$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

The Avalon Hotel

2 stars
16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
33 reviews
Fantastic

Our stay couldn't have been better! See full review

  • Erie Fan
  • Oct 18, 2009
Avalon

Definitely the most friendly staff I have encountered. They obliged to all our requests. A very... See full review

  • D Brad
  • May 13, 2009
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center is without exception a luxurious convention quality hotel. Each guestroom was created with your comfort in mind - designed in rich traditional furnishings with the convenience of ample drawer and closet space and Room Service always at your beck and call. 192 guest rooms include 12 full size Studio Suites 30 King Bed Room and 150 Double-Bedded Rooms all tastefully decorated in shades of teal and raspberry. Each room is spacious and comfortably furnished in elegant mahogany of traditional and early American vintage.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Avalon Hotel Rooms

Standard 2 Double Beds non renov
Standard 2 Double Beds non renovated AC TV iron iron board electric kettle
Superior Suite
Superior Suite Superior Suite
Superior Double
Superior Double Superior Double
Standard King Suite non smoking
Standard King Suite non smoking non renovated sitting area sleeper sofa
Standard King room non renovated
Standard King room non renovated AC TV iron iron board electric kettle
Superior King
Superior King Superior King

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Casino
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Theater desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for The Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 33
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marilyn_mclane[@]
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Aug 16, 2010

Nice and clean.staff very wiling to help

Not really what I expected, but it worked. Need help with the parking lot area. not user friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good as this was downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Geffer
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 2, 2010

Old and Run down

This hotel was pretty bad. It made me wish we had booked a cheaper room at the Red Roof Inn or Motel 6. The hotel is very old and it shows in the decor and facilities. My boyfriend said the room smelled musty (the only time I'm thankful to have a cold and no sense of smell) so we turned on the A/C in hopes it would help. You only get the option of on/off with the A/C despite a knob that might fool you into thinking you have control over the actual temperature. The towels were scratchy and cheap, though thankfully clean. There wasn't even a pen or notepad in the room. The telephone had instructions for a wake-up call but, when set, it went off an hour later than the requested time. Luckily the funeral we were in town for didn't start until later in the afternoon or it could have caused us big problems. When coming and going, there were quite a few rowdy fellow travelers and I wondered if the cheap price or the proximity to downtown bars and baseball field were factors in drawing some shady customers. Hotel staff weren't overly friendly but not rude either. I wouldn't choose to stay here again though it could have been worse. At least the bathroom looked clean. Plus we got a view of the fireworks after the ballgame. It's in the heart of downtown where local businesses are trying to revitalize the neighborhood. There are some good restaurants in the area. I'd recommend 1201 Kitchen for something different and delicious. The bottom line is this hotel was one of very few with available rooms to fit our last minute need. Back in its heyday as a Hilton, I'm sure this was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's lots to do nearby. You can walk to the Erie Playhouse, Warner Theater, SeaWolves baseball, convention center, Jr's comedy club and a bunch of restaurants/bars/nightclubs in the area. At the bottom of State Street (10 blocks down) is Dobbins Landing and the Bicentennial Tower with great views of the lake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 10, 2009

Avalon in Erie

Location was perfect since our trip was for a show at the Warner Theater, only about 2 blocks away. VERY noisy at night since we were on the State St side of the hotel. The hotel should consider a convenience store since all stores in downtown Erie clost at 5 on Sat, closed on Sun, hard to get coffee, drinks, snacks, etc. Food in the restaraunt was good and both food & alcohol were reasonably priced. Connecting parking garage very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

EXCELLENT boutique right in the lobby - "Impromptu", NICE unique gifts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jamestown n,y,
Nov 8, 2009

weekend get away

service was good .rooms were out dated and furniture and carpets were stained,but appeared to be cleaned. on site restaurant menu over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

warner theatre across street,jr's comedy club couple blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Youngwood, Pa.
Oct 20, 2009

Good value in a central location

Large room featuring a king bed, sofa, chair, desk and also, a game table with 4 chairs. Room was twice the size of a conventional room. A little dated, but an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One can walk north 10 blocks and be at Lake Erie, convention center, 2 blocks to civic arena and baseball park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Unhappy Couple
Business
Grove City, PA
Oct 19, 2009

Worst place we've ever stayed!!!

This was the worst hotel we have ever been to. The staff was not friendly at all. We had no heat in our room and they told us a maintenance would come in the morning to check on it and no one ever showed up. The room had no menu for room service and when we called for one, it took them an hour to get it to us. This hotel is nothing like what the website shows. It was not clean. We were not happy with anything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go Steelers!!!!
Business
Brazil
Oct 19, 2009

Nice Hotel

Nice and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erie Fan
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 18, 2009

Fantastic

Our stay couldn't have been better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
munchiebuttmunch
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 23, 2009

Worst Hotel Ever

Horrible ( except [...] the bartender)! We confirmed & pd for a KING size dlx rm. We arrived at the hotel a little early for check-in but they wouldn't check us in until 3:00 (on the dot)....fine. We get to the desk & are informed they have NO king bed rms. left. We showed them the paperwork from ORBITZ with the confirmation,etc.......they couldn't have cared less. THEY OVERBOOKED THE HOTEL & they hadn't charged our credit card yet even though we paid thru Orbitz & had the proof. They said we had to deal with Orbitz....they wouldn't do anything. They reduced our rate acting like they were doing something great. All they did was give us the rate of the double bed rm. that we got. (by the way, the bedspread had a stain on it)! There was a biker rally & a basketball tournament in town so we think they gave our rm. away to the people that just walked in for a rm. & we got stuck with whatever was left. They claimed that it takes 24-hrs. for the credit card to go thru to the hotel & in that 24-hr. period they had SO MANY reservations that they ran out of king bed rms. Why did we bother paying on Orbitz if it didn't make a difference on our reservation even with proof on paper that we paid & were confirmed for a king bed rm. I have never had a problem with any other hotel I've booked with Orbitz....NEVER! DO NOT BOTHER W/THIS HOTEL.....you won't be happy! I forgot...the smoke alarm kept going off in the rm. because there was no fan in the bathrm. & the steam made it go off (so did hairspray).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PGH PA
Jul 13, 2009

Erie

We walked down to Molly Brannigans for dinner, and went to a few bars afterwards. Hotel was in a great location and was super cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top