$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
800 E Park Drive, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2807
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
77 reviews
Stay at Best Western

We had a delightful time. We were there to see a concert. Had dinner at the hotel and said how... See full review

  • Cindy Van
  • Sep 29, 2014
Great Hotel

Check was fast and the staff was very efficient and friendly. The room was immaculate and the food... See full review

  • kenny k
  • Nov 9, 2013
Discover why Harrisburg and Hershey, PA are top travel destinations when you stay at this premier property near Hersheypark® and the Farm Show Complex. With easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-81 and I-83, the BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center makes it easy to enjoy the areas many attractions. Experience captivating American history at the Civil War Museum, Antique Auto Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefields, or visit an authentic Amish village. This Harrisburg hotel is also the perfect home base for exploring Hersheypark® Amusement Park and Hersheys® Chocolate World. Business travelers are also right at home at this Harrisburg hotel, just minutes from downtown Harrisburg and the Harrisburg International Airport, and only 25 miles from Lancaster, PA. The property offers easy access to many local venues and corporations like the Farm Show Complex & Expo Center, Giant Center, VFW, J.B. Hunt®, the Pennsylvania Medical Society and Corporate Lodging Consultants. With a ballroom, 24-hour business center and more than 14,000 square feet of flexible conference space, the property is truly a premier event space in Harrisburg and the surrounding areas. Completely renovated in 2011 and one of the first premier-level Best Western hotels in the country, the hotel offers resort-like amenities with the flair of a boutique hotel. Every spacious guest room at this Harrisburg hotel can sleep at least four guests and features plush beds, 42-inch flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access. With a soaring central Grand Atrium, a large indoor pool and fitness center, and an onsite restaurant, the hotel provides a unique lodging experience for visitors to South Central PA. Experience the unparalleled comfort and friendly service that is sure to make your next visit to Harrisburg unforgettable. Contact the BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center to book your stay today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LARGER RM,42IN LCD TV,MICRFG,SOFABD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,42IN LCD TV,MICRFG,SOFABD,HISPD NET
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,42IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPEED NET
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,WALK SHWR,NSMK
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,POOLSD,42INLC,MICRFG,HISPD
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2BFAMR,3RDKGB,MICRFG,42LCD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,42INLC,MICRFG,BALCON,QNSOF,HISPD

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Outback
1.00 mile(s) from Outback, full service, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner
Panera Bread
1.00 mile(s) from Panera Bread, cafe, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Texas Roadhouse
1.00 mile(s) from Texas Roadhouse, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner
Chuck E. Cheese's
1.00 mile(s) from Chuck E. Cheese's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
O'Reilly's Tap Room & Kitchen
O'Reilly's Tap Room & Kitchen, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, O'Reilly's Tap Room & Kitchen is like no other Harrisburg restaurant. With our welcoming atmosphere and ever changing draft selection, you do not
Red Lobster
2.00 mile(s) from Red Lobster, full service, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
T.G.I.Friday's
1.00 mile(s) from T.G.I. Friday's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Applebee's
2.00 mile(s) from Applebee's, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Olive Garden
3.00 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Colonial Park Diner
2.00 mile(s) from Colonial Park Diner, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 8, 2011

Completely Awful experience

We stayed here during the weekend of July 4th and had a HORRIBLE experience. First, when we arrived, the hotel staff were caught off guard and did not even have a room waiting for us even though we had paid for a reservation. We waited 15 minutes… before we were given a key to our room, only to find that the key they gave us DID NOT work. We waited another 10 minutes with all the luggage we had carried until we were finally given access to our room. We PAID for a king sized bed, but were given a room with two queen beds instead. What kind of hotel downgrades your room and doesn't offer a refund for a cheaper room? Worst Western that is. When we inspected our room, we noticed the towels were DAMP and one even had a stain. Apparently, the hotel staff do not understand how to properly use a washer and dryer. The only decent thing about the hotel was the free continental breakfast which included bagels, muffins, eggs, bacon, tea and coffee. No waffles or pancakes though. This was THE WORST hotel experience I have ever had. The hotel staff was not acomodating nor very friendly. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parsippany nj
Jul 30, 2011

