$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
93 reviews
great location

excellent staff. friendly. Got up in the morning and walked everywhere. Got to know the city and... See full review

  • moemichngmom
  • Jan 6, 2014
Quality Downtown Hotel

Kimpton hotels expect to be held to a high standard and this hotel meets such a standard without... See full review

  • Yosser
  • Aug 12, 2014
Luxury and elegance at recently renovated Portland hotel
The Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel, brings luxury to downtown Portland. The AAA four-diamond hotel is opulently made up, with each of the 117 rooms and suites boasting large flat-screen TVs, ergonomic work chairs and more. The rooms are also decorated uniquely, as each room is dedicated to a local winery or vineyard. The hotel also offers an excellent restaurant and nightly wine receptions.
Highlights
  • Nightly wine reception
  • In-room spa services, such as massages and invigorating body treatments
  • Pet-friendly rooms
  • Large, luxurious suites
  • Complimentary fitness room with treadmills and free weights
Rooms
The rooms at the Hotel Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel, run the gamut from the more standard options up to large, luxurious suites. The traditional rooms feature custom furnishings, pillow-top queen-sized beds, large flat-screen TVs and more. The three garden spa guest rooms feature outdoor balconies with hot tubs, while the bi-level luxury suite offers 1,000 square feet of space and a two-person Fuji-style tub.
Features
The award-winning Hotel Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel, offers several wine-centric amenities, including a nightly wine reception and weekly wine-tasting classes. The more standard comforts include a 24/7 fitness center with Precor machines, treadmills, free weights and yoga mats. After a tough workout, guests can get in-room spa services, including massages and invigorating body treatments.
Dining
The Hotel Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel, offer two dining options for guests. The first is Pazzoria Bakery and Cafe, which offers authentic pastries, espresso drinks, pasta and more. Then there is Pazzo Ristorante, which melds old-world Italian with Pacific Northwest fare. The restaurant features an extensive wine list and dishes like grilled pork tenderloin with a truffle conserve.
Transportation
  • Short walk to MAX light rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12.4 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.6 mi/2.6 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.2 mi/3.5 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Offers 4,800 square feet of meeting space with room for up to 150 people
  • Multimedia and audiovisual support
  • Two computers with print, fax and copying services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

45.5208 -122.6785
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport, (PDX), 14.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed
Queen Room 250 sq ft city view flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Spa Premier Room 1 King Bed
King Room 350 sq ft sofa sleeper jetted tub no exterior window skylights coffee WiFi
Garden Spa Room 1 Queen Bed
Garden Spa Room 250 sq ft queen bed outdoor balcony hot tub mini bar WiFi
Townhouse Suite with 1 King
Townhouse Suite 1000 sq ft split level jet tub living room flat panel TV mini bar half bath
Luxury Suite with 1 King Bed
Luxury Suite 1000 sq ft split level jetted tub living room flat panel TV mini bar half bath
Meeting Room King
Meeting Room King
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Room 250 sq ft flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Accessible King Room 1 King Bed
Accessible King Room 250 sq ft flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Queen Queen with 2 QN Beds
Queen Queen Room 250 sq ft city view flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Accessible 2 Queen Room
Accessible 2 Queen Room 250 sq ft city view flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Starlight Room with 1 QN Bed
Starlight Room 200 sq ft queen bed solarium windows flat panel TV mini bar coffee WiFi
Executive King Room 1 King
Executive King Room 400 sq ft sofa sleeper flat panel TV mini bar coffee maker WiFi
King Premier Room 1 King Bed
King Premier Room 450 sq ft top floors flat panel TV mini bar WiFi
King Spa Suite 1 King Bed
King Spa Suite 750 sq ft jetted tub living room table with chairs flat panel TV mini bar

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2 mi
  • Washington Park: 2 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.2 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.6 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Dining

Pazzo Ristorante
Authentically Italian yet distinctly local Pazzo Ristorantes menu highlights local seasonal ingredients traditional Northern Italian preparations and Chef John Eisenharts superb talent.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 93
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yosser
Business
Bend, OR
Aug 12, 2014

