$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
23 South Second Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
75 reviews
Nice hotel, not a bad price

The hotel was nice. It's location in downtown Harrisburg was convenient. Easy to get to. See full review

  • MrDFab
  • Jul 30, 2014
A true four star experience

Quick, courteous check in and check out. Hotel is very close to the thriving downtown restaurant... See full review

  • scumbag
  • Jan 2, 2014
Free Wi-Fi and sophisticated dining on Harrisburg’s Restaurant Row
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey are welcomed in a large, sumptuous lobby featuring a dramatic staircase, wood pillars and contemporary seating. Room options include double, king and deluxe rooms. Stop in at the on-site 2wentyThre3 restaurant for traditional favorites such as steaks, seafood and pasta. For additional dining options, more than 60 fine dining restaurants, casual eateries, bars and coffee shops line Restaurant Row, within walking distance of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey.
Highlights
  • Concierge service
  • Governors suite available
  • Indoor pool with portholes looking into 2wentyThre3 lounge
  • One block from the Susquehanna Art Museum
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Rooms
Traditional style is highlighted with poster beds, tufted easy chairs and warm colors in guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey. Rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, CD players, coffee makers, free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, voicemail, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Soothing complimentary sleep amenities such as lavender linen spray and eye masks ensure a good night's sleep.

 

Features
The 10th-floor fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey features elliptical machines, recumbent bikes, treadmills and weight machine overlooking the Susquehanna River. A heated indoor pool features underwater portholes that look into the hotel's 2wentyThre3 lounge. Creative comfort cuisine is the focus at chic 2wentyThre3 restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is available. Valet parking also is available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (8 mi/12.2 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-83 (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (3 mi/5.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts (Across the street)
  • Strawberry Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • City Island (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The State Museum of Pennsylvania (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Harrisburg Mall (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Roundtop Mountain Resort (11 mi/17 km)
  • Hershey’s Chocolate World (12 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,500 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J. Campbell
Business
Bremerton, Washington
May 6, 2014

Wouldn't be my first choice...

This place would probably do fine if you are traveling on business in downtown Harrisburg, or planning a night out in downtown and need some place close that you can stumble back to afterwards but for anything it is not a good choice. First of all, due to the location and lack of parking expect to pay for parking, $18 a day. And if you are there during a weekend and they have any functions going on you can expect to sit and wait for a while to get your car checked in or out, because they take people other than just those staying at their location. I also thought it was odd that they didn't include breakfast of any kind. I have stayed at other places that provide a full breakfast, and most places provide at least a continental breakfast. In fact, the Crown Plaza in San Diego provides breakfast and dinner free of charge, partly the reason I chose them for this trip. I won't make that mistake again. Now let's talk about those functions. They seem to host a lot of functions on the weekend, which can interfere with parking and just plain getting into the hotel all together. One night, the lobby was so full of people that we would have had to wait for like 30 minutes to be able to use the elevators to get to our room, they finally took us across the way and had us use the service elevator. Not exactly what you expect for that type of a place. And as for the amenities, they have the usual laundry room, even though it only has one washer and one dryer, a lounger, dining area, weight room, and a pool. While I didn't use some of them, I can tell you the pool is just that, a basic pool. They don't even have a hot tub or Jacuzzi, which was a big disappointment. And if you are out all day and don't get dinner before returning to the hotel, don't think you can just walk downtown there and get anything to eat, because everything closes up earlier. I think the next visit I'll look for something a little further out of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat while you are out during the day before returning to the hotel, because everywhere downtown closes early and there isn't much of a selection downtown to begin with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD Joe
Business
Washington, D.C.
Mar 31, 2014

More for business

We were in Harrisburg meeting up with friends. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza. There is NOTHING to do in downtown Harrisburg on the weekends. The CVS even closes at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday. Nice hotel, but location is more for business in Harrisburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Major Pap
Business
Rockland, New York
Aug 7, 2013

My lousy stay at Crowne plaza- HARRISBURG

It was not good at all. I requested a double bed in my reservation. When I got there it was a single bed. I was told they were sold out. They also told me because my reservation was thru a 3rd party they could not accommodate me for a double bed. Also the mattress was hard like wood. There was nothing 4 star about my stay. I will never use Crowne Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Nov 17, 2010

Keep looking

Rooms were small, walls very thin, closet door was broken, bathroom door handle fell off, mold in the bathroom shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbumjay
Business
Midlothian, VA
Aug 2, 2010

Nice Hotel

We attended a wedding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
niola
Business
harrisburg, pa
Jun 23, 2010

Average

We were on vacation, therefore, nearby fast food restaurants were needed. Having Dunkin doughnuts nearby was nice. The rooms were clean but small especially, the bathroom. It was extrememly small. The hotel restaurant had limited food choices so it was not a consideration for us. We had to call for daily soap necessities and top down daily gifts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dncetchr AG
Business
NC
Dec 26, 2009

Our PA Stay

Our room was upgraded so we had use of a refrigerator since we had an infant with us who needed milk. We were provided with a crib at no extra charge. It was nice to not worry about packing those items in the car. Our older son loved the pool, which was very warm to swim in for December. We were on vacation and found the hotel to be very close to all of the attractions we came to see. All in all, the hotel was very nice. Room was clean, had the pool, room service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be conscious of driving instructions. Some of the highways are tricky and change without visable signs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockland County, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Unimpressed

I was disappointed with the hotel room. I was under the impression even though we paid a discount price we would have had a better room. Wrong...the bathroom was not up to par. The bath tub was stained, sink cracked, toilet replaced with a smaller one. The room faced the air conditioning unit. All night there was a hum from the outside. We had a great time in Hershey but would recommend to stay closer to the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Myers, FL
Aug 10, 2009

Enjoyed the hotel. Great location

The only problem I had with the hotel was the towels. There were only 3 towels/washcloths in bathroom; but there were 4 of us. I had to request more towels. Then after taking to cleaning lady, she gave us enough each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sc fireman
Business
ft. inn sc
Aug 7, 2009

ok

overall it was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

not alot of places close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top