$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

3 stars
View map of 9900 S.W. Canyon Rd., Portland, OR 97225

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dad of two little ones
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 10, 2014

A good value

Hotel needs updating, but for those on a budget it was a pretty good deal. The inside grounds were nice, the complimentary breakfast was pretty good, and the restaurant staff were accommodating of my two little ones. One waitress even drew smiley faces on the kid's milk cups (which they loved). There was plenty of parking even though the hotel appeared to be full. Pack-n-play crib was provided and was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pandacorn
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jun 7, 2014

Comfy Stay with Complimentary Breakfast

The room was clean, with a mini fridge and a microwave at my disposal. The bathroom was a descent size, and clean towels were aplenty. Room service arrived at a reasonable time when you would be awake. The Mark, a restaurant in the hotel, offered guests complimentary breakfast (and it wasn't a teeny weeny cereal or fruit salad but an actual large breakfast, with a buffet on Friday morning).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Complimentary breakfast for guests.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fxdemon
Business
las vegas
May 22, 2014

great place

We had an awesome stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant is great. Try the homemade bread.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
purple Teal
Business
Orgegon
May 21, 2014

Amazed

I am amazed at how kind the staff are . It was hard to believe that it didn't cost more. The lobby did smell of cigar smoke but everything else was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Duncan's Mom
Business
Beaverton, OR
May 19, 2014

Staff needs a lesson in customer service

The woman at the front desk is socially inept. I needed help making a reservation, but she said she was with another guest so she put me on hold, fair enough. Although, I wasn't actually on hold and could hear the conversation she was having with the other guest. Not professional and saccharinely sweet. After about 10 minutes, she hung up on me, maybe it was an accident, fair enough. I called back and she transferred me to someone else all with an attitude. The actual hotel wreaks like an old wet rag. It's a stench that hits you in the face as soon as you walk in the front door. No elevators, so if you have trouble with stairs, you're out of luck. My aunt has a bad heart (had a stroke a couple years back) so we asked for a room on the first floor instead of the second. The front desk clerk said their wasn't anything available because they were all booked, fair enough. But did she offer to check if something would become available the next 4 nights? NO. She said that we could call back to check! Where is the customer service?? I guess you get what you pay for? By the way it was $109/night. I asked if we could get a refund due to the stench and lack of accessibility (no stairs) but she said no. No apologies, no trying to be understanding, just a fake smile and pushing policy. Will NOT be staying there EVER or recommending it to any friends or family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Parents on a field trip
Business
Oregon
May 17, 2014

Very outdated hotel & horrible cigar smell as you walked in to check in

Super outdated hotel. When we walked in to check-in we were greeted with a horrible cigar smell that was coming from their cigar room.....couldn't believe that they would have such a thing located near their entrance for checking in....YUCK! Glad we only stayed one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JennandDan
Business
Sandy, Oregon
Apr 29, 2014

Clean, but very outdated.

The room was clean, bathroom and bedding clean. The entire place is very outdated. Going from our room to the desk was a creepy maze, and the main building smelled strongly of cigarettes. There were only about 6 channels on the old old old TV. The location is right on a main road. Parking was good, staff was friendly, has potential with a face lift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smansharky
Business
Baltimore
Apr 20, 2014

Good value

Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Restaurant even more so. Location was a little less than desirable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

"the Mark" was very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baderssh
Business
Eugene, OR
Mar 30, 2014

Worst hotels in my life

1) You have to wait for a long time at the reception to check in, and there was only one person and he was very slow. 2) You have to wait for a long time in line (queue) when you want to enter the restaurant, because the person who allows you to enter and choose the table for you is the same person who works as a restaurant waiter!! That compelled me to breakfast at a restaurant outside the hotel. 3) No respect for privacy, all rooms share same balcony that extended to all rooms and anyone can see you inside your room!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shilo Inn Portland/Beaverton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Halie
Business
Utah
Mar 25, 2014

Weekend in West Portland

This hotel worked well for our purposes. My husband and I were in the area looking for a place to live. This was in a good central location for the places we were looking at. We were also able to easily take trip out to the coast and also to the Columbia River Gorge. The breakfast in the restaurant was good. The complimentary items were very limited but they gave you a discount on everything else, which made for reasonable prices. Get your order to-go if you are in a hurry. We stayed in an average King room. The bed was very firm and the blankets were thin. I was cold most nights even though it was a warm weekend. The room also had a smoky smell even though it was a non-smoking room. Got better by the end of the stay. If you are on a budget and need to stay near Portland but not quite in all the action then this is a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get delicious chocolate milkshakes at Moonstruck Chocolate Cafe. They have a location in the Beaverton Town Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top