Quality Downtown Hotel

Kimpton hotels expect to be held to a high standard and this hotel meets such a standard without being in any particular respect outstanding as compared with other luxury hotels in Downtown Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Furry Grandpa
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jul 8, 2014

Very friendly, responsive and professional staff

Fantastic location in the heart of Portland. Ever staff person we encountered was friendly and responsive. We got a great bar/restaurant recommendation from the valet as we checked in. So we went there for dinner(right next door). We didn't like our assigned room so asked to move (Only a skylight with no windows looking out!). This was easily accomplished with a smile. I will strongly recommend this hotel to others. An added bonus was that we got 50% off the parking fee for driving a hybrid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Imperial restaurant and bar is right next door with great cocktails and very good food for both dinner and breakfast. Also, it's only about a 10 minute walk to the river.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank C 75
Business
Glen Ellen, CA
Jun 16, 2014

Weekend getaway

First time in Portland and found the staff top notch. Very friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Andina Restaurant was outstanding in a fun lively atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcwoin
Business
Oregon
Jun 9, 2014

Great hotel

Great hotel, very clean room, friendly staff and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCTess
Business
Osoyoos, BC, Canada
May 31, 2014

Great Value, Great Location.

The best part was seeing Tyson, the doorman's, smiling face when we pulled up after a long day of driving. Very welcoming, like coming home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary Liz
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 28, 2014

Beautiful! Great, friendly service!

What a wonderful hotel! The staff was friendly, courteous and so helpful! The location was perfect, right in the heart of downtown and we were within walking distance of so many things! We are not alcohol or coffee drinkers but would have loved to have been offered an alternative--juice or soda for example. I also loved the valet service! Our room was quiet and spacious! We stayed in the 1000 Sq Ft Townhouse. There are a few things that I wish were better about the room itself--the carpet needed a good vacuuming, especially around the edges and stairs. The toilet upstairs often required some jiggling to get it to stop running. One side of the king bed was quite saggy and my husband felt like he was leaning the whole night-I slept wonderful on my side though! The room showed a bit of its age from wear around the bottom of the bathroom vanity and in the bathtub around the jets (also needs to be re-grouted). I feel like I'm being very picky with these things, but they are simply things I would expect not to have in a $300+ a night room in a 4 star hotel, but really we had a lovely stay and were overall happy with it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stinaraki
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Warm staff, comfortable stay

We were so impressed by the staff - from the front desk, to the valet, to the restaurant, to the room service guy we chatted with in the elevator. Each person was friendly, professional, attentive, and seemed to take great pride in the hotel and the city. The hotel itself is small, but adorable. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vinelovers
Business
lake stevens washington
Jan 2, 2014

date nights

our first visit to Portland which we loved. hotel would not go to again. check in was extremely delayed and the housecleaning service non existent from what we could see. staff nice and they did credit us for the inconvenience. anxious to try another 4 star in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portland city grill may have not been the best steak I have had but the view and mark the piano player was worth it all. spectacular ask for a window seat or better yet sit by the window in the bar. you wont be disappointed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pixie girl
Business
eugene or
Dec 15, 2013

downtown hotel

We have stayed in other hotels in this same chain in the past. Although this hotel was pleasant and the room generally comfortable, we were disappointed in the noise and the lack of some amenities as are offered at other similar hotels - no paper delivered to the room or coffee/tea in the rooms, etc. The staff were friendly but did not go beyond their ability to accommodate us even though we arrived earlier than the check in time. Although they said they would put us on a priority list, we did not get access to our room until after the actual check in time. The nightly wine hour offered to hotel guests was pleasant and appreciated. The location of the hotel is good as it is in the center of downtown and accessible to many restaurants and sights in the area. Parking is an additional fee and by valet only so costs can add up with tips and parking fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant and bar on the same premises provide a good happy hour with a nice selection of food and beverages

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Porters6
Business
Seattle. WA
Dec 7, 2013

Great except for housekeeping

Great location, great staff, great facility. Poor housekeeping dept/management. Our room was not ready 1 1/2 hours after check in time. Upgraded to a better room-good deal. Room not serviced one day. Had to call. House keeping needs work. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Powell's books. Many good brew pubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top