Not what I expected for the price I paid

very disappointed as we were given a room at check in 2 times and both times there was already someone assigned to that room. Not a happy camper walking in to a room that a stranger is in. I felt bad for them as well as it is worsed to get walked in on. The hotel computers were down (that is what we were told) and that is why it had happened. You would think that they would keep track of what rooms were occupied and which were not. Very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
harrisburg
Feb 6, 2010

Noisy, SMELLED BAD

i checked into the room which seemed fine until i turned on the heat. Terrible smell had to shut off air and leave room. then went to a room over lobby very noisy but no smells?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
businesstraveler01
Business
Mercedes, TX
Sep 20, 2012

Would not ever stay here again

This hotel may look nice in the pictures, but there was much lost in the details. The cleaning staff is terrible, with mold all over the bathroom and caulk missing in many places. My coworker had money stolen out of her SAFE! Unreal. I had a broken tile in my bathroom, several bugs and the noise from the pool is unreal. It's really sad because the location is good, the restaurant is decent and the front desk staff is AMAZING. Too bad the poor maintenence and cleaning make it impossible to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tracy Chicago
Business
Chicago IL
Oct 16, 2012

Not impressed

I made reservations for this trip for my boyfriend and I as a birthday gift. I reserved a King rm. We checked in and got to our room and it was 2 queen beds. I called the front desk and was told "Well, we don't have any King rooms available" I said "well that's unacceptible - I reserved a King and that's what I want" - the front desk person's response was "Well they're the same price and we don't have any more King rooms" (in a condescending voice). I said "you had them when I made the reservation or I would have gone somewhere else - which is what I'm going to do if you don't have a king room for us". All of a sudden - there WAS a king room available. We were moved to a king room overlooking the lobby. First of all - having no outside view is a bummer - I felt like we were in a cell. Second issue was that there was a wedding Saturday night and it was right below where our room was. We listened to dance music until at least 11pm - when I finally took a sleeping pill so I could get up the next day. The only option for breakfast is the full service restaurant who only offered a $9 buffet and acted like I was crazy when I said I just want a cup of coffee and a piece of toast. Like that was completely unheard of. Overall - a very disappointing stay for what was supposed to be a very special weekend. The only bright side was that I found the bed to be pretty comfy! :) The room and bathroom were pretty outdated though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RCamp Md
Business
Tracys Landing,Md
Mar 28, 2013

ok for business not for family

when i got to the room the tables next to the bed were dirty and there were 2 cigarettes partically smoked that were in the bathroom next to the hair dryer I told the front desk and yet nothing was cleaned when i came back 12 hours later still food pieces (chunks of corn and fried chicken) were on the table next to the bed and i saw the cigarettes still there and flushed them myself yuck!! I was here for a 4 day business trip and will be back next year but i doubt i'll stay here and we went to the "irish" restaurant downstairs one night for dinner and were truely disappointed no real irish cuisine food was horrible and the breakfast was aweful NEVER again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G Kelly
Business
Wake Forest, NC
Jul 12, 2013

Average at best

Not sure what makes this 4 star. Our free breakfast, ended up costing $20 a day, staff was less than helpful, one employee was plain rude. Three luggage racks for a large hotel made it impossible to get in and out of our room easily; which when traveling with small children is not fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. T.
Business
Baltimore, Md
Sep 27, 2009

Comfortable weekend getaway

Our first impression was not great after they assigned us to a room that someone was already staying in. Thank heavens the guest was out when we went in and saw their luggage and personal items on the dresser. Regardless of the significant irritation the mix up with the room cause us, as we were already tired and hungry; we did enjoy the stay there. The Porkchop dinner and the Chicken corn chowder we ordered when we finally got settled, was delicious! The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean and adequate, despite the tiny bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. T.
Business
Baltimore, Md
Oct 20, 2009

Noisy neighbors!

This was to be a relaxing weekend with my fiance. The first night was wonderful. The staff upgraded our room and the room service was excellent. The second night there were kids playing in the hall and knocking on our door. I notified the front desk and it got worse. The adults then started having very loud conversations in the hall or with their doors open, they laughed and talked loudly until after midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hannah5
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
May 24, 2012

An average experience

I got exactly what I would have expected at a Best Western for a one night stay. The staff was very pleasant at the front desk. The room was spacious, but the pull out sofa couch was an eye sore and there was a very minor issue or two in terms of cleanliness in the bathroom. The location was fine, easy to get to and near enough to chain restaurants. Overall, it was an average experience with no real complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top