$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

The Avalon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
30 reviews
Avalon

Definitely the most friendly staff I have encountered. They obliged to all our requests. A very... See full review

  • D Brad
  • May 13, 2009
Very Nice

Nice place to stay, I would book there again. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 17, 2007
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center is without exception a luxurious convention quality hotel. Each guestroom was created with your comfort in mind designed in rich traditional furnishings with the convenience of ample drawer and closet space and Room Service always at your beck and call. 192 guest rooms include 12 full size Studio Suites 30 King Bed Room and 150 Double Bedded Rooms all tastefully decorated in shades of teal and raspberry. Each room is spacious and comfortably furnished in elegant mahogany of traditional and early American vintage.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$169
4.2 / 5 65 reviews
★★
$70
3.7 / 5 71 reviews
★★
$79
3.4 / 5 40 reviews
★★★
$107
4.1 / 5 28 reviews
★★★
$119
4.3 / 5 67 reviews
★★★
$92
4.0 / 5 93 reviews
★★
$119
4.2 / 5 13 reviews
★★
$84
3.3 / 5 36 reviews
★★★
$107
3.9 / 5 17 reviews

The Avalon Hotel Rooms

Superior King OTA
Superior King OTA Superior King OTA Superior King
Superior Double OTA
Superior Double OTA Superior Double OTA Superior Double
Standard King room non renovated
Standard King room non renovated Standard King room non renovated OTA AC TV iron iron board
Standard 2 Double Beds non renov
Standard 2 Double Beds non renov Standard 2 Double Beds non renovated OTA AC TV iron iron b
Standard King Suite non renovate
Standard King Suite non renovate Standard King Suite non smoking OTA non renovated sitting are
Superior Suite OTA
Superior Suite OTA Superior Suite OTA Superior Suite

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Casino
Boating
Fishing
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking
Room
Telephone

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Siony
Business
New Jersey
Oct 26, 2011

Horrible experience

First when we arrive there was no one to help with our laugage we have to carryn everything w/o help from any of the staff. The picture from the web site was decieving the room is nothing like the picture. the room needs painting, the matress was torn they use safety pin to hold it together. the linen was not iron,it looks like some one just take the linen out of the dryer and throw it on the bed, the bed was very uncomfortable. If I was not tired from ttraveling, and the place was not close to the hospital conference I would have left the same day. the . Over price for its condition. They advertice for restaurant that non existent. My company recommended for us not to stay at this hotel but we did not recieve the list of hotel they recommended on time. I will never ever recommend this hotel to any body.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Unhappy Couple
Couples
Grove City, PA
Oct 19, 2009

Worst place we've ever stayed!!!

This was the worst hotel we have ever been to. The staff was not friendly at all. We had no heat in our room and they told us a maintenance would come in the morning to check on it and no one ever showed up. The room had no menu for room service and when we called for one, it took them an hour to get it to us. This hotel is nothing like what the website shows. It was not clean. We were not happy with anything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
born Erie local, lives elsewhere
Single
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 3, 2009

A dirty shame

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is right in downtown Erie, close to good restaurants, night life, and tourist destinations. It is a dirty shame that the owners of this facility haven't invested money into a decent upgrade and paid a bit more attention to basic cleanliness. The walls, curtains, and carpet are badly stained, the fixtures in the bathrooms are dingy and worn, and the place has a musty smell. The lobby looks nice! Why can't the rest of the hotel be brought up to the level of the lobby? To leave a prime facility deteriorate as badly as this is a crime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Maritime Museum down by Dobbins' Landing. It is a great place to take school-aged children.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
munchiebuttmunch
Couples
Rochester, NY
Jul 23, 2009

Worst Hotel Ever

Horrible ( except [...] the bartender)! We confirmed & pd for a KING size dlx rm. We arrived at the hotel a little early for check-in but they wouldn't check us in until 3:00 (on the dot)....fine. We get to the desk & are informed they have NO king bed rms. left. We showed them the paperwork from ORBITZ with the confirmation,etc.......they couldn't have cared less. THEY OVERBOOKED THE HOTEL & they hadn't charged our credit card yet even though we paid thru Orbitz & had the proof. They said we had to deal with Orbitz....they wouldn't do anything. They reduced our rate acting like they were doing something great. All they did was give us the rate of the double bed rm. that we got. (by the way, the bedspread had a stain on it)! There was a biker rally & a basketball tournament in town so we think they gave our rm. away to the people that just walked in for a rm. & we got stuck with whatever was left. They claimed that it takes 24-hrs. for the credit card to go thru to the hotel & in that 24-hr. period they had SO MANY reservations that they ran out of king bed rms. Why did we bother paying on Orbitz if it didn't make a difference on our reservation even with proof on paper that we paid & were confirmed for a king bed rm. I have never had a problem with any other hotel I've booked with Orbitz....NEVER! DO NOT BOTHER W/THIS HOTEL.....you won't be happy! I forgot...the smoke alarm kept going off in the rm. because there was no fan in the bathrm. & the steam made it go off (so did hairspray).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelmuch22
Business
MA
Feb 25, 2013

Good location

Good location , free parking - rooms are older decor but comfortable bed. No cable tv, decent place for a modest budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to sports events, taverns, food

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GRANDMA1
Family
DURHAM.NC
Sep 8, 2009

visiting a sick family member.

