$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

4 stars
23 South Second Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
77 reviews
Nice hotel, not a bad price

The hotel was nice. It's location in downtown Harrisburg was convenient. Easy to get to. See full review

  • MrDFab
  • Jul 30, 2014
A true four star experience

Quick, courteous check in and check out. Hotel is very close to the thriving downtown restaurant... See full review

  • scumbag
  • Jan 2, 2014
Free Wi-Fi and sophisticated dining on Harrisburg’s Restaurant Row
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey are welcomed in a large, sumptuous lobby featuring a dramatic staircase, wood pillars and contemporary seating. Room options include double, king and deluxe rooms. Stop in at the on-site 2wentyThre3 restaurant for traditional favorites such as steaks, seafood and pasta. For additional dining options, more than 60 fine dining restaurants, casual eateries, bars and coffee shops line Restaurant Row, within walking distance of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey.
Highlights
  • Concierge service
  • Governors suite available
  • Indoor pool with portholes looking into 2wentyThre3 lounge
  • One block from the Susquehanna Art Museum
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Rooms
Traditional style is highlighted with poster beds, tufted easy chairs and warm colors in guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey. Rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, CD players, coffee makers, free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, voicemail, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Soothing complimentary sleep amenities such as lavender linen spray and eye masks ensure a good night's sleep.

 

Features
The 10th-floor fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey features elliptical machines, recumbent bikes, treadmills and weight machine overlooking the Susquehanna River. A heated indoor pool features underwater portholes that look into the hotel's 2wentyThre3 lounge. Creative comfort cuisine is the focus at chic 2wentyThre3 restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is available. Valet parking also is available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg – Hershey (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (8 mi/12.2 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-83 (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (3 mi/5.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts (Across the street)
  • Strawberry Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • City Island (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The State Museum of Pennsylvania (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Harrisburg Mall (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Roundtop Mountain Resort (11 mi/17 km)
  • Hershey’s Chocolate World (12 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,500 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Restaurant Twenty Three
Join us in Restaurant Twenty Three for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. During breakfast hours enjoy our all you can eat buffet including eggs, fruit, cereal, pastries, breakfast meats, waffles and more. Lunch and dinner from our all day dining
Harrisburg's Acclaimed Restaurant Row
Walk to over 30 Restaurants, Clubs, Pubs and Shopping options along Second Street. You will find more to do within walking distance anywhere else in the Harrisburg Hershey Area!
Fire House
Friendly, casual atmosphere with extended menu featuring excellent American cusine
Cafe Fresco
Variety of fresh wraps, sandwiches and salads by day...unique gourmet dining by night.
McGrath's
Enjoy traditional Irish fare along with the best selection of microbrews in the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Us in Houma, La.
Business
Houma, La.
Jul 25, 2009

Crowne Plaza Harrisburg, Pa.Great!

While I was there which was one week, we were treated very nice and with the ut most of respect. The staff was very friendly and really helpful. I do not have complaints, just that it was a nice place to stay. I have stayed in other hotels that change your bed unlike there way of only making your bed when requested but that was fine with us. It was a nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Amish Country Tours.... Where most fasinating and going to see the Libery Bell in Philly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phila. pa
Jun 8, 2009

Very nice hotel

We were able to check in early which was a highlight since the kids wanted to swinm and I wanted to relax. The room were very clean and comforable and the staff nice and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historical site/Capital were close by. Hershey Park a good 20 minutes.Restaurant nice .Pool was great for the kids!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 21, 2008

Very Family Friendly

The staff was very congenial and the rooms were nice and clean. We took our grandchildren to this hotel so that they could swim, and the swimming pool, though it looked beautiful, was closed the whole time. I also wished that there had been a refrigerator in the room. They did have a coffee pot. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The people were extremely helpful, even in the garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

15 to 20 minutes to Hershey Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 18, 2008

horrible place

The Crowne Plaza at Harrisburg was horrible, the bed was rather small lookin because everything was sort of crammed together. The bathroom looked not as upclass as the rest of the hotel you could see the pipes and stuff. The location was horrible we thought that gangs were going to steal our car--thankfully nothin happened to the car. There was no hotel parking unless you counted the fee of 18$ per night for the valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping mall was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

The Crowne Plaza hotel was nice to look at, most of the staff was courteous & very helpful, the room was suitable, but the beds were smaller than expected. Asked for doubles to accommodate 2adults & 3 YOUNG children & they seemed more like over sized twin beds. When the bath towels were p/u by maid service, there were no replacements left for us. There was no complimentary shampoo on our first night,which is fine, but the second night I was left w/2 half bottles. I did not know that they recycled complimentary toiletries. The Pool area was nice & the kids enjoyed it. The breakfast was o.k.(a little pricey). Yes other than these negative things I can say it's clean, modern, in the heart of the city & is staffed w/very nice people, Just giving my review for other families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Crowne Plaza Hotel was really nice. The rooms were great and the beds were very comfy. Would recommend to friends and family. Would stay again. Hotel was about 20-25 minutes from Hershey Park maybe less then that. Surrounding area is really nice...alot of resturants.. it reminded me a little of manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

Very family friendly and great staff workers!

This hotel, being my first visit was great for the price i've paid. The employees were very, very friendly, kind which got me the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jamaica Plain
Aug 25, 2008

Perfect Location

Nice hotel with a perfect location near the river, shops, restaurants, and the capital. We were able to walk to dinner and for drinks. My only complaint was that the maid didn't clean the room on the second night, even though the maid was right outside the door when we left the room that morning and she had had us leave the door wide open for her when we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Its a short walk to all of the local bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2008

Family friendly hotel

Our stay was at this hotel was very nice. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The pool area was kept clean and well maintained. What I didn't like was their was no parking on-site. You had to pay $18.00 a night to park your car. We thought that was pricey and because it was valet only, we had to wait every time we wanted our car. The neighborhood was not the greatest as their were homeless peoople walking all around. It was in walking distance from the state capital which was nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hershey Park was a 20 minute drive. The state capital was a couple blocks away. City Island which is a fun place was in walking distance over the pedestrian bridge. Plenty to do there. There are plenty of places to eat at on the same street as the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HARRISBURG-HERSHEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

BE CAREFUL IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO STAY HERE WITH YOUR KIDS

THIS HOTEL ISN'T KID FRIENDLY AT ALL CONSIDERING ALL THE CHOICES FOR THE AREA... STAFF WAS NOT HELPFUL OR FRIENDLY.. ESPECIALLY THE VALET STAFF. THERE WAS NO BELLMAN UPON ARRIVAL. ROOM STUNK OF SMOKE AND MOLD. THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST CONSISTED OF POOR NUTRITIONAL CHOICES AND MOST PASTRY ITEMS WERE STALE. JUICES WERE WARM AND WATERY. NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE AT ALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top