El Patio Motel

2 stars
2950 W. 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.6
out of 5
11 reviews
Labor Day Weekend Vacation

Had a wonderful time in Erie and the El Patio was a central place to do everything from. It has a... See full review

  • Linda Shank
  • Sep 4, 2013
Dirty

I was definetly disappointed here. When I pulled down our bed to go to sleep my pillow had yellows... See full review

  • JDmommy
  • Aug 19, 2013
At the El Patio, you're just minutes from 7 miles of beaches at Presque Isle State Park. In addition to great swimming and sunbathing, here you'll find hiking, biking and rollerblading trails, canoe and boat rentals, sight-seeing boat tours, shore and charter fishing and much more. Just two blocks from the El Patio is Waldameer Park and Waterworld, with plenty of rides, slides, games and shows. Of course there are also go-carts, bumper cars, miniature golf and a driving range near by and for sports fans, it's a short drive downtown for pro sports with the Erie SeaWolves AA baseball and Erie Otters OHL hockey. The El Patio is also a sportsmen's paradise, just minutes from some of the best hunting and fishing areas in the region. During the famous steelhead runs at nearby Walnut and Elk Creeks, offer special off-season rates autumn and early winter, so you can fish longer and more often. The motel amenities include outdoor swimming pool, sand volleyball, basketball, shuffleboard and horseshoes, amazing fishing nearby, Choo Choo's Pub, Free cable TV and HBO and Special off season rates for fishermen.

Hotel Map

42.1038 -80.1502
Area served
Erie.
Nearby airports
Erie International Airport.
Area description
It is located at the entrance to Presque Isle State Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Patio Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

El Patio Motel Rooms

Two Doubles
two Double Beds with alarm clock, voicemail and cable TV.
king bed
king bed with alarm clock, voicemail and cable TV.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Choo Choo's Pub
Located right inside the El Patio Motel, Choo Choo's Pub offers specials every day. Folks come all summer to chug cold drafts over games of beach volleyball, Marco Polo, and basketball in the massive courtyard/playpen. Choo Choo's gets it's name from the 175 foot-long train track that runs along the ceiling, a tribute to the locomotive plant that's Erie's largest employer. Come on down and blow off some steam at Choo Choo's Pub.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for El Patio Motel

Overall score

1.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
1.7
Room cleanliness:
1.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
1.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
2

27% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jul 20, 2011

el patio

Erie has so many things to do . went to beach and down town light house. Rum Runners is a must see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

rum runners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linda Shank
Jeannette pa
Sep 4, 2013

Labor Day Weekend Vacation

Had a wonderful time in Erie and the El Patio was a central place to do everything from. It has a great bar and restaurant right there on the premises in case you didn't feel like a big night on the town. The pool was huge and right there in case you wanted a day in instead of going to the beach. The microwave and fridge in your were convieient also. For my husband and myself it was a fantastic holiday weekend!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Waldameer park and presque isle state park right there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JDmommy
Natrona Heights, PA
Aug 19, 2013

Dirty

I was definetly disappointed here. When I pulled down our bed to go to sleep my pillow had yellows stains all over it.. cigarette holes in the blanket and misc. hair!!! This hotel also needs a definite upgrade.. or just some better maintenance. The shower had mold and the windows had brown stuff all over them.. disappointed. Thank goodness it was only for one night..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Valerios - yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
steph79
MA
Jan 3, 2012

Bed bugs!

Do NOT stay here! I paid $59.99 to stay for one night in this total dump, and woke up the next morning with about 20 bug bites on my upper torso. I called the hotel to let them know about the bites, and the person who answered the phone said, "ok." No apology, no acknowledgment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jul 20, 2011

el patio

Erie has so many things to do . went to beach and down town light house. Rum Runners is a must see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

rum runners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
HSV, AL
Sep 27, 2010

this place is gross

This place is nasty! Rooms are not clean, and our bathroom looked like they filmed the Saw movies in them. I do NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Erie has a great nightlife, check out state st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corning NY
Sep 7, 2010

As bad as it gets.

When we made reservation we asked for non smoking.We were put in a smoking room. Told management and he was nice and gave us a non smoking room but it was not clean at all. Had to strip sheets and spray with lysol and use sleeping bags. Wife didn't sleep at all wanted to leave as soon as we check in. Even our 7 year old said it was a dump. Metal stairs were rotted and cig butts and beer cans everywhere.There were a bunch off drunks drinkg and eating in pool area. This place needs to be knocked down and rebuilt. Not a single nice thing to say about this place other then good location to Waldameer. You get what you pay for with this one and that is not much. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Design Shauna
Butler Pennsylvania
Jul 20, 2010

Has gone downhill

We stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and had a nice experience. This stay left a lot to be desired. The hotel was not clean, there was a giant water puddle outside of our room that I heard a few people fall in, the stairs were covered with cigarette butts and trash. Our TV was from really old and barely worked. There were tons of bikers that stay the same weekend as us and the noise, profanity, and drinking was out of control. We will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at a lovely restaurant "The Raj Mahal" Great Indian food !!! The service was great, and I really liked how for each item they asked how spicy we wanted it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danielle & Brandon Wedding Guests
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 9, 2009

Good Location, Decent Price

Nice Pool, Good Location, Average Services, Decent Price, Bar open Late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MEADVILLE, PA
Jul 31, 2009

HORRIBLE VISIT

THEY OR YOU AT ORBIT SAID IT WAS HANDICAP ACCES, AND THE ROOM NO WHERE WAS. I HAD A HARD TIME GETTING MY ELECTRIC W/C IN THE ROOM, AND ONCE MY DAUGHTER GOT IT IN THE ROOM, I WAS A PRISONER IN THE ROOM, CAUSE I COULD NOT GET MY CHAIR OUT.NO RAILS IN THE SHOWER. NO RAILS BY THE TOILET.GOING TO FILE A THING WITH THE DISAILITY FOR AMERICANS. RUINED THE TIME I WANTED WITH MY DAUGHTER AND GRANDSON WHO IS 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

IF I COULD HAVE GOT MY CHAIR OUT THE ROOM LIKE I WANTED, I COULD HAVE JOINED MY DAUGHTER AND GRANDSON AT THE AMUSEMENT PARK.I DON'T FEEL LIKE I SHOULD HAVE TO PAY FULL PRICE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 25, 2009

What you pay for..

It was what I expected for $54 a night. The location to Presque Isle and Waldameer was unbeatable, and it was close to groceries and restaurants! It's a pretty standard 'fisherman' hotel- Old rooms, odd decor. There are a TON of hotels in the area though of the same type offering cheaper rooms..you just may not find them online. I wouldn't have paid the full originally advertised price of $85 though! It did have a nice outdoor pool- Lots of families staying there- No bath towels of any kind, but we stayed 1 night so not a problem- I did take the Clorox wipes from the car and go over handles, toilets, knobs and sinks (places often left untouched)- the room, even non smoking smelled of smoke residue, and it probably explains why our smoke detector was dismantled! Oh, and the ice machine costs to use it- bring quarters!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search