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,500 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J. Campbell
Business
Bremerton, Washington
May 6, 2014

Wouldn't be my first choice...

This place would probably do fine if you are traveling on business in downtown Harrisburg, or planning a night out in downtown and need some place close that you can stumble back to afterwards but for anything it is not a good choice. First of all, due to the location and lack of parking expect to pay for parking, $18 a day. And if you are there during a weekend and they have any functions going on you can expect to sit and wait for a while to get your car checked in or out, because they take people other than just those staying at their location. I also thought it was odd that they didn't include breakfast of any kind. I have stayed at other places that provide a full breakfast, and most places provide at least a continental breakfast. In fact, the Crown Plaza in San Diego provides breakfast and dinner free of charge, partly the reason I chose them for this trip. I won't make that mistake again. Now let's talk about those functions. They seem to host a lot of functions on the weekend, which can interfere with parking and just plain getting into the hotel all together. One night, the lobby was so full of people that we would have had to wait for like 30 minutes to be able to use the elevators to get to our room, they finally took us across the way and had us use the service elevator. Not exactly what you expect for that type of a place. And as for the amenities, they have the usual laundry room, even though it only has one washer and one dryer, a lounger, dining area, weight room, and a pool. While I didn't use some of them, I can tell you the pool is just that, a basic pool. They don't even have a hot tub or Jacuzzi, which was a big disappointment. And if you are out all day and don't get dinner before returning to the hotel, don't think you can just walk downtown there and get anything to eat, because everything closes up earlier. I think the next visit I'll look for something a little further out of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat while you are out during the day before returning to the hotel, because everywhere downtown closes early and there isn't much of a selection downtown to begin with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 14, 2007

Check-in was easy and ...

Check-in was easy and quick. The room was somewhat small, although spotless. The worst problem was that although there was a thermostat on the wall, there was an old heating/cooling unit in the room whith the controls ripped out and no matter what we set the temperature on, the room stayed at a constant 80 degrees even when we turned the wall thermostat to OFF! We finally opened the windows and drapes to let in some air. Then we had to listen to the a/c units on the lower roofs that sounded like an airplane taking off, everytime they came on. Unless you need a USA Today or a polo shirt with the hotel's name on it, you can skip the gift shop and you'll have to get a code from the front desk to get into the business center, which is supposed to be open until 11 pm. I did not even receive so much as an apology for the room discomfort from the person at the front desk. Having worked at a major luxury hotel in the past, I was very surprised and disappointed in the Crowne Plaza. It does, however, have a beautiful lobby:)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a musuem right around the corner and since it is downtown, there are a lot of shops and restaurants all within walking distance.There is a nice park for running or walking along the river, just a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barberton, OH
Oct 4, 2010

Frozen Food

The only parking was the valet provided which was outragously expensive. Then they treated us like we were stupid because we didnt kno where to go with our car and didnt check in before they took it to valet. Then we had no help getting our luggage to the room. Then once we got everything into our small room (pictures are deciving) we ate at the resturant in the hotel, 2wenty-thre3. We both got the cheese lasgania and we both had to send it back because it was still frozen in the middle. They just reheated them and gave them back. Which made them even more dried out. We got one free dessert, even though two meals were horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fair Consumer
Business
Crofton, Md
May 9, 2010

Just not what I expected

I am sure this Hotel is fine, It was just not what I was hoping for. There is no personal parking and vehicle handling. Mandatory Valet is very inconvenient, and an additional charge not disclosed in the initial information. Noisy room in the front of the Hotel, i dont know what the back room was like. [...] was a God Send. She understood that i was not satisfied and provided Excellent customer service by trying to help me find a suitable hotel within their family of hoels. [...] is the very best part of my experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 18, 2008

horrible place

The Crowne Plaza at Harrisburg was horrible, the bed was rather small lookin because everything was sort of crammed together. The bathroom looked not as upclass as the rest of the hotel you could see the pipes and stuff. The location was horrible we thought that gangs were going to steal our car--thankfully nothin happened to the car. There was no hotel parking unless you counted the fee of 18$ per night for the valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping mall was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

The Crowne Plaza hotel was nice to look at, most of the staff was courteous & very helpful, the room was suitable, but the beds were smaller than expected. Asked for doubles to accommodate 2adults & 3 YOUNG children & they seemed more like over sized twin beds. When the bath towels were p/u by maid service, there were no replacements left for us. There was no complimentary shampoo on our first night,which is fine, but the second night I was left w/2 half bottles. I did not know that they recycled complimentary toiletries. The Pool area was nice & the kids enjoyed it. The breakfast was o.k.(a little pricey). Yes other than these negative things I can say it's clean, modern, in the heart of the city & is staffed w/very nice people, Just giving my review for other families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sneak away
Business
seattle wa
Nov 17, 2014

okay but not up to standard for what they advertise

The parking is expensive $16 per day as a guest. There is no fridge so we didnt have any place to put our take home food from the nice places to eat nearby. The drain stopper in the tub wouldnt stay up so we had to jimmy it so we could take a shower and all of a sudden in the shower the water went cold for about a min and a half then got warm again. The sink faucet was so hot that i burned myself. Their breakfast buffet was pretty good and the price was good as well but some of their other food at their restaurant was not good at all and over priced. They could use a hot tub as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Will E P
Business
Chester Township, NJ, USA
May 1, 2012

Not what i expected

What i got was an average hotel stay with basic options. When i arrived they didn't have the hotel room i originally booked. They told me next time to call ahead to make sure they have the room, booking online doesn't guarantee that. Also, when i booked I was promised a complimentary bathrobe. You can say i never got that. I chose this hotel for 3 reasons. Its location, which was a good location in downtown Harrisburg, PA (the only plus). Its parking lot, but they charge for that (18 a day for valet parking). And Finally, the pool, but that was very cold throughout our stay. I never went in. Very disappointed. Regarding the room it was fine, nothing spectacular. My biggest complaints is the shower. Goes from hot to cold and back often during your shower. Not very pleasant. Buffet style breakfast was a little pricey as well for being a mediocre hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking at the Hotel is $18 and only valet. If you want to avoid that charge on your hotel bill park on the street and walk. Its free all weekend Friday after 6pm - Monday morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bluemarshmonster
Business
Bernville, PA
Mar 18, 2013

Skinny walls

Stayed over after the St. Patty's day parade. Didn't use any amenities. Just needed a place to crash. Location was perfect for the parade. Hotel staff was extremely polite and helpful. Hotel very nice looking. No mini fridge in the room. Biggest issue with not giving a high rating was that the walls are paper thin. We were kept awake till 3am from the people in the room next to us. The walls were so thin that you could hear them using the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, NY
Aug 5, 2013

Hershey Park Vacation

Hotel was average, nothing special. Parking is hard to find therefore you need to valet everytime at a whooping 18 dollars. Staff was very friendly and accomidating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top