$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

2 stars
1506 NE 2nd Ave., Portland, OR 97232
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
75 reviews
Game Night

Friendly staff and great location. Moda Center was a easy five minute walk. Our room was located... See full review

  • Blazers Fan
  • Oct 14, 2014
The right place in the right place

The staff from the front desk to the folks cleaning our room not only did a great job but were... See full review

  • cratoia
  • Sep 25, 2014
Comfortable hotel moments from Portland Convention Center

The recently renovated 44-room Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center is moments from the massive conference hall. The pet-friendly hotel offers free Wi-Fi and features rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers, first-run movies, microwave ovens and more. The economical Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center is minutes away from the Rose Garden arena, where the always-exciting Portland Trailblazers play, and other attractions. The hotel is also blocks from a MAX light rail station and the Lloyd Center mall.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi  at Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Dogs welcome (fees apply)
  • Central location, moments from the Portland Convention Center
  • Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and first-run movies
Rooms
The comfortable, recently renovated rooms at the Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center offer an economical option for Portland visitors. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, refrigerators, coffee makers, first-run movies, microwave ovens and more. Lodging options include rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed, and four suites with a king-sized bed and separate living area with a sleeper sofa.
Transportation
  • Short walk to MAX light rail station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Quick drive to I-5 (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland International Airport (6.9 mi/11 km)
Attractions
  • Rose Garden Arena (0.3 mi/0.5 km)  
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (3.8 mi/6.1 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees

  • Hotel is completely smoke free.
  • Pet fee is $15 per night plus refundable deposit. Dogs only. Restrictions may apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center Rooms

Mini Suite
The room offers 2 Queen Beds with High Speed internet access - complimentary, Cable/satellite TV, pay movies, air conditioning, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, local calls, voice mail, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea, maker, wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, toiletries, hair dryer, makeup mirror, shower/tub combination, extra towels/bedding in room, electronic/magnetic keys, iron/ironing board, clock radio.
Mini Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed with High Speed internet access - complimentary, Cable/satellite TV, pay movies, air conditioning, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, local calls, voice mail, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea, maker, wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, toiletries, hair dryer, makeup mirror, shower/tub combination, extra towels/bedding in room, electronic/magnetic keys, iron/ironing board, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Moda Center: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.6 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.6 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.6 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.6 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.8 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.9 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.6 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 3 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 3 mi
  • Washington Park: 3.1 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 3.7 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 4 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.3 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.2 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.6 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.3 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 28.8 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mistyblu
Business
Lakewood, WA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

What an experience

On the trip to Portland I got sick and couldn't wait to arrive at the hotel. Upon arrival we were told we could not check in until 4 PM leaving us four hours to kill. We went for lunch arrived back at 2 PM and again were told not until 4 PM. We sat in the car due to not feeling well and at 3:15 we noticed others went in and were given a room. At 3:30 others went in and were given a room. At 3:50 enough was enough... we finally got a room. The excuse given was last night we were sold out. It's hard to believe everyone from the night before checked out at the same time and housekeeping didn't have a room cleaned when we arrived. Anything positive I might have had to say was dimishished by my experience upon arrival. Would I stay here or reccomend this location to a friend, never.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoquiam, WA
Apr 9, 2011

very disappointed

I made reservations for around $70 and the Shilo charged me $115. They claimed they had no control over what you charged me. They couldn't even give me a receipt. No way to run a reservation business. Jenny Fisher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xxxx1974
Business
xx
Sep 11, 2014

awful experience

They never specified that the checking time was at 4 o'clock; the dryer didn't work and I was offer to go to another room so I can dry my hair, but the worse thing happened that after a long day at a conference my key didn't work and multiple times have to go back and forth to convince the manager it wasn't working, then finally she came with a device trying to open it from the outside and we stayed maybe 45 minutes to an hour trying to open the door without any luck, until another staff from the hotel did it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joeldog
Business
Bend, OR, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Shilo

I expected more from this facility. Room was OK, sauna was hidden down a flight of stairs in the laundry room. Sorry but 'Continental breakfast ' it was not. A few boxes of national brand cereals, stale bagels and cardboard tasting muffins (tiny). I expected better from Shilo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MinPin
Business
Jacksonville, OR
Feb 1, 2012

Still the same!

Hotel maids forget to leave coffee cups, and glasses for room. Toilet paper often low. But overall, is a decent no frills place to stay and the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gmpcolo
Business
Seattle
Mar 3, 2013

Great location, recently renovated, unappealing exterior

The room was comfortable enough. It was recently updated and has some nice touches. It smelled a little like mildew when first entering but otherwise was clean. The free wireless internet worked well. The exterior isn't very attractive and the hallway carpets are showing their use and age but overall, this was a good place to stay-- loved the location and free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friends who travel
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Apr 1, 2013

Very disappointed

Check-in took much longer than it should have. We were told that the breakfast room was open until 10am but when we go there we were then informed that is closed and 9am. Even though it was their error they were unwilling to even let us get coffee, there were 15 of us. One of the comforters had a huge hole in it. The shower water was surrounded by mold. The sides and around the bottom of the toilet were unbelievable dirty. The bathroom towels were either stained or they hadn't been washed. We have stayed there in the past while in Portland but with will not be staying there again. We will also be encouraging other to stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blazerfanandmom
Business
Albany, OR
Feb 23, 2014

other than location

Other than the location this hotel was terrible. The room was small and the bathroom was even smaller. You had to step on toilet to shut bathroom door. They advertise a pool, but did not have one. They had dirty dishes in the room and the tv was old and color faded. I will never stay at a Shilo again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SoobeedoBeedo
Business
canada
May 2, 2014

friendly , efficient and accommodating staff,great location

Great location , few minutes walk to Convention Ctre MAX line, walk to Lloyds, very accessible to public transpo , lots of restaurants and food stores around.Staff very accommodating. Room amenities great..(most budget accommodations don't provide microwave oven) comfy beds. It was a hot day when I arrived but very efficient room AC took care of it, had a good sleep. One drawback is the smell of the room when entering I just had to keep the bathroom exhaust constantly turned on. Carpeting needs a more thorough cleaning , or better yet replaced maybe in the very near future ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden at the Portland Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
quite disappointed
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
Mar 30, 2010

Good location

They weren't sure they had a room - apparently overbooked. Waited 20 minutes in lobby. Very disorganized front desk staff. Finally got one. Had to straddle toilet to get door to close behind you. Carpet was badly soiled but room appeared to be clean otherwise. Since we were attending an event at the Rose Garden it worked out very well to walk so location was good for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top