$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

The Avalon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
munchiebuttmunch
Couples
Rochester, NY
Jul 23, 2009

Worst Hotel Ever

Horrible ( except [...] the bartender)! We confirmed & pd for a KING size dlx rm. We arrived at the hotel a little early for check-in but they wouldn't check us in until 3:00 (on the dot)....fine. We get to the desk & are informed they have NO king bed rms. left. We showed them the paperwork from ORBITZ with the confirmation,etc.......they couldn't have cared less. THEY OVERBOOKED THE HOTEL & they hadn't charged our credit card yet even though we paid thru Orbitz & had the proof. They said we had to deal with Orbitz....they wouldn't do anything. They reduced our rate acting like they were doing something great. All they did was give us the rate of the double bed rm. that we got. (by the way, the bedspread had a stain on it)! There was a biker rally & a basketball tournament in town so we think they gave our rm. away to the people that just walked in for a rm. & we got stuck with whatever was left. They claimed that it takes 24-hrs. for the credit card to go thru to the hotel & in that 24-hr. period they had SO MANY reservations that they ran out of king bed rms. Why did we bother paying on Orbitz if it didn't make a difference on our reservation even with proof on paper that we paid & were confirmed for a king bed rm. I have never had a problem with any other hotel I've booked with Orbitz....NEVER! DO NOT BOTHER W/THIS HOTEL.....you won't be happy! I forgot...the smoke alarm kept going off in the rm. because there was no fan in the bathrm. & the steam made it go off (so did hairspray).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 21, 2009

Great Hotel

Great hotel in a good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
PGH PA
Jul 13, 2009

Erie

We walked down to Molly Brannigans for dinner, and went to a few bars afterwards. Hotel was in a great location and was super cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indiana, PA
Jul 11, 2009

Not bad

Our stay wasn't bad. The bathroom could of been a little cleaner. Was given the wrong room at first but the desk corrected the problem. Had to ask several times for more wash cloths, only gave one per day for two of us. Location is close to everything you could want to do. The in hotel resturant wasn't the best. We went down for breakfast and waited almost 10 minutes and still hadn't been asked about drinks so we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto, Canada
Jul 6, 2009

Great location.. nice service..nice room

Walked to the waterfront Enjoyed the Presque Isle Park Saw the July 4th fireworks Enjoyed numerous restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cherry Tree, Pa.
Jul 6, 2009

A great night out!

Over all very nice & quaint. Close 'walking distance" to many activities and night life. Adjoining restaurant "Benjamins" Food is good and reasonable. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of good restaurants within walking distance. The "Plymouth" great atmosphere and food.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phoenix az
Jun 10, 2009

Great Stay for our short trip

this hotel was located in the center of everything loved the weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Brad
Family
palatine il
May 13, 2009

Avalon

Definitely the most friendly staff I have encountered. They obliged to all our requests. A very nice hotel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Apr 7, 2008

Showing its age

The hotel room was large and had a great view, but the ceiling was cracked and it looked as though it had not been maintained in more than a decade. Very friendly staff, and convenient restaurant and bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several family wineries in North East (yes, that is the name of the city) PA, about 13 miles away. Visiting them is a nice relaxing day trip.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 17, 2007

Very Nice

Nice place to stay, I would book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Civic Center and Minor League ballpark (Erie SeaWolves)

Back to menu Return to top