$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

3 stars
2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
26 reviews
Total comfort for business trip

I couldn't ask for anything more! The shuttle from the airport was particularly helpful. See full review

  • Bethanie
  • Mar 7, 2014
A clean, decent stay

The Good: Front-desk staff, housekeeping: all thumbs-up. The in-house restaurant was a giant... See full review

  • B CaldShap
  • Jul 28, 2014
Presque Isle State park- swimming, biking, boating, and fishing, Waldameer Park and Water World, Millcreek Mall Complex, Erie Art Museum, Bicentennial Tower, Tom Ridge Environmental Center, Pepsi Amphitheater/Liberty Park, Erie Zoo, Jerry Uht Baseball Park, Louis J. Tullio Arena, Millcreek Golf Course, Erie Airport, Presque Isle Downs and Casino, Bayfront Convention Center, Centrally located to Corporate Businesses, Local Colleges, Hospitals, Interstates 79 and 90, and the Bayfront Connector. Breakfast buffet is 5.00 USD plus tax.

Hotel Map

42.105 -80.1468
Nearby airports
Erie Int'l. Arpt., (ERI), 2.00, MI, W; Pittsburgh Int'l Airport, (PIT), 140.00, MI, S; Cleveland Hopkins Int'l Arpt, (CLE), 90.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, I-79N, Exit 183B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Lake Erie also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B CaldShap
Pittsburgh
Jul 28, 2014

A clean, decent stay

The Good: Front-desk staff, housekeeping: all thumbs-up. The in-house restaurant was a giant surprise. Food, service, and atmosphere were lovely. And was even child-friendly. The pool is another wonderful surprise. Nicely kept up, decorated spacious glassed-in space with warm saltwater? pool and nice hot tub. The So-So: Room was moderately sized. Some wear to carpets, curtains. But no noticeable stains or dirt. For the purpose of a family stay for a decent price, this hotel is wonderful. We will definitely return. The pool, close location to the State Park, restaurant, (and did I mention the cool gem store directly across the street? Kids will LOVE it.)...these all MORE than compensate for a moderate room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexican restaurant 1 street over! Very good. Fun fish tank.

Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michigan College Parents
Lake Orion, MI
Jul 18, 2014

Edinboro college visit

Just an overnight before heading to Edinboro for our son's college registration. Nice staff but hotel was old and really big. We had to park around back where lots of people were standing at the doors, smoking (at 11pm), which was kind of creepy. The lighting wasn't that great back there. If we had stayed, planning to do things in Erie, we may have had a better experience. The staff was very nice and things were clean but in need of updating. Location was about 15 miles away from Edinboro... highway was close, so not that bad of a trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rock Cocc
Business
Scranton, PA
Jun 30, 2014

Solid Room for the price

Everything was just as expected. The room was clean, staff was extremely helpful and the location was just where I needed to be. Overall a great experience and I will return on my next trip to Erie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UrielReb
Business
Lexington, KY
Mar 29, 2014

Excellent help

The only reason that it was only 4-star was that there was no baggage trolly up front and no offer to carry my bags to or from my room. I did not need any help, but a 5-star would have had that help proffered. I used the workout gym, and it was clean and well equipped. An indoor pool was available. The staff was very accommodating, friendly, and available for any of my needs. I had an excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jude from PA
Warren, PA
Mar 18, 2014

Convenient, but shabby.

Desk person, helpful. Hotel very close to airport and that is the only reason we stayed there. The shuttle to the airport was other main consideration. The place is old, drab, and needs updating. The "shuttle", was actually someone's SUV. It was difficult to enter, and not very professional, but it did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bethanie
Business
NC
Mar 7, 2014

Total comfort for business trip

I couldn't ask for anything more! The shuttle from the airport was particularly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristmasVisitor
not Erie, USA
Dec 31, 2013

good place to crash before flying out

I've made an "annual" tradition of visiting family in the Erie-area at Christmas time. Because I always get the early morning flight out of town and because I hate snow, I make it a point to check-in here the evening before I leave. Room is clean enough - the place could use a remodel, but it's not bad. My only complaint: why does the indoor pool have to close at 10 pm? After settling in and having dinner, I don't make (3 years in a row) in time to enjoy the pool. There are no lifeguards, so what is the purpose of closing? Overall, a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ganton
Melbourne, FL
Sep 7, 2013

Annual visit

For approx. the last 25 yrs. I have stayed at El Patio/Clarion. I really enjoy the location and the food, however, the hrs. for the lounge and rest. are very limited the food is outstanding. The rooms are ready for some refreshing and the lighting is very poor especially in the bathroom. I would also suggest that the wall mirror on the outside of the bath be placed on the outside of the bathroom door so that it enables you to see the back of your body while dressing and gives you better light for makeup appliance. They are in the process of redoing the exterior, but I can't wait until they get inside. However, I will return as usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most all conveniences are closely nearby.

Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Brittish
London, England, UK
Jun 25, 2012

In laws in from London

Everything was great except it is not Handicap Accessible. It was difficult for my inlaws to go through the fire doors. They were not automatic. Would not stay here again for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Lake Erie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smartydeb
Business
Parkesburg, PA
Apr 23, 2012

Clarion Erie

The check in staff was very friendly and helpful. This is obviously an older location, could use some upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search