$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Colton Motel Gettysburg

2 stars
232 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
81 reviews
Terrific Value in the Heart of Town

Located in the heart of town, this motel made our stay ever so relaxing and interesting. Although... See full review

  • Alycelee
  • Jul 24, 2014
Not the first time staying there

If your looking for a posh motel this isn't for you. It is well worth the money. This was our 3rd... See full review

  • Gettysburg nut
  • Jul 12, 2014
Colton Motel Gettysburg is less than a mile from the downtown center. It is centrally located on the Gettysburg battlefield within walking distance of the National Visitor Center and many area museums. Other nearby attractions include the Gettysburg National Cemetery Cemetery Hill Hall of Presidents and First Ladies and Jennie Wade House. Guests can enjoy sightseeing with convenient access to local tours of Washington D.C. and a horsedrawn Carriage tour or bus tour of Gettysburg. Washington County Regional Hagerstown Regional and Harrisburg International Airports are nearby. Colton Motel offers guests free wireless Internet access free local calls complimentary continental breakfast free parking and outdoor pool. Your arrival date and time are mandatory so as to better serve your accommodations and touring needs. Front desk is closed from 11p to 7am. NO SATURDAY ONLY RESERVATIONS are accepted from mid April to mid November. No pets allowed.

Hotel Map

39.8198 -77.2342
Area served
Gettysburg, Chambersburg, Harrisburg, York
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International, (MDT), 46.30, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, The Colton Motel is located in Gettysburg PA 0.8 of a mile from

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Motel Gettysburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Colton Motel Gettysburg Rooms

2 Double Beds Non Smoking
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Maid service
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Motel Gettysburg

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mr zr1
scranton,pa
Aug 20, 2014

great location

furniture is old ,needs to be replaced. the carpets in and out side are discusting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Terry Racine
West reading, pa.
Aug 11, 2014

Family get away.

The room was nice and comfortable. Great location. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pamomof3
Pittsburgh PA
Aug 11, 2014

nice family motel

Great staff I will definitely stay here next time we visit Gettysburg. Great value within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. Pool was clean kids enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweetpeas
Warren, Ohio
Aug 1, 2014

Convenient to attractions & Fair Price

We loved the location of the Colton as could walk to many places. This is a basic motel which is reflected in the price you pay for it. We wanted a place to sleep during our stay at Gettysburg that was close to most everything and this was it! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Hunts French Fries and Icecream for yummy cheesesteaks and delicious fries for lunch or dinner. Neat atmosphere and friendly staff. We also loved Blue and Gray Bar for the best burgers which is a short drive from the Colton, downtown Gettysburg.

Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alycelee
NJ
Jul 24, 2014

Terrific Value in the Heart of Town

Located in the heart of town, this motel made our stay ever so relaxing and interesting. Although the amenities are modest, the staff were very welcoming and full of information and humor. We were even allowed to leave the car in their lot for the rest of the day after checking out. Definitely the place to stay when I return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gettysburg nut
Cochranton,Pa
Jul 12, 2014

Not the first time staying there

If your looking for a posh motel this isn't for you. It is well worth the money. This was our 3rd stay there. Located in the right area. Park the car and walk everywhere no need to drive. We will stay there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gustof
northern pa
Jun 28, 2014

motel stay

This is a nice motel, located handy to most activities, good price and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the visitor center is close and a must see

Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flogger
cleveland ohio
May 27, 2014

suits my needs

gettysburg is a favorite stopping place on my way to dc. i just want a clean, comfortable, inexpensive place near the battlefield. Colton Motel has provided that. I've stayed there at least a half-dozen times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gingerley
Piitsburgh
May 23, 2014

Not what they said it was

The rooms were very old - the toilet paper holder was broken, no outlet in the bathroom for hairdryer, WiFi didn't work, etc. The rooms were fairly clean but smelled stale, old towels. The free breakfast was coffee and a doughnut although the office didn't open until 8:00 so we weren't able to have coffee. Not walking distance from the Visitors Center as stated unless you wanted to walk a good distance. It was within walking distance of several restaurants. We definitely would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dobbins House was a good choice for dinner in the Tavern. And a few doors down was Hunt's Battlefield Fries. Breakfast was good there and the chesse steak was the best I ever had!!

Review of Colton Motel Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick A.
Hubbard ,Ohio
May 22, 2014

Return Trip

This was the second time we stayed at the Colton and was very satisfied. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. Nothing fancy just a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search