$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

1863 Inn of Gettysburg

3 stars
516 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
50 reviews
Second year Gettysburg trip

This is our 2nd year in a row staying at this hotel. Great experience both times. Came this year... See full review

  • Stephc123
  • Jul 18, 2014
Fine choice for Gettysburg stay

We spent two nights here, though little time during the day in our room. Our room was spotless,... See full review

  • jalanjalan
  • Feb 17, 2014
The 1863 Inn of Gettysburg is centrally located in the historic district of Gettysburg and within walking distance to attractions such as the Gettysburg Bus Tour Center, the Gettysburg National Cemetery, Jennie Wade House, and the American Civil War Museum. The Gettysburg National Military Park Museum and Visitors Center is only 1 mile south. The Inn has 110 spacious guest rooms consisting of 2 double beds or a king size bed. All rooms are Non-Smoking and equipped with satellite TV, phones with voicemail, wired and wireless high speed internet, clock radios, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers and coffee makers. Pets are permitted in most guest rooms in the main building. Please call the Inn direct for rules and regulations on our pet policy. Our outdoor pool is open Memorial Day through Labor Day. We also have a fitness center and guest coin operated laundry on site. Parking is available at no charge. A free Rise and Shine Breakfast is included for all registered hotel guests. Please allow us to be your Gettysburg Address!

Hotel Map

39.8231 -77.2305
Area served
Gettysburg
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International Airport -MDT, is approximately 32 miles. Baltimore Washington International Airport - BWI, is approximately 50 miles from the Inn.
Area description
Centrally located in the historic district within walking distance to all area attractions and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 1863 Inn of Gettysburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

1863 Inn of Gettysburg Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Two Double Beds, Refrigerator. Non Smoking.
EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
One King sized bed, Refrigerator. Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rita's Italian Ice
Enjoy a sweet break from your touring with various Italian Ice and Custard flavors. Rita's is located just out our front door.
Breakfast Room
Free Rise and Shine Breakfast is included for all registered hotel guests.
Avenue Diner
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Diner is located across the street from the Inn.
Dobbin House
Enjoy historic dining in the cozy Springhouse Tavern or upstairs in the main restaurant. A favorite restaurant of locals and tourists, it is located a brief 5 minute walk from the Inn.
Farnsworth House
Located just a 5 minute walk from the hotel, this sharpshooter occupied building offers casual or fine dining options.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities are available and can accomodate up to 300 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PittsburghNickD
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 27, 2013

The BEST Place to Stay in Gettysburg!!!

If you want a first class hotel stay for a non-first class price, stay here. We stayed for three nights, had to check in late the first night and early the last morning, and were in and out a lot. Everything was excellent and the staff are friendly and kind. There's simply nothing to complain about and I consider this the best hotel stay I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gettysburg Eddie's is an excellent place to eat and it's tucked along a street with a ton of great shops. Good food and great atmosphere!

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom Mom trip
Seaford, DE
Jul 28, 2014

short stay

We decided at the last minute to take an overnight trip. We were lucky to snag a room at 1863 Inn. The staff is fantastic and very welcoming. The location is excellent if you are there to tour battlefield and enjoy downtown shops. Everything was a short walk including several nice places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to hit the Gettysburg outlets right outside of town!

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chamm
Turbotville
Jul 22, 2014

recent visit with family

We had a great experience at 1863 Inn. The location was perfect-close to everything, we walked to many of the things we wanted to do/see. Great breakfast each morning. We used the pool daily and it was very clean. My only minor issue was the time the room was cleaned each day-we came back from an outing at 2:00 and needed to give our daughter a nap, and the room still hadn't been cleaned for the day. we put the 'privacy please" sign up, and then the phone rang during our daughter's nap to ask if we needed towels. We appreciated the call but would have preferred the room was cleaned before her nap, while we were out. We will definitely be back here, hopefully soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephc123
Wyomissing, Pa
Jul 18, 2014

Second year Gettysburg trip

This is our 2nd year in a row staying at this hotel. Great experience both times. Came this year for the 151st reenactment. Clean rooms, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast with a large selection, and the hotel is in the middle of everything, very convenient and within walking distance to downtown, restaurants, museums, historic houses, etc. If you stay in the Summer, the pool is great also and very clean! A great plus if you have children or just want to put your feet up and relax and imagine all that happened right where you are sitting some 150+ years ago! We plan on definitely staying here again when we come back, which is hopefully soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kizzi
Robesonia pa
Jun 2, 2014

Loved our stay!

We were only in town one night but had a great time and the location of the hotel is the best, friendly and helpful staff and very clean room! We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluetraveler66
Business
Rochester NY
May 11, 2014

right in the middle of things

very nice clean hotel for the money. Right at the edge of the national battlefield withing walking distance of General Mead's headquarters. The tour bus company is right next door and yet not noisy. The do have an outdoor pool but it was not swimming season. Fun little shops and other tourist attractions near by too. Walking distance to the North end of town for other historical sites and shops. nice day trip from updstate new york.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

historic bus tours in the next building over.

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jalanjalan
Freehold, NJ
Feb 17, 2014

Fine choice for Gettysburg stay

We spent two nights here, though little time during the day in our room. Our room was spotless, beds comfortable, and our only reservation is that this room faced a busy street, and snow plowing equipment in the middle of the night disturbed my wife's sleep one night. The breakfast was very nice, with a wide array of food choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the outlets if you're a shopper. We lucked into a close-out sale at Levi's, and my son bought three pairs of levi's for a total of less than $20!

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana Tarbox
Gettysburg Pa
Dec 7, 2013

Stop over on way home from NC

Was very clean and people very friendly, morning breakfast was good and loved being able to have our dog stay, though $20.00 was a lot for one night though, but enjoyed stay. Nice, clean , friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renee of the North
Petoskey, Michigan
Nov 8, 2013

Decent Stay

The best part of staying here is the location, Downtown Gettysburg. Everything went well except a little disappointed in the breakfast. The hot items were pre-wrapped breakfast sandwiches that you warm up in the microwave, just so-so. 24-hour coffee was great. Bathroom was immaculate and roomy. Beds were comfortable. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We purchased the full 3 CD audio tour, which was thorough but learned the most when overhearing guides explain more in-depth to others. Perhaps hiring a guide would have been better? Not sure, tough call. Don't miss cyclorama.

Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DONNA SKA
NEW YORK NY
Sep 2, 2013

PERFECT FAMILY TRIP

QUIET, COMFORTABLE, CLOSE TO ATTRACTIONS, DINING & SHOPPING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ppad
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Aug 28, 2013

Name is Misleading but Clean and Comfortable

The name of this establishment feels a bit misleading. If by 1863, you mean 1993(ish) and by inn you mean "motel" then, it's perfect. I should have looked closer at the pictures of the hotel rather than let the name sway me. That said, the staff was nice, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Although it is nice to be close to the bus tour, the downtown is really the beautiful, historic part of town and is a good walk away. Since the battlefields are best accessed by auto audio tour anyway, you may want to stay closer to downtown,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The grey and blue cafe has great burgers!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search