$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Avalon Hotel

2 stars
16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
60 reviews
Fantastic

Our stay couldn't have been better! See full review

  • Erie Fan
  • Oct 18, 2009
Avalon

Definitely the most friendly staff I have encountered. They obliged to all our requests. A very... See full review

  • D Brad
  • May 13, 2009
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center is without exception a luxurious convention quality hotel. Each guestroom was created with your comfort in mind - designed in rich traditional furnishings with the convenience of ample drawer and closet space and Room Service always at your beck and call. 192 guest rooms include 12 full size Studio Suites 30 King Bed Room and 150 Double-Bedded Rooms all tastefully decorated in shades of teal and raspberry. Each room is spacious and comfortably furnished in elegant mahogany of traditional and early American vintage.

Hotel Map

42.1253 -80.083
Nearby airports
(ERI), 6.00, KM; (BUF), 89.00, KM; (CLE), 104.00, KM; (PIT), 113.00, KM;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Avalon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds NS Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds NS
Superior Suite
Superior Suite Superior Suite
Superior Double
Superior Double Superior Double
Deluxe King Suite non smoking
Deluxe King Suite non smoking Deluxe King Suite non smoking
Deluxe room with king bed non sm
Deluxe room with king bed non smoking Deluxe room with king bed non smoking
Superior King
Superior King Superior King

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Casino
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Theater desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for The Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bradford, PA
Oct 26, 2009

Weekend in Erie

The staff at the hotel were very friendly. Unfortunately the rooms need some kind of sound proofing. It was homecoming weekend at one of the local universities so there were plenty of noisy and intoxicated people staying here. You heard every person that passed by your room even talking in a normal tone of voice which meant that we didn't get much sleep. The carpeting in the rooms have seen better days. Was close to the Warner Theater so that we could walk. Parking was included but there wasn't nearly enough spaces. The faucet in the bathroom came out in a trickle and it was such a cheap squeaky plastic faucet. The overall room was was spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Football family !!!
New York!!!!
Oct 26, 2009

One Night Stand!!!!

Went to visit my son at one of the College's.Homecoming weekend!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Hotel was ok for the evening.....Needs some Maintnance & Smoke smell throughout....

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IN
Oct 25, 2009

I didn't get a receipt

I asked a receipt, but I didn't get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IN
Oct 25, 2009

I didn't get a receipt

I asked a receipt, but I didn't get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
9-5 Pool girl
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 20, 2009

Perfect location for reception @ Gannon

It was perfect location for a wedding reception at Gannon University. Very friendly staff and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
9-5 Pool girl
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 20, 2009

Perfect location for reception @ Gannon

It was perfect location for a wedding reception at Gannon University. Very friendly staff and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Youngwood, Pa.
Oct 20, 2009

Good value in a central location

Large room featuring a king bed, sofa, chair, desk and also, a game table with 4 chairs. Room was twice the size of a conventional room. A little dated, but an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One can walk north 10 blocks and be at Lake Erie, convention center, 2 blocks to civic arena and baseball park.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Youngwood, Pa.
Oct 20, 2009

Good value in a central location

Large room featuring a king bed, sofa, chair, desk and also, a game table with 4 chairs. Room was twice the size of a conventional room. A little dated, but an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One can walk north 10 blocks and be at Lake Erie, convention center, 2 blocks to civic arena and baseball park.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Unhappy Couple
Grove City, PA
Oct 19, 2009

Worst place we've ever stayed!!!

This was the worst hotel we have ever been to. The staff was not friendly at all. We had no heat in our room and they told us a maintenance would come in the morning to check on it and no one ever showed up. The room had no menu for room service and when we called for one, it took them an hour to get it to us. This hotel is nothing like what the website shows. It was not clean. We were not happy with anything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go Steelers!!!!
Brazil
Oct 19, 2009

Nice Hotel

Nice and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top