I WAS NOT VERY HAPPY WITH THIS HOTEL,NEITHER WAS MY HUSBAND AND SISTER-IN-LAW.I REQUESTED A NON SMOKING FLOOR AND ROOM.THE FRONT DESK SAID THAT WE WHERE IN THE NON SMOKING BUT WHEN WE GOT TO THE FLOOR AND THE ELEVATOR DOOR OPEN WHAT IS THE FIRST THING TO HIT US WAS THE SMELL OF CIGARETTES ALL THREW THE HALLWAY AND EVEN IN OUR ROOM.ALSO THE NEXT DAY WE PUT THE SIGN FOR THE HOUSEKEEPING TO CLEAN OUR ROOM AND PICK OUR DIRTY TOWELS AND THEY NEVER DID,THE COFFEE POT WAS VERY DUSTY I HAD TO CLEAN IT BEFORE WE USE IT.WE HAD TO BUY AIR FRESHNER AND CARPET SPRAY TO BE ABLE TO SLEEP.TO MUCH NOISE AT NIGHT AND THE FRONT DESK STAFF DID NOT HAVE A CLUE OF WHERE THINGS ARE ,ALSO WE COMPLAIN TO THE FRONT DESK CLERK ABOUT THE NOISE WE HEARD DURING THE NIGHT SLAMMING DOORS AND YELLING AND THEY SAID THEY COULDEN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.DO I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE NO NOT EVEN MY OWN FAMILY WAS VERY DISSAPOINTED IN REGARDS OF MY STAY IN THE AVALON.HOPE THAT WITH THIS THE HOTEL WILL MAKE SOME TYPE OF CHANGES.ALSO I WAS LOOKING FOR THE SAUNA AND FRONT DESK COUDEN'T DIRECT ME TO IT THE ONLY THING THE PERSON SAID THAT SHE WAS A NEW WORKER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ERIE LAKE THE SUN SET.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
jamestown n,y,
Nov 8, 2009

weekend get away

service was good .rooms were out dated and furniture and carpets were stained,but appeared to be cleaned. on site restaurant menu over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

warner theatre across street,jr's comedy club couple blocks away

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Cranberry, PA
Aug 9, 2010

Only Stay Here For Location

Well from reading several awful reviews, we still decided to stay here because of location. This was an overnight girls getaway. Lake during day, Bars in walking distance at night. This hotel is in need of a MAJOR renovation. I think the maid only changed the sheets before we checked in. Candy wrapper on chair, stains all throughout the carpet, dirty shower, dust everywhere, greasy fingerprints on the bedboard, thin walls, mouldy window, No where to park as lot was full. They should not charge over $100 for a room. The only nice thing was the lobby area. Luckily we didnt spend that much time in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Geffer
Couples
Washington, DC
Aug 2, 2010

Old and Run down

This hotel was pretty bad. It made me wish we had booked a cheaper room at the Red Roof Inn or Motel 6. The hotel is very old and it shows in the decor and facilities. My boyfriend said the room smelled musty (the only time I'm thankful to have a cold and no sense of smell) so we turned on the A/C in hopes it would help. You only get the option of on/off with the A/C despite a knob that might fool you into thinking you have control over the actual temperature. The towels were scratchy and cheap, though thankfully clean. There wasn't even a pen or notepad in the room. The telephone had instructions for a wake-up call but, when set, it went off an hour later than the requested time. Luckily the funeral we were in town for didn't start until later in the afternoon or it could have caused us big problems. When coming and going, there were quite a few rowdy fellow travelers and I wondered if the cheap price or the proximity to downtown bars and baseball field were factors in drawing some shady customers. Hotel staff weren't overly friendly but not rude either. I wouldn't choose to stay here again though it could have been worse. At least the bathroom looked clean. Plus we got a view of the fireworks after the ballgame. It's in the heart of downtown where local businesses are trying to revitalize the neighborhood. There are some good restaurants in the area. I'd recommend 1201 Kitchen for something different and delicious. The bottom line is this hotel was one of very few with available rooms to fit our last minute need. Back in its heyday as a Hilton, I'm sure this was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's lots to do nearby. You can walk to the Erie Playhouse, Warner Theater, SeaWolves baseball, convention center, Jr's comedy club and a bunch of restaurants/bars/nightclubs in the area. At the bottom of State Street (10 blocks down) is Dobbins Landing and the Bicentennial Tower with great views of the lake.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carrolltown girl
Family
Carrolltown, PA
Sep 29, 2013

Just OK

I did not like the full size beds. The hotel looked like it had been very nice at one time, but it is in need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top