$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

1863 Inn of Gettysburg

3 stars
516 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
51 reviews
Second year Gettysburg trip

This is our 2nd year in a row staying at this hotel. Great experience both times. Came this year... See full review

  • Stephc123
  • Jul 18, 2014
Fine choice for Gettysburg stay

We spent two nights here, though little time during the day in our room. Our room was spotless,... See full review

  • jalanjalan
  • Feb 17, 2014
The 1863 Inn of Gettysburg is centrally located in the historic district of Gettysburg and within walking distance to attractions such as the Gettysburg Bus Tour Center, the Gettysburg National Cemetery, Jennie Wade House, and the American Civil War Museum. The Gettysburg National Military Park Museum and Visitors Center is only 1 mile south. The Inn has 110 spacious guest rooms consisting of 2 double beds or a king size bed. All rooms are Non-Smoking and equipped with satellite TV, phones with voicemail, wired and wireless high speed internet, clock radios, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers and coffee makers. Pets are permitted in most guest rooms in the main building. Please call the Inn direct for rules and regulations on our pet policy. Our outdoor pool is open Memorial Day through Labor Day. We also have a fitness center and guest coin operated laundry on site. Parking is available at no charge. A free Rise and Shine Breakfast is included for all registered hotel guests. Please allow us to be your Gettysburg Address!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 1863 Inn of Gettysburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

1863 Inn of Gettysburg Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Two Double Beds, Refrigerator. Non Smoking.
EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
One King sized bed, Refrigerator. Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rita's Italian Ice
Enjoy a sweet break from your touring with various Italian Ice and Custard flavors. Rita's is located just out our front door.
Breakfast Room
Free Rise and Shine Breakfast is included for all registered hotel guests.
Avenue Diner
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Diner is located across the street from the Inn.
Dobbin House
Enjoy historic dining in the cozy Springhouse Tavern or upstairs in the main restaurant. A favorite restaurant of locals and tourists, it is located a brief 5 minute walk from the Inn.
Farnsworth House
Located just a 5 minute walk from the hotel, this sharpshooter occupied building offers casual or fine dining options.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities are available and can accomodate up to 300 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooks1718 Traveler
Business
Quakertown, PA
Feb 21, 2011

Good value for cost

Smack in middle of town and easy access to all roads plus walking distance to Cemetery Ridge etc. Unfortunately, those roads are right in front of hotel. Order an "even" number room and you'll be on the back side (quieter). Room was nice, but my pillow was little hard and lumpy (need upgrade)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Springhouse Tavern under Dobbin House to experience real period setting and great food. Little diner across from hotel is good for breakfast or fast lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Bergen, NJ
Feb 21, 2011

Great location, great hotel!

Our family headed to Gettysburg to see some historic sites. The hotel location was awesome! It is right in the heart of it all. We are definitely planing on stay there again. The rooms were clean and the breakfest was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at a wonderful Italian restaurant called La Bella. Excellent food would recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d. bond
Business
hanover pa
Feb 21, 2011

average

Found hair in the shower and the walls were thin enough to hear the people in the room right beside us. I feel the room was over priced for what we go. Reminded me more of a $40 a nite not a $75

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dobbin house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebel Reviewer
Business
Ambler , PA
Jan 24, 2011

Right on the Edge of the Battlefield

I stayed overnighted after going out to dinner with friends. One of the reasons for selecting this hotel was the proximity to the Battlefield. The hotel sits right on the edge of 2nd and 3rd Day of fighting at the Jennie Wade House is located right next door. Even though I did not take a pet the room that I was in was pet friendly. I'm a coffee drinker and I like that there was more than one coffee packet in the room as well as pleanty of towels. Room was nice and did not have that stale room smell. Out of two different motels/hotels that I have stayed at in Gettysburg, this was clearly the best so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the edge of the battlefield. Cementary Hill is right behind the hotel, the Jennie Wade House is next door, and the Soldiers muesuem is right across the street. Those interested in shopping outlet mall is 10 mins away right outside of Gettysburg.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princess Anne, MD
Dec 20, 2010

The Place to Stay

This was a last minute shoppng trip to Gettysburg abd the 1863 Inn is the greatest place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, NY
Nov 10, 2010

Good Gettysburg Location

Great Location right in town 1 mile from park! Complimentary breakfast better than expected! PET FRIENDLY was a big plus for us. I would go back there and probably will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bernville, PA
Nov 6, 2010

Relaxing Getaway

Nice room, Great Service at front desk, very friendly and helpful. Convenient location, walking distance to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dobbin House Tavern: Small authentic looking tavern, food was good. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Nov 6, 2010

old but good

Location is ideal for traveler to Gettysburg. Convenient to food, book stores, and the touristy garbage stores. Nice rooms. Very friendly front desk staff. Free breakfast nothing to get excited about, but still free food. Only real drawback is having a room streetside, but even that is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

O'Rorkes right across the street; Gettysburg Eddie's about 3 blocks - both ROCK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whitehall, PA
Oct 10, 2010

Great location while touring

Everything was fine. The bed could have been a little softer (but I like softer mattress)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seasoned vacation traveler
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 16, 2010

Better options available

Hotel is close to downtown, but there is a free public lot one block away with plenty of parking right next store. Location is close to City Center, but staying a few miles would not hurt as you need your car or tour bus to get the Battlefield site. Take a pass on this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Remember to first visit the National Battlefield Visitor Center first on your trip. It is the most comprehensive and most of the "museums" next to the hotel are rather dated and not in the same league.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top