$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 15, 2014 Check-out: Oct 17, 2014

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
23 South Second Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
73 reviews
Nice hotel, not a bad price

The hotel was nice. It's location in downtown Harrisburg was convenient. Easy to get to. See full review

  • MrDFab
  • Jul 30, 2014
A true four star experience

Quick, courteous check in and check out. Hotel is very close to the thriving downtown restaurant... See full review

  • scumbag
  • Jan 2, 2014
Free Wi-Fi and sophisticated dining on Harrisburg’s Restaurant Row
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey are welcomed in a large, sumptuous lobby featuring a dramatic staircase, wood pillars and contemporary seating. Room options include double, king and deluxe rooms. Stop in at the on-site 2wentyThre3 restaurant for traditional favorites such as steaks, seafood and pasta. For additional dining options, more than 60 fine dining restaurants, casual eateries, bars and coffee shops line Restaurant Row, within walking distance of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey.
Highlights
  • Concierge service
  • Governors suite available
  • Indoor pool with portholes looking into 2wentyThre3 lounge
  • One block from the Susquehanna Art Museum
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Rooms
Traditional style is highlighted with poster beds, tufted easy chairs and warm colors in guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey. Rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, CD players, coffee makers, free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, voicemail, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Soothing complimentary sleep amenities such as lavender linen spray and eye masks ensure a good night's sleep.

 

Features
The 10th-floor fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey features elliptical machines, recumbent bikes, treadmills and weight machine overlooking the Susquehanna River. A heated indoor pool features underwater portholes that look into the hotel's 2wentyThre3 lounge. Creative comfort cuisine is the focus at chic 2wentyThre3 restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is available. Valet parking also is available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (8 mi/12.2 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-83 (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (3 mi/5.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts (Across the street)
  • Strawberry Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • City Island (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The State Museum of Pennsylvania (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Harrisburg Mall (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Roundtop Mountain Resort (11 mi/17 km)
  • Hershey’s Chocolate World (12 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,500 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.2592 -76.8802
Nearby airports
Baltimore International, (BWI), 90.00, MI, S; Harrisburg International Airport / HIA, (MDT), 11.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LMA
Business
buffalo new york
Jun 13, 2011

Nice rooms and location

Room clean, nice amenities, great location near State Capitol and museums and right around the corner from lots of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out El Sol--a great Mexican restaurant nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 1, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

The Crowne Plaza hotel was nice to look at, most of the staff was courteous & very helpful, the room was suitable, but the beds were smaller than expected. Asked for doubles to accommodate 2adults & 3 YOUNG children & they seemed more like over sized twin beds. When the bath towels were p/u by maid service, there were no replacements left for us. There was no complimentary shampoo on our first night,which is fine, but the second night I was left w/2 half bottles. I did not know that they recycled complimentary toiletries. The Pool area was nice & the kids enjoyed it. The breakfast was o.k.(a little pricey). Yes other than these negative things I can say it's clean, modern, in the heart of the city & is staffed w/very nice people, Just giving my review for other families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 26, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Crowne Plaza Hotel was really nice. The rooms were great and the beds were very comfy. Would recommend to friends and family. Would stay again. Hotel was about 20-25 minutes from Hershey Park maybe less then that. Surrounding area is really nice...alot of resturants.. it reminded me a little of manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 26, 2008

Very family friendly and great staff workers!

This hotel, being my first visit was great for the price i've paid. The employees were very, very friendly, kind which got me the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jamaica Plain
Aug 25, 2008

Perfect Location

Nice hotel with a perfect location near the river, shops, restaurants, and the capital. We were able to walk to dinner and for drinks. My only complaint was that the maid didn't clean the room on the second night, even though the maid was right outside the door when we left the room that morning and she had had us leave the door wide open for her when we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Its a short walk to all of the local bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 10, 2008

Family friendly hotel

Our stay was at this hotel was very nice. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The pool area was kept clean and well maintained. What I didn't like was their was no parking on-site. You had to pay $18.00 a night to park your car. We thought that was pricey and because it was valet only, we had to wait every time we wanted our car. The neighborhood was not the greatest as their were homeless peoople walking all around. It was in walking distance from the state capital which was nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hershey Park was a 20 minute drive. The state capital was a couple blocks away. City Island which is a fun place was in walking distance over the pedestrian bridge. Plenty to do there. There are plenty of places to eat at on the same street as the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2008

BE CAREFUL IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO STAY HERE WITH YOUR KIDS

THIS HOTEL ISN'T KID FRIENDLY AT ALL CONSIDERING ALL THE CHOICES FOR THE AREA... STAFF WAS NOT HELPFUL OR FRIENDLY.. ESPECIALLY THE VALET STAFF. THERE WAS NO BELLMAN UPON ARRIVAL. ROOM STUNK OF SMOKE AND MOLD. THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST CONSISTED OF POOR NUTRITIONAL CHOICES AND MOST PASTRY ITEMS WERE STALE. JUICES WERE WARM AND WATERY. NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE AT ALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Courteous and convenient

The Crown Royal Plaza made my stay enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and helpful to me when I had questions or needed assistance. The hotel was also in a convenient location for the places I needed to get to during my stay in the area. Wonderful service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resturants are very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Auburn
Aug 4, 2008

Great location

This was a very accomidating property however the only problem we encountered on this trip was having our rooms moved without proper notification. Otherwise I enjoyed my time staying at this property. The location was actually minutes away from Hershey, PA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rosedale, NY
Aug 3, 2008

Small rooms but ok

I had a weekend getaway with three of my friends and I chose the Crown Plaza because it was very close to Hershey Park. The area in which the hotel was located in was ok if you made it there when things were open. I didnt really have time to spend in the neighborhood because I was just their for the weekend. That being said the hotel rooms were really small. I had a king sized bed that took up most of the room. Despite that I still liked the room. It was very clean and the maid service did a very good job in keeing it clean by the time we returned at night. The pool and the exercise room were very small. It wasnt anything special. My friends went to the restaurant for breakfast and it was expensive and they didnt like the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short ride to Hershey attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Castle, PA
Aug 3, 2008

Wonderful hotel!!!

The Crown Plaza was an amazing hotel. That was our first time staying there but we will surely chose that hotel again. It was surrounded by resturant and little shops. the first night we arrived there was a street fair! It was pretty cool!!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go to Hershey park or even the capitol building. Hershey park was only 10 minutes away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a resturant in the hotel that was very nice. Also right down the block there was a mexican, indian, and pizza resturant. We ate at the mexican resturant called Del Sol!! The food was incredible. I reccomend the mixed fajitas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top