$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
23 South Second Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
73 reviews
Nice hotel, not a bad price

The hotel was nice. It's location in downtown Harrisburg was convenient. Easy to get to. See full review

  • MrDFab
  • Jul 30, 2014
A true four star experience

Quick, courteous check in and check out. Hotel is very close to the thriving downtown restaurant... See full review

  • scumbag
  • Jan 2, 2014
Free Wi-Fi and sophisticated dining on Harrisburg’s Restaurant Row
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey are welcomed in a large, sumptuous lobby featuring a dramatic staircase, wood pillars and contemporary seating. Room options include double, king and deluxe rooms. Stop in at the on-site 2wentyThre3 restaurant for traditional favorites such as steaks, seafood and pasta. For additional dining options, more than 60 fine dining restaurants, casual eateries, bars and coffee shops line Restaurant Row, within walking distance of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey.
Highlights
  • Concierge service
  • Governors suite available
  • Indoor pool with portholes looking into 2wentyThre3 lounge
  • One block from the Susquehanna Art Museum
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Rooms
Traditional style is highlighted with poster beds, tufted easy chairs and warm colors in guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey. Rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, CD players, coffee makers, free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, voicemail, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Soothing complimentary sleep amenities such as lavender linen spray and eye masks ensure a good night's sleep.

 

Features
The 10th-floor fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey features elliptical machines, recumbent bikes, treadmills and weight machine overlooking the Susquehanna River. A heated indoor pool features underwater portholes that look into the hotel's 2wentyThre3 lounge. Creative comfort cuisine is the focus at chic 2wentyThre3 restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is available. Valet parking also is available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (8 mi/12.2 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-83 (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (3 mi/5.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts (Across the street)
  • Strawberry Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • City Island (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The State Museum of Pennsylvania (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Harrisburg Mall (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Roundtop Mountain Resort (11 mi/17 km)
  • Hershey’s Chocolate World (12 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,500 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.2592 -76.8802
Nearby airports
Baltimore International, (BWI), 90.00, MI, S; Harrisburg International Airport / HIA, (MDT), 11.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Courteous and convenient

The Crown Royal Plaza made my stay enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and helpful to me when I had questions or needed assistance. The hotel was also in a convenient location for the places I needed to get to during my stay in the area. Wonderful service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resturants are very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 6, 2008

Excellent Customer Service

The room at the Crowne Plaza was perfect for our needs. There was a pull-out couch and desk area. As well as a seperate area with a sink, fridge and coffee pot. It was very spacious. The pool was wonderful and clean. The customer service here was excellent. Everyone treated us as if they really enjoyed their job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Discovery Center with a kid's place inside where we spent hours just around the corner. And a place to have lunch at Strawberry Square. As well as an Imax theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Convenient Location

The Crowne Plaza Harrisburg is located right off the highway, close to the airport and right in the middle of downtown. Our room was clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the stay. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't tell you anything about that. Front desk very helpful with getting my laptop secured in the safe. Love the wireless access in floors 1-6, very convenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to Hershey Park Stadium for a concert, hotel location made access to the highway very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jamaica Plain
Aug 25, 2008

Perfect Location

Nice hotel with a perfect location near the river, shops, restaurants, and the capital. We were able to walk to dinner and for drinks. My only complaint was that the maid didn't clean the room on the second night, even though the maid was right outside the door when we left the room that morning and she had had us leave the door wide open for her when we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Its a short walk to all of the local bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 3, 2007

Terrific location

The Crowne Plaza Hotel was beautifully appointed, comfortable , very clean and so convenient to downtown Harrisburg. The staff and service were excellent. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The restaurant and lounge provided excellent food and drink options in a comfortable yet elegant atmosphere. we will definitely chose The Crowne Plaza on our next visit to Harrisburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A few steps out of the front door led you to bistros, cafes, lounges , restaurants, boutiques, a small shopping mall, clubs that offer live music and dancing and a 24-hour diner that had a varied and good quality food selectiion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigbry60
Business
Augusta, GA
Sep 28, 2009

Crowne Plaza Harrisburg

We went to tour Hershey and go to a Penn State game. The hotel was wonderful, in a great location, and had everything we need. It included laundry services for our clothes after the rainy game, and had printer access to print our boarding passes. Staff was friendly and gave great directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the new Hershey Museum about Milton Hershey's life. It is an awesome exhibit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LMA
Business
buffalo new york
Jun 13, 2011

Nice rooms and location

Room clean, nice amenities, great location near State Capitol and museums and right around the corner from lots of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out El Sol--a great Mexican restaurant nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 24, 2010

Great location & easy to find at night

The hotel was very easy to find at night and very easy to access from the major highway. The hotel staff was welcoming and very friendly. My room was clean; although the bathroom was a bit small. The noise level at night was at a minimum; howver, I could hear some road noise. The location of the hotel was perfect. It sits right downtown, which enabled me to walk to my business meeting the next morning. In addition, the hotel is about 20 minutes away from the major Hershey attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would suggest using the valet parking service attached to the hotel. The valet was prompt, efficient, & helpful. When I was ready to check-out my car was waiting for me and the staff provided some tips on how to easily find the major highway to head home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Family friendly

The staff was very courteous and professional. The hotel was going thru some renovations, but still provide wonderful service. The kids loved the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Castle, PA
Aug 3, 2008

Wonderful hotel!!!

The Crown Plaza was an amazing hotel. That was our first time staying there but we will surely chose that hotel again. It was surrounded by resturant and little shops. the first night we arrived there was a street fair! It was pretty cool!!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go to Hershey park or even the capitol building. Hershey park was only 10 minutes away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a resturant in the hotel that was very nice. Also right down the block there was a mexican, indian, and pizza resturant. We ate at the mexican resturant called Del Sol!! The food was incredible. I reccomend the mixed fajitas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top