$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
View map of 23 South Second Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
76 reviews
Everything was fine, no problems, the location was convinced.

Enjoyed my stay everything was fine no concerns. Thanks for everything. See full review

  • Shirl the Pearl
  • Aug 18, 2014
Nice hotel, not a bad price

The hotel was nice. It's location in downtown Harrisburg was convenient. Easy to get to. See full review

  • MrDFab
  • Jul 30, 2014
Enjoy Your Stay at One of the Best Harrisburg PA Hotels Nestled on the banks of the Susquehanna River, surrounded by historic architecture and modern buildings, is the bustling city of Harrisburg, PA. Our hotel's location is in the midst of this capital city where science, art, business and culture combine to create an urban oasis. When you stay at the Crowne Plaza® Harrisburg – Hershey Hotel, you'll have a successful trip thanks to our amenities and close proximity to State Government offices and companies such as Rite Aid, Highmark, Tyco and IBM. We have 10,500 square feet of space that's great for meetings and banquets, and other perks like a Crowne Meetings Director and a Daily Meeting Debrief make us "The Place to Meet" near Hershey, PA. Our hotel's downtown location also makes us the ideal place to stay for a fun vacation. Walk to the Capitol Complex and State Museum to learn about Pennsylvania's history, or enjoy a meal at an eatery on Restaurant Row, Harrisburg's eclectic culinary district. For some family fun, head to Riverfront Park and City Island to enjoy river recreation, or ride a roller coaster and indulge in candy at Hersheypark in nearby Hershey, PA. Our hotel's the place to be in Harrisburg and offers great amenities such as an indoor pool, a Fitness Center with city views, and a chic restaurant, 2wentyThre3. With all of this, you're bound to enjoy your stay at the Crowne Plaza® Harrisburg – Hershey hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

★★★
$139
4.2 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$67
3.0 / 5 118 reviews
★★★★
$143
3.9 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$116
4.3 / 5 42 reviews
★★★
$63
3.2 / 5 97 reviews
★★★
$114
4.2 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$101
4.1 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$59
3.2 / 5 92 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.
23 Caucus Lounge
Enjoy a refreshing cocktail in our comfortable lounge. Happy hour from 5PM -7PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Galatea
Couples
El Paso, TX, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Disappointed

This hotel needs a lot of work. The room they put us in first had mold in the shower, and the heat did not work. It was also very small. We had to complain several times to be switched to another room which they finally did. The food and drink menu had very limited selections . This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel and clearly it is not. I would never stay there again. It s too expensive for what they offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
erapres
Business
philadelphia pa
May 21, 2012

president

Originall room was by a big rooftop unit. After compalining, my room was changed to a room that is too small for a king size bed. Had no hot water one day while showereing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Major Pap
Family
Rockland, New York
Aug 7, 2013

My lousy stay at Crowne plaza- HARRISBURG

It was not good at all. I requested a double bed in my reservation. When I got there it was a single bed. I was told they were sold out. They also told me because my reservation was thru a 3rd party they could not accommodate me for a double bed. Also the mattress was hard like wood. There was nothing 4 star about my stay. I will never use Crowne Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jul 15, 2007

bad location

I took my 16 yr old daughter with me to this hotel. We immediately realized this was not a safe place for us to be in. Someone had obviously tried to kick the door to our room in prior to our arrival. The inside door latch was in a compromised state due the apparent attempted break in, (it was about to fall off the wall), and the dead bolt for our door did not work. We felt like meat on a platter. If someone would like to simply party this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 9, 2008

BE CAREFUL IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO STAY HERE WITH YOUR KIDS

THIS HOTEL ISN'T KID FRIENDLY AT ALL CONSIDERING ALL THE CHOICES FOR THE AREA... STAFF WAS NOT HELPFUL OR FRIENDLY.. ESPECIALLY THE VALET STAFF. THERE WAS NO BELLMAN UPON ARRIVAL. ROOM STUNK OF SMOKE AND MOLD. THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST CONSISTED OF POOR NUTRITIONAL CHOICES AND MOST PASTRY ITEMS WERE STALE. JUICES WERE WARM AND WATERY. NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE AT ALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Penny S.
Single
N/A
Aug 25, 2015

