$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
96 reviews
Fun Valentines Day trip

My girlfriend and I went down to Portland for the weekend for Valentines Day. What made it 5 star... See full review

  • Nicholas N.
  • Feb 15, 2015
A prefect hotel

I really enjoy the stay:) We just stay for a night. And the hotel is so sweet. The man at the desk... See full review

  • dongchen j.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Luxury and elegance at recently renovated Portland hotel
The Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel, brings luxury to downtown Portland. The AAA four-diamond hotel is opulently made up, with each of the 117 rooms and suites boasting large flat-screen TVs, ergonomic work chairs and more. The rooms are also decorated uniquely, as each room is dedicated to a local winery or vineyard. The hotel also offers an excellent restaurant and nightly wine receptions.
Highlights
  • Nightly wine reception
  • In-room spa services, such as massages and invigorating body treatments
  • Pet-friendly rooms
  • Large, luxurious suites
  • Complimentary fitness room with treadmills and free weights
Rooms
The rooms at the Hotel Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel, run the gamut from the more standard options up to large, luxurious suites. The traditional rooms feature custom furnishings, pillow-top queen-sized beds, large flat-screen TVs and more. The three garden spa guest rooms feature outdoor balconies with hot tubs, while the bi-level luxury suite offers 1,000 square feet of space and a two-person Fuji-style tub.
Features
The award-winning Hotel Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel, offers several wine-centric amenities, including a nightly wine reception and weekly wine-tasting classes. The more standard comforts include a 24/7 fitness center with Precor machines, treadmills, free weights and yoga mats. After a tough workout, guests can get in-room spa services, including massages and invigorating body treatments.
Dining
The Hotel Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel, offer two dining options for guests. The first is Pazzoria Bakery and Cafe, which offers authentic pastries, espresso drinks, pasta and more. Then there is Pazzo Ristorante, which melds old-world Italian with Pacific Northwest fare. The restaurant features an extensive wine list and dishes like grilled pork tenderloin with a truffle conserve.
Transportation
  • Short walk to MAX light rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12.4 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.6 mi/2.6 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.2 mi/3.5 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Offers 4,800 square feet of meeting space with room for up to 150 people
  • Multimedia and audiovisual support
  • Two computers with print, fax and copying services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed
Queen Room 250 sq ft city view flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Room 250 sq ft flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Accessible King Room 1 King Bed
Accessible King Room 250 sq ft flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Queen Queen with 2 QN Beds
Queen Queen Room 250 sq ft city view flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Accessible 2 Queen Room
Accessible 2 Queen Room 250 sq ft city view flat panel TV mini bar high speed WiFi
Executive King Room 1 King
Executive King Room 400 sq ft sofa sleeper flat panel TV mini bar coffee maker WiFi
Garden Spa Room 1 Queen Bed
Garden Spa Room 250 sq ft queen bed outdoor balcony hot tub mini bar WiFi
Luxury Suite with 1 King Bed
Luxury Suite 1000 sq ft split level jetted tub living room flat panel TV mini bar half bath

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2 mi
  • Washington Park: 2 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.2 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.6 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Dining

Pazzo Ristorante
Authentically Italian yet distinctly local Pazzo Ristorantes menu highlights local seasonal ingredients traditional Northern Italian preparations and Chef John Eisenharts superb talent.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SVS134
Business
Seattle, WA
May 30, 2014

decent hotel

A good hotel that is centrally located in Portland. My room did not have a window, which was a little disappointing, but otherwise I had a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary Liz
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 28, 2014

Beautiful! Great, friendly service!

What a wonderful hotel! The staff was friendly, courteous and so helpful! The location was perfect, right in the heart of downtown and we were within walking distance of so many things! We are not alcohol or coffee drinkers but would have loved to have been offered an alternative--juice or soda for example. I also loved the valet service! Our room was quiet and spacious! We stayed in the 1000 Sq Ft Townhouse. There are a few things that I wish were better about the room itself--the carpet needed a good vacuuming, especially around the edges and stairs. The toilet upstairs often required some jiggling to get it to stop running. One side of the king bed was quite saggy and my husband felt like he was leaning the whole night-I slept wonderful on my side though! The room showed a bit of its age from wear around the bottom of the bathroom vanity and in the bathtub around the jets (also needs to be re-grouted). I feel like I'm being very picky with these things, but they are simply things I would expect not to have in a $300+ a night room in a 4 star hotel, but really we had a lovely stay and were overall happy with it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Sales Traveler
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 14, 2014

I'll be back!

