$40 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

1 star
205 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
122 reviews
Great location in downtown Gettysburg

Refreshing to see this type of old-school accommodation. Very friendly owner. The entire experience... See full review

  • Roundfender
  • Aug 25, 2014
Awesome!

The location is amazing! Once I pulled in and parked right in front of my room, no stairs or... See full review

  • Cranberry Cindy
  • Apr 8, 2014
The Budget Host Three Crowns is located in downtown historic Gettysburg, across from the National Cemetery, within walking distance of all restaurants and all major attractions. While at the Budget Host we have at door parking, fridges and hair dryers in all rooms. Free wi-fi, continental breakfast and outdoor swimming pool.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Budget Host Three Crowns Motor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Rooms

Two Double Bed SM
2 Double Bed NS, haridryer, mini fridge, microwave, cable
Two Double Beds
2 Double Bed NS, haridryer, mini fridge, microwave, cable
One King Bed NS
1 King NS, AC, remote control cable TV,
One King Bed SM
1 King smoking, cable, Remote control TV

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

Dobbins House
Located nearby
Fansworth House
Located nearby
General Picketts Buffett
Located nearby
Gingerbread Man
Located nearby
Mayflower Buffet
Located nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Virginian Traveler 2010
Business
Woodbridge, NJ
Jul 18, 2010

Serves its purpose for an great price

Budget Host is a good hotel to stay in if your sole purpose is for a private bathroom and sleeping. The Good: Location is excellent. Located at a three way stoplight intersection. Across the street is the National Cemetery, the other street is a family style Pizza restaurant, and next door is a gift shop. EVERYTHING is walkable. One way takes you to mom & pop shops and the other way takes you to McDonald's, Chinese, KFC, and Friendly's. Each room gets its own air conditioning unit and it gets cold within an hour. Right next door is a restaurant similar to a Friday's or Applebee's. Running water is primarily hot. No matter how you turn it, there's very little cold water coming out. Wi-Fi works well and the swimming pool is tucked away from the street. TV & Fridge were present. They have a vent in the bathroom to get rid of the steam from the hot shower water. The staff was pleasant, but a bit odd. The Bad: Upon arriving, the room was HOT. No microwaves are in the room. The comforter had yellowish stains on it, The sink is located outside the bathroom. The beds need replacement because the springs are very soft. I woke up with a sore back every morning. Few items available for continental breakfast. Room service came to clean our room at 3pm or later each day. It depends on what you plan on doing. If having a room to sleep in is fine, then this is a great deal for its value. If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room, this is not the place to be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything walkable closes around 10pm except for the ice cream shops and the mini-mart at the Shell gas station. If you plan on going to bars, its a 3 minute drive down the road or a nice 15-minute walk down 20 blocks. The locals are very friendly people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAS DK1(SW) USN (F/R)
Business
Webster, NY
Jul 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

During our stay in Gettsburg, we took advantage of the Battlefield Bus tour, (double decker bus) we took advantage of a Ghost Walk, and a tour of the International Museum of Spirtual Investigations.The only thing missing was more time to do more things, we will definetly be coming back. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definetly pursue the "Ghost Walk" located directly in front of the "Dobbin House." They have teamed up with the International Museum of Spirtual Investigatins" for tours. The cost is very minimal. $6.00 for one and $7.00 for the other. They are both very much worth the cost. Would also recommend a horse drawn carriage ride through Gettysburg. Your escort for the ride is very knowledgeable about Gettysburg and it history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamma M
Business
Darien, CT
Jul 13, 2010

Budget Host Three Crowns in Gettysburg

Great location for all sightseeing attractions of Gettysburg. Rooms comfortable and clean, small place, just like we like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gettysburg Eddie's....very short walk, great food and drink. A sports type resturant with bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deenatello
Business
Michigan
Jul 7, 2010

Reasonable price and good location

It wasn't fancy, and we'd been warned to bring our own pillows...AC was located up high, hard to adjust...the outdoor pool was kept clean and kept my little ones happy in the 4th of july heat. Perfectly acceptable accommodations for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, ny
Jul 5, 2010

10th time back

great customer service, great location, very good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carver, MA
Jul 3, 2010

Historic getaway

Very friendly and helpful,great location,easy to find and promp service.Will go back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

watch for your signs,watch your one ways

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairmont, WV
Jun 28, 2010

Gettysburg Getaway

Visited Gettysburg battle ground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jun 23, 2010

nice place to stay

The place was outdated and the dresser was a little banged up but the hotel met our needs which was basically a clean place to sleep and a hot shower in the morning. Not a bad little place and would stay there again if the price was right. A note about the continental breakfast: a box of store brand danish and some orange kool aid left a little to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delran NJ
Jun 14, 2010

Decent no frills hotel

We booked through [...] for a king size bed because it was just going to be my husband and I. At the last minute we had to make a change to our room because we had to bring our 9 year old daughter with us. We called the hotel directly the night before our arrival to see what arrangements could be made. We were informed at that time that our reservation was for two double beds, not a king bed. When we asked how we can fix this to get a king bed the person on the phone said we could cancel our reservation if we wanted. We asked if we would get charged and he said yes. After going back and forth for several minutes he was able to get us back into a king bed but was unable to tell us if we would be able to get a roll away bed because he didn't know if they had any. My husband called the manager the day of our arrival to confirm once again that we were getting what we reserved. The manager was not much friendlier than the person on the phone the night before.Luckily, upon our arrival the reservation was correct and they were able to locate a roll away bed which they gave to us at no cost. The room was small but sufficient & clean but needed updating. The bed was surprisingly fairly comfortable. The shower was hot. The location is incredible - within walking distance of most of the local attractions & shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

General Picketts Buffet - great value for your money. Good food except for one problem. The chicken was undercooked. When we brought it to the attention of our server she stated it was an ongoing problem with the marinade their supplier uses that turns the meat pink. She assured us that the meat was cooked to a proper temp that is check before the meat leaves the kitchen. We were not convinced as the meat was raw, pink down at the bone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Host Three Crowns Motor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Youngstown, OH
Jun 12, 2010

Gettysburgh experience

the hotel is in a great location. however it is old and probably one of the cheapest hotel on the block. I felt they rental to local people that had no where else to stay. Some were either selling drugs or on drugs, so it was not very safe. it was clean. did not see a continental breakfast,. I know they had coffee and tea in the office. One of the nice things about the motor inn is you do get to meet people traveling and talking to them and finding out where they are from it was interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

before doing any tour of gettysburgh go to see the diaorama display.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top