$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

1863 Inn of Gettysburg

3 stars
516 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
67 reviews
Second year Gettysburg trip

This is our 2nd year in a row staying at this hotel. Great experience both times. Came this year... See full review

  • Stephc123
  • Jul 18, 2014
Fine choice for Gettysburg stay

We spent two nights here, though little time during the day in our room. Our room was spotless,... See full review

  • jalanjalan
  • Feb 17, 2014
The 1863 Inn of Gettysburg is centrally located in the historic district of Gettysburg and within walking distance to attractions such as the Gettysburg Bus Tour Center, the Gettysburg National Cemetery, Jennie Wade House, and the American Civil War Museum. The Gettysburg National Military Park Museum and Visitors Center is only 1 mile south. The Inn has 110 spacious guest rooms consisting of 2 double beds or a king size bed. All rooms are Non-Smoking and equipped with satellite TV, phones with voicemail, wired and wireless high speed internet, clock radios, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers and coffee makers. Pets are permitted in most guest rooms in the main building. Please call the Inn direct for rules and regulations on our pet policy. Our outdoor pool is open Memorial Day through Labor Day. We also have a fitness center and guest coin operated laundry on site. Parking is available at no charge. A free Rise and Shine Breakfast is included for all registered hotel guests. Please allow us to be your Gettysburg Address!

1863 Inn of Gettysburg Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Two Double Beds, Refrigerator. Non Smoking.
EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
One King sized bed, Refrigerator. Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 1863 Inn of Gettysburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.8231 -77.2305
Area served
Gettysburg
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International Airport -MDT, is approximately 32 miles. Baltimore Washington International Airport - BWI, is approximately 50 miles from the Inn.
Area description
Centrally located in the historic district within walking distance to all area attractions and restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities are available and can accomodate up to 300 people.

Dining

Rita's Italian Ice
Enjoy a sweet break from your touring with various Italian Ice and Custard flavors. Rita's is located just out our front door.
Breakfast Room
Free Rise and Shine Breakfast is included for all registered hotel guests.
Avenue Diner
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Diner is located across the street from the Inn.
Dobbin House
Enjoy historic dining in the cozy Springhouse Tavern or upstairs in the main restaurant. A favorite restaurant of locals and tourists, it is located a brief 5 minute walk from the Inn.
Farnsworth House
Located just a 5 minute walk from the hotel, this sharpshooter occupied building offers casual or fine dining options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the Traveler
Darien, Illinois
Jun 3, 2012

Satisfied with stary

Everything you needed was there. Across the street historic home converted to restaurant and tavern. Various gift stores, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown has circle drive with variou restaurants and stores.

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sw0921
Pitttsburgh, Pa
Mar 29, 2012

Great place to stay!

This hotel is not only in an excellent location with convenient walking distance to stores and restaurants, but right next door to the Gettysburg tour bus company and right down the road (approximately 1 mile) to the Visitor Center and Museum. The hotel was extremely clean and comfortable and their complimentary breakfast was great! The staff was extrememly friendly and helpful with our questions. We will definitely be going back to this same hotel during our next visit to Gettysburg!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Gettysburg Battleground Tour....it's fantastic!

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
What's in a name
Central Virginia
Nov 28, 2011

Good location

The hotel was in a good location, seated within walking distance of the battlefield and cemetary as well as many nice shops and eateries. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pattig
Pgh.,Pa.
May 31, 2011

Very neat and clean staff very friendly.

Desk clerk very friendly and showed us how to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pattig
Pgh.,Pa.
May 31, 2011

Very neat and clean staff very friendly.

Desk clerk very friendly and showed us how to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ashland, Ohio
Apr 5, 2011

Great place to stay. Will go back.

Great beds and a nice clean room. Right in the middle of the little shops and next door is the Jenny Wade house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street is a small restaurant. I ordered one biscuit with chip beef gravy and home fries and coffee. Bill was over 12.00. Food was ok but many places in Gettysburg to eat with way better prices.

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ashland, Ohio
Apr 5, 2011

Great place to stay. Will go back.

Great beds and a nice clean room. Right in the middle of the little shops and next door is the Jenny Wade house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street is a small restaurant. I ordered one biscuit with chip beef gravy and home fries and coffee. Bill was over 12.00. Food was ok but many places in Gettysburg to eat with way better prices.

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d. bond
hanover pa
Feb 21, 2011

average

Found hair in the shower and the walls were thin enough to hear the people in the room right beside us. I feel the room was over priced for what we go. Reminded me more of a $40 a nite not a $75

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dobbin house

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Bergen, NJ
Feb 21, 2011

Great location, great hotel!

Our family headed to Gettysburg to see some historic sites. The hotel location was awesome! It is right in the heart of it all. We are definitely planing on stay there again. The rooms were clean and the breakfest was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at a wonderful Italian restaurant called La Bella. Excellent food would recommend it!

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooks1718 Traveler
Quakertown, PA
Feb 21, 2011

Good value for cost

Smack in middle of town and easy access to all roads plus walking distance to Cemetery Ridge etc. Unfortunately, those roads are right in front of hotel. Order an "even" number room and you'll be on the back side (quieter). Room was nice, but my pillow was little hard and lumpy (need upgrade)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Springhouse Tavern under Dobbin House to experience real period setting and great food. Little diner across from hotel is good for breakfast or fast lunch.

Back to menu Return to top