$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

The Avalon Hotel

2 stars
16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
33 reviews
Fantastic

Our stay couldn't have been better! See full review

  • Erie Fan
  • Oct 18, 2009
Avalon

Definitely the most friendly staff I have encountered. They obliged to all our requests. A very... See full review

  • D Brad
  • May 13, 2009
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center is without exception a luxurious convention quality hotel. Each guestroom was created with your comfort in mind designed in rich traditional furnishings with the convenience of ample drawer and closet space and Room Service always at your beck and call. 192 guest rooms include 12 full size Studio Suites 30 King Bed Room and 150 Double Bedded Rooms all tastefully decorated in shades of teal and raspberry. Each room is spacious and comfortably furnished in elegant mahogany of traditional and early American vintage.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Avalon Hotel Rooms

Standard 2 Double Beds non renov
Standard 2 Double Beds non renovated AC TV iron iron board electric kettle
Superior Suite
Superior Suite Superior Suite
Superior Double
Superior Double Superior Double
Standard King Suite non smoking
Standard King Suite non smoking non renovated sitting area sleeper sofa
Standard King room non renovated
Standard King room non renovated AC TV iron iron board electric kettle
Superior King
Superior King Superior King

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Casino
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Theater desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for The Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Aug 23, 2009

Good location

Good location, helpful staffs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
born Erie local, lives elsewhere
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 3, 2009

A dirty shame

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is right in downtown Erie, close to good restaurants, night life, and tourist destinations. It is a dirty shame that the owners of this facility haven't invested money into a decent upgrade and paid a bit more attention to basic cleanliness. The walls, curtains, and carpet are badly stained, the fixtures in the bathrooms are dingy and worn, and the place has a musty smell. The lobby looks nice! Why can't the rest of the hotel be brought up to the level of the lobby? To leave a prime facility deteriorate as badly as this is a crime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Maritime Museum down by Dobbins' Landing. It is a great place to take school-aged children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
munchiebuttmunch
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 23, 2009

Worst Hotel Ever

Horrible ( except [...] the bartender)! We confirmed & pd for a KING size dlx rm. We arrived at the hotel a little early for check-in but they wouldn't check us in until 3:00 (on the dot)....fine. We get to the desk & are informed they have NO king bed rms. left. We showed them the paperwork from ORBITZ with the confirmation,etc.......they couldn't have cared less. THEY OVERBOOKED THE HOTEL & they hadn't charged our credit card yet even though we paid thru Orbitz & had the proof. They said we had to deal with Orbitz....they wouldn't do anything. They reduced our rate acting like they were doing something great. All they did was give us the rate of the double bed rm. that we got. (by the way, the bedspread had a stain on it)! There was a biker rally & a basketball tournament in town so we think they gave our rm. away to the people that just walked in for a rm. & we got stuck with whatever was left. They claimed that it takes 24-hrs. for the credit card to go thru to the hotel & in that 24-hr. period they had SO MANY reservations that they ran out of king bed rms. Why did we bother paying on Orbitz if it didn't make a difference on our reservation even with proof on paper that we paid & were confirmed for a king bed rm. I have never had a problem with any other hotel I've booked with Orbitz....NEVER! DO NOT BOTHER W/THIS HOTEL.....you won't be happy! I forgot...the smoke alarm kept going off in the rm. because there was no fan in the bathrm. & the steam made it go off (so did hairspray).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 21, 2009

Great Hotel

Great hotel in a good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PGH PA
Jul 13, 2009

Erie

We walked down to Molly Brannigans for dinner, and went to a few bars afterwards. Hotel was in a great location and was super cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana, PA
Jul 11, 2009

Not bad

Our stay wasn't bad. The bathroom could of been a little cleaner. Was given the wrong room at first but the desk corrected the problem. Had to ask several times for more wash cloths, only gave one per day for two of us. Location is close to everything you could want to do. The in hotel resturant wasn't the best. We went down for breakfast and waited almost 10 minutes and still hadn't been asked about drinks so we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 6, 2009

Great location.. nice service..nice room

Walked to the waterfront Enjoyed the Presque Isle Park Saw the July 4th fireworks Enjoyed numerous restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Tree, Pa.
Jul 6, 2009

A great night out!

Over all very nice & quaint. Close 'walking distance" to many activities and night life. Adjoining restaurant "Benjamins" Food is good and reasonable. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of good restaurants within walking distance. The "Plymouth" great atmosphere and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phoenix az
Jun 10, 2009

Great Stay for our short trip

this hotel was located in the center of everything loved the weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Brad
Business
palatine il
May 13, 2009

Avalon

Definitely the most friendly staff I have encountered. They obliged to all our requests. A very nice hotel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top