$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Avalon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Fantastic

Our stay couldn't have been better! See full review

  • Erie Fan
  • Oct 18, 2009
Fantastic

Our stay couldn't have been better! See full review

  • Erie Fan
  • Oct 18, 2009
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center is without exception a luxurious convention quality hotel. Each guestroom was created with your comfort in mind designed in rich traditional furnishings with the convenience of ample drawer and closet space and Room Service always at your beck and call. 192 guest rooms include 12 full size Studio Suites 30 King Bed Room and 150 Double Bedded Rooms all tastefully decorated in shades of teal and raspberry. Each room is spacious and comfortably furnished in elegant mahogany of traditional and early American vintage.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

The Avalon Hotel Rooms

Superior King OTA
Superior King OTA Superior King OTA Superior King
Superior Double OTA
Superior Double OTA Superior Double OTA Superior Double
Standard King room non renovated
Standard King room non renovated Standard King room non renovated OTA AC TV iron iron board
Standard 2 Double Beds non renov
Standard 2 Double Beds non renov Standard 2 Double Beds non renovated OTA AC TV iron iron b
Standard King Suite non renovate
Standard King Suite non renovate Standard King Suite non smoking OTA non renovated sitting are
Superior Suite OTA
Superior Suite OTA Superior Suite OTA Superior Suite

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Casino
Boating
Fishing
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking
Room
Telephone

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carrolltown girl
Business
Carrolltown, PA
Sep 29, 2013

Just OK

I did not like the full size beds. The hotel looked like it had been very nice at one time, but it is in need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelmuch22
Business
MA
Feb 25, 2013

Good location

Good location , free parking - rooms are older decor but comfortable bed. No cable tv, decent place for a modest budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to sports events, taverns, food

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Siony
Business
New Jersey
Oct 26, 2011

Horrible experience

First when we arrive there was no one to help with our laugage we have to carryn everything w/o help from any of the staff. The picture from the web site was decieving the room is nothing like the picture. the room needs painting, the matress was torn they use safety pin to hold it together. the linen was not iron,it looks like some one just take the linen out of the dryer and throw it on the bed, the bed was very uncomfortable. If I was not tired from ttraveling, and the place was not close to the hospital conference I would have left the same day. the . Over price for its condition. They advertice for restaurant that non existent. My company recommended for us not to stay at this hotel but we did not recieve the list of hotel they recommended on time. I will never ever recommend this hotel to any body.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 28, 2011

good location for down town

rooms are in need of up dating,a/c didn't work to good restrunt was closed but staff very frendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to clubs and bars

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marilyn_mclane[@]
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Aug 16, 2010

Nice and clean.staff very wiling to help

Not really what I expected, but it worked. Need help with the parking lot area. not user friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good as this was downtown.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranberry, PA
Aug 9, 2010

Only Stay Here For Location

Well from reading several awful reviews, we still decided to stay here because of location. This was an overnight girls getaway. Lake during day, Bars in walking distance at night. This hotel is in need of a MAJOR renovation. I think the maid only changed the sheets before we checked in. Candy wrapper on chair, stains all throughout the carpet, dirty shower, dust everywhere, greasy fingerprints on the bedboard, thin walls, mouldy window, No where to park as lot was full. They should not charge over $100 for a room. The only nice thing was the lobby area. Luckily we didnt spend that much time in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Geffer
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 2, 2010

Old and Run down

This hotel was pretty bad. It made me wish we had booked a cheaper room at the Red Roof Inn or Motel 6. The hotel is very old and it shows in the decor and facilities. My boyfriend said the room smelled musty (the only time I'm thankful to have a cold and no sense of smell) so we turned on the A/C in hopes it would help. You only get the option of on/off with the A/C despite a knob that might fool you into thinking you have control over the actual temperature. The towels were scratchy and cheap, though thankfully clean. There wasn't even a pen or notepad in the room. The telephone had instructions for a wake-up call but, when set, it went off an hour later than the requested time. Luckily the funeral we were in town for didn't start until later in the afternoon or it could have caused us big problems. When coming and going, there were quite a few rowdy fellow travelers and I wondered if the cheap price or the proximity to downtown bars and baseball field were factors in drawing some shady customers. Hotel staff weren't overly friendly but not rude either. I wouldn't choose to stay here again though it could have been worse. At least the bathroom looked clean. Plus we got a view of the fireworks after the ballgame. It's in the heart of downtown where local businesses are trying to revitalize the neighborhood. There are some good restaurants in the area. I'd recommend 1201 Kitchen for something different and delicious. The bottom line is this hotel was one of very few with available rooms to fit our last minute need. Back in its heyday as a Hilton, I'm sure this was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's lots to do nearby. You can walk to the Erie Playhouse, Warner Theater, SeaWolves baseball, convention center, Jr's comedy club and a bunch of restaurants/bars/nightclubs in the area. At the bottom of State Street (10 blocks down) is Dobbins Landing and the Bicentennial Tower with great views of the lake.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Jun 28, 2010

A Nice Place to Visit, Don't Stay There

Friendly and helpful front desk staff, nice lobby and great outside garden area for a cup of coffee and to read the paper. Breakfast buffet at Benjamin's was good and reasonably priced. Under ground parking adequate but not great. Carpeting in hallways was old and dirty. Rooms were not cleaned. Mattresses and carpeting were old and dirty. View from room was nice. Location was convenient to Bayfront area attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Bayfront area is beautiful and a nice place to walk around. Beautiful sunsets, too.

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skiv
Business
Albany, NY
May 23, 2010

Very opulent and not cheap

When I ariived at the hotel, I needed to have a printed out [...] confirmation message with me. I would not be able to receive the room without it [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 10, 2009

Avalon in Erie

Location was perfect since our trip was for a show at the Warner Theater, only about 2 blocks away. VERY noisy at night since we were on the State St side of the hotel. The hotel should consider a convenience store since all stores in downtown Erie clost at 5 on Sat, closed on Sun, hard to get coffee, drinks, snacks, etc. Food in the restaraunt was good and both food & alcohol were reasonably priced. Connecting parking garage very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

EXCELLENT boutique right in the lobby - "Impromptu", NICE unique gifts!

Back to menu Return to top