$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Avalon Hotel

2 stars
View map of 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
34 reviews
Fantastic

Our stay couldn't have been better! See full review

  • Erie Fan
  • Oct 18, 2009
Avalon

Definitely the most friendly staff I have encountered. They obliged to all our requests. A very... See full review

  • D Brad
  • May 13, 2009
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center is without exception a luxurious convention quality hotel. Each guestroom was created with your comfort in mind designed in rich traditional furnishings with the convenience of ample drawer and closet space and Room Service always at your beck and call. 192 guest rooms include 12 full size Studio Suites 30 King Bed Room and 150 Double Bedded Rooms all tastefully decorated in shades of teal and raspberry. Each room is spacious and comfortably furnished in elegant mahogany of traditional and early American vintage.

Top hotels

The Avalon Hotel Rooms

Standard 2 Double Beds non renov
Standard 2 Double Beds non renovated OTA AC TV iron iron board electric kettle
Superior Suite OTA
Superior Suite OTA Superior Suite
Superior Double OTA
Superior Double OTA Superior Double
Standard King Suite non renovate
Standard King Suite non smoking OTA non renovated sitting area sleeper sofa
Standard King room non renovated
Standard King room non renovated OTA AC TV iron iron board electric kettle
Superior King OTA
Superior King OTA Superior King

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Casino
Boating
Fishing
Services
Business center
Theater desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 34
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carrolltown girl
Business
Carrolltown, PA
Sep 29, 2013

Just OK

I did not like the full size beds. The hotel looked like it had been very nice at one time, but it is in need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 28, 2011

good location for down town

rooms are in need of up dating,a/c didn't work to good restrunt was closed but staff very frendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to clubs and bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Jun 28, 2010

A Nice Place to Visit, Don't Stay There

Friendly and helpful front desk staff, nice lobby and great outside garden area for a cup of coffee and to read the paper. Breakfast buffet at Benjamin's was good and reasonably priced. Under ground parking adequate but not great. Carpeting in hallways was old and dirty. Rooms were not cleaned. Mattresses and carpeting were old and dirty. View from room was nice. Location was convenient to Bayfront area attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Bayfront area is beautiful and a nice place to walk around. Beautiful sunsets, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradford, PA
Oct 26, 2009

Weekend in Erie

The staff at the hotel were very friendly. Unfortunately the rooms need some kind of sound proofing. It was homecoming weekend at one of the local universities so there were plenty of noisy and intoxicated people staying here. You heard every person that passed by your room even talking in a normal tone of voice which meant that we didn't get much sleep. The carpeting in the rooms have seen better days. Was close to the Warner Theater so that we could walk. Parking was included but there wasn't nearly enough spaces. The faucet in the bathroom came out in a trickle and it was such a cheap squeaky plastic faucet. The overall room was was spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GRANDMA1
Business
DURHAM.NC
Sep 8, 2009

visiting a sick family member.

I WAS NOT VERY HAPPY WITH THIS HOTEL,NEITHER WAS MY HUSBAND AND SISTER-IN-LAW.I REQUESTED A NON SMOKING FLOOR AND ROOM.THE FRONT DESK SAID THAT WE WHERE IN THE NON SMOKING BUT WHEN WE GOT TO THE FLOOR AND THE ELEVATOR DOOR OPEN WHAT IS THE FIRST THING TO HIT US WAS THE SMELL OF CIGARETTES ALL THREW THE HALLWAY AND EVEN IN OUR ROOM.ALSO THE NEXT DAY WE PUT THE SIGN FOR THE HOUSEKEEPING TO CLEAN OUR ROOM AND PICK OUR DIRTY TOWELS AND THEY NEVER DID,THE COFFEE POT WAS VERY DUSTY I HAD TO CLEAN IT BEFORE WE USE IT.WE HAD TO BUY AIR FRESHNER AND CARPET SPRAY TO BE ABLE TO SLEEP.TO MUCH NOISE AT NIGHT AND THE FRONT DESK STAFF DID NOT HAVE A CLUE OF WHERE THINGS ARE ,ALSO WE COMPLAIN TO THE FRONT DESK CLERK ABOUT THE NOISE WE HEARD DURING THE NIGHT SLAMMING DOORS AND YELLING AND THEY SAID THEY COULDEN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.DO I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE NO NOT EVEN MY OWN FAMILY WAS VERY DISSAPOINTED IN REGARDS OF MY STAY IN THE AVALON.HOPE THAT WITH THIS THE HOTEL WILL MAKE SOME TYPE OF CHANGES.ALSO I WAS LOOKING FOR THE SAUNA AND FRONT DESK COUDEN'T DIRECT ME TO IT THE ONLY THING THE PERSON SAID THAT SHE WAS A NEW WORKER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ERIE LAKE THE SUN SET.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Aug 23, 2009

Good location

Good location, helpful staffs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Brad
Business
palatine il
May 13, 2009

Avalon

Definitely the most friendly staff I have encountered. They obliged to all our requests. A very nice hotel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lora
Business
USA
Aug 12, 2007

Location, location, location

Stayed at the Avalon on 8/10/07 - 8/12/07 and was very pleased with the location of the hotel. Near everything; bay, casino, malls, etc. Even though the hotel had a small exercise room we enjoyed the fact that we were able to use the YMCA facilities right across the street. I would recommend this hotel to others and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant that is inside the hotel was very good. They had a nice buffet for breakfast or you could also order from the menue. Even had some low cal options (egg beaters for omelets).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top