$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

1863 Inn of Gettysburg

3 stars
516 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
50 reviews
Second year Gettysburg trip

This is our 2nd year in a row staying at this hotel. Great experience both times. Came this year... See full review

  • Stephc123
  • Jul 18, 2014
Fine choice for Gettysburg stay

We spent two nights here, though little time during the day in our room. Our room was spotless,... See full review

  • jalanjalan
  • Feb 17, 2014
The 1863 Inn of Gettysburg is centrally located in the historic district of Gettysburg and within walking distance to attractions such as the Gettysburg Bus Tour Center, the Gettysburg National Cemetery, Jennie Wade House, and the American Civil War Museum. The Gettysburg National Military Park Museum and Visitors Center is only 1 mile south. The Inn has 110 spacious guest rooms consisting of 2 double beds or a king size bed. All rooms are Non-Smoking and equipped with satellite TV, phones with voicemail, wired and wireless high speed internet, clock radios, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers and coffee makers. Pets are permitted in most guest rooms in the main building. Please call the Inn direct for rules and regulations on our pet policy. Our outdoor pool is open Memorial Day through Labor Day. We also have a fitness center and guest coin operated laundry on site. Parking is available at no charge. A free Rise and Shine Breakfast is included for all registered hotel guests. Please allow us to be your Gettysburg Address!

Hotel Map

39.8231 -77.2305
Area served
Gettysburg
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International Airport -MDT, is approximately 32 miles. Baltimore Washington International Airport - BWI, is approximately 50 miles from the Inn.
Area description
Centrally located in the historic district within walking distance to all area attractions and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 1863 Inn of Gettysburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

1863 Inn of Gettysburg Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Two Double Beds, Refrigerator. Non Smoking.
EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
One King sized bed, Refrigerator. Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rita's Italian Ice
Enjoy a sweet break from your touring with various Italian Ice and Custard flavors. Rita's is located just out our front door.
Breakfast Room
Free Rise and Shine Breakfast is included for all registered hotel guests.
Avenue Diner
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Diner is located across the street from the Inn.
Dobbin House
Enjoy historic dining in the cozy Springhouse Tavern or upstairs in the main restaurant. A favorite restaurant of locals and tourists, it is located a brief 5 minute walk from the Inn.
Farnsworth House
Located just a 5 minute walk from the hotel, this sharpshooter occupied building offers casual or fine dining options.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities are available and can accomodate up to 300 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wv travler
Charles Town, WV
Mar 18, 2013

Never Again!!!

I became very ill and ended up in the hospital ER and never made it to the hotel. My wife called to inform you of the situation and they cancelled the reservation but there was no refund. The hotel, when informed that I would not be coming, by a friend, merely smiled because they had the money and did not have to provide any service. Therefore, I see no value in using your organization and never will again. I will also advise friends and relatives not to book rooms at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
redskinsbus
New Market MD
Sep 27, 2009

1863

Not pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d. bond
hanover pa
Feb 21, 2011

average

Found hair in the shower and the walls were thin enough to hear the people in the room right beside us. I feel the room was over priced for what we go. Reminded me more of a $40 a nite not a $75

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dobbin house

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seasoned vacation traveler
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 16, 2010

Better options available

Hotel is close to downtown, but there is a free public lot one block away with plenty of parking right next store. Location is close to City Center, but staying a few miles would not hurt as you need your car or tour bus to get the Battlefield site. Take a pass on this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Remember to first visit the National Battlefield Visitor Center first on your trip. It is the most comprehensive and most of the "museums" next to the hotel are rather dated and not in the same league.

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
What's in a name
Central Virginia
Nov 28, 2011

Good location

The hotel was in a good location, seated within walking distance of the battlefield and cemetary as well as many nice shops and eateries. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC to 1865
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2012

Great location

This hotel is centrally located in town. You can walk to many shops and sites around the town as well as to tour buses. And the free breakfast is a perk. My only qualm was that there was a mosquito in my room and the front desk did not take care of the problem as promised. Small qualm but it brought the inn down a notch for me. Otherwise, a good buy and a nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cktuba
West Virginia, USA
Apr 26, 2013

Gettysburg in the off season

Location was great. First time a hotel said walking distance and actually was across the parking lot from Cemetery Hill and National Cemetery. I mile from down town. 1 mile from the visitor's center. 2 miles to the outlet mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ppad
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Aug 28, 2013

Name is Misleading but Clean and Comfortable

The name of this establishment feels a bit misleading. If by 1863, you mean 1993(ish) and by inn you mean "motel" then, it's perfect. I should have looked closer at the pictures of the hotel rather than let the name sway me. That said, the staff was nice, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Although it is nice to be close to the bus tour, the downtown is really the beautiful, historic part of town and is a good walk away. Since the battlefields are best accessed by auto audio tour anyway, you may want to stay closer to downtown,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The grey and blue cafe has great burgers!

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renee of the North
Petoskey, Michigan
Nov 8, 2013

Decent Stay

The best part of staying here is the location, Downtown Gettysburg. Everything went well except a little disappointed in the breakfast. The hot items were pre-wrapped breakfast sandwiches that you warm up in the microwave, just so-so. 24-hour coffee was great. Bathroom was immaculate and roomy. Beds were comfortable. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We purchased the full 3 CD audio tour, which was thorough but learned the most when overhearing guides explain more in-depth to others. Perhaps hiring a guide would have been better? Not sure, tough call. Don't miss cyclorama.

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Jul 31, 2010

Gettysburg

no comment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

no comment

Back to menu Return to top

Change search