Unpleasant experience

The hotel seems to be in some kind of management transition. The housekeeping staff was below average. Not replacing towels etc. the restaurant was terrible. Old food. Out of many items. The food we did get seemed more like dinner food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J. Campbell
Family
Bremerton, Washington
May 6, 2014

Wouldn't be my first choice...

This place would probably do fine if you are traveling on business in downtown Harrisburg, or planning a night out in downtown and need some place close that you can stumble back to afterwards but for anything it is not a good choice. First of all, due to the location and lack of parking expect to pay for parking, $18 a day. And if you are there during a weekend and they have any functions going on you can expect to sit and wait for a while to get your car checked in or out, because they take people other than just those staying at their location. I also thought it was odd that they didn't include breakfast of any kind. I have stayed at other places that provide a full breakfast, and most places provide at least a continental breakfast. In fact, the Crown Plaza in San Diego provides breakfast and dinner free of charge, partly the reason I chose them for this trip. I won't make that mistake again. Now let's talk about those functions. They seem to host a lot of functions on the weekend, which can interfere with parking and just plain getting into the hotel all together. One night, the lobby was so full of people that we would have had to wait for like 30 minutes to be able to use the elevators to get to our room, they finally took us across the way and had us use the service elevator. Not exactly what you expect for that type of a place. And as for the amenities, they have the usual laundry room, even though it only has one washer and one dryer, a lounger, dining area, weight room, and a pool. While I didn't use some of them, I can tell you the pool is just that, a basic pool. They don't even have a hot tub or Jacuzzi, which was a big disappointment. And if you are out all day and don't get dinner before returning to the hotel, don't think you can just walk downtown there and get anything to eat, because everything closes up earlier. I think the next visit I'll look for something a little further out of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat while you are out during the day before returning to the hotel, because everywhere downtown closes early and there isn't much of a selection downtown to begin with.

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
luica
Couples
NJ
Jul 29, 2013

not so goog

The Hotel is in not so good location, the bathroom is so small that you can't move and you need to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Houston, TX
Apr 14, 2007

Check-in was easy and ...

Check-in was easy and quick. The room was somewhat small, although spotless. The worst problem was that although there was a thermostat on the wall, there was an old heating/cooling unit in the room whith the controls ripped out and no matter what we set the temperature on, the room stayed at a constant 80 degrees even when we turned the wall thermostat to OFF! We finally opened the windows and drapes to let in some air. Then we had to listen to the a/c units on the lower roofs that sounded like an airplane taking off, everytime they came on. Unless you need a USA Today or a polo shirt with the hotel's name on it, you can skip the gift shop and you'll have to get a code from the front desk to get into the business center, which is supposed to be open until 11 pm. I did not even receive so much as an apology for the room discomfort from the person at the front desk. Having worked at a major luxury hotel in the past, I was very surprised and disappointed in the Crowne Plaza. It does, however, have a beautiful lobby:)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a musuem right around the corner and since it is downtown, there are a lot of shops and restaurants all within walking distance.There is a nice park for running or walking along the river, just a couple of blocks away.

Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Barberton, OH
Oct 4, 2010

Frozen Food

The only parking was the valet provided which was outragously expensive. Then they treated us like we were stupid because we didnt kno where to go with our car and didnt check in before they took it to valet. Then we had no help getting our luggage to the room. Then once we got everything into our small room (pictures are deciving) we ate at the resturant in the hotel, 2wenty-thre3. We both got the cheese lasgania and we both had to send it back because it was still frozen in the middle. They just reheated them and gave them back. Which made them even more dried out. We got one free dessert, even though two meals were horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top