I enjoyed my stay at the Vintage Plaza while in Portland for work and will certainly be back. The deco was a fun modern vintage, comfortable and clean. The complimentary wine reception in the evenings was a treat and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. And, the rooms were quiet. I wish there would have been coffee makers in the room since I like tea before bed, but they do have coffee by the elevators on each floor in the morning. I also wish they'd clean the rooms earlier for those staying multiple nights. I'd come back from several meetings in the afternoon and my room hadn't been serviced yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Peet's Coffee is across the corner from the Vintage Plaza and a great place to work on your laptop with a good cup of coffee, friendly service and tasty bakery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy From Capo Beach
Business
Capistrano Beach, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Wonderful stay

This is my second time at this hotel and it was lovely. The service is excellent and atmosphere delightful. There was an ice storm during my visit which caused a burst pipe, a false fire alarm, and all sorts of technical difficulties, but the staff handled it with extreme professionalism and good cheer and the guests all felt well taken care of . The true test of anyone is not how well they do when it is easy, but how well they handle unpleasant surprises and the staff at this hotel really showed their stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It is all good, but if the wait staff recommends it, it will be particularly good. The pork loin was exceptional. I also recommend the daily sorbet/gelato.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moemichngmom
Business
plymouth mi
Jan 6, 2014

great location

excellent staff. friendly. Got up in the morning and walked everywhere. Got to know the city and stores/shopping. Loved walking to the living room." Great fireplace in hotel and liked having a glass of wine every evening. Portland is so dog friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Jake's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stinaraki
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Warm staff, comfortable stay

We were so impressed by the staff - from the front desk, to the valet, to the restaurant, to the room service guy we chatted with in the elevator. Each person was friendly, professional, attentive, and seemed to take great pride in the hotel and the city. The hotel itself is small, but adorable. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vinelovers
Business
lake stevens washington
Jan 2, 2014

date nights

our first visit to Portland which we loved. hotel would not go to again. check in was extremely delayed and the housecleaning service non existent from what we could see. staff nice and they did credit us for the inconvenience. anxious to try another 4 star in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portland city grill may have not been the best steak I have had but the view and mark the piano player was worth it all. spectacular ask for a window seat or better yet sit by the window in the bar. you wont be disappointed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pixie girl
Business
eugene or
Dec 15, 2013

downtown hotel

We have stayed in other hotels in this same chain in the past. Although this hotel was pleasant and the room generally comfortable, we were disappointed in the noise and the lack of some amenities as are offered at other similar hotels - no paper delivered to the room or coffee/tea in the rooms, etc. The staff were friendly but did not go beyond their ability to accommodate us even though we arrived earlier than the check in time. Although they said they would put us on a priority list, we did not get access to our room until after the actual check in time. The nightly wine hour offered to hotel guests was pleasant and appreciated. The location of the hotel is good as it is in the center of downtown and accessible to many restaurants and sights in the area. Parking is an additional fee and by valet only so costs can add up with tips and parking fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant and bar on the same premises provide a good happy hour with a nice selection of food and beverages

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Porters6
Business
Seattle. WA
Dec 7, 2013

Great except for housekeeping

Great location, great staff, great facility. Poor housekeeping dept/management. Our room was not ready 1 1/2 hours after check in time. Upgraded to a better room-good deal. Room not serviced one day. Had to call. House keeping needs work. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Powell's books. Many good brew pubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vintage Plaza, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shameless Gawker
Business
Metro Detroit, Michigan
Nov 20, 2013

Nice hotel but.......

this is a nice hotel, in a great downtown location. However......A free cup of coffee in the morning, and a free glass of wine in the evening didn't provide much value for the price of the room. spacious room, decent bed, vaguely interesting building. Wasn't worth the price IMO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are planning to spend time in Portland itself, don't rent a car. Public transportation is VERY convienient, and parking is expensive downtown. Rent one for your day trips outside of the city proper only!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top