$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Awesome!!!

From the time we pulled up and the time we left, we were met with nothing but friendliness,... See full review

  • Calhobbs6
  • Jan 12, 2014
Great location and outstanding hotel

We recently stayed there while visiting our sons. We have travelled all over and these rooms are... See full review

  • Tomas from SB
  • Nov 5, 2013
Luxury and elegance on the banks of the Willamette River
The RiverPlace, a Kimpton Hotel offers a tranquil stay on the Willamette River with plenty of high-end -- and quirky -- amenities. The AAA four-diamond hotel offers free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour business center, as well as free usage of hotel bikes. The comfortable lobby with a library and fireplace illustrates the luxurious care the hotel provides for its guests. The hotel also features Three Degrees Waterfront Bar and Grill, with a gorgeous teak patio, extensive wine list and fresh Northwest cuisine.
Highlights
  • Nightly happy hour
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Upscale restaurant with gorgeous patio
  • Free use of hotel bicycles
Rooms
All of the spacious rooms and suites of The RiverPlace, a Kimpton Hotel offer comfortable custom beds, high-definition TVs with DVD players, free Wi-Fi and more. The hotel also has several suites that offer more room, including the grand suite with 1,150 square feet of space and a panoramic view of the city, river and more.
Features
The RiverPlace, a Kimpton Hotel provides the tranquility of an adjoining river while being a short walk from downtown Portland. The hotel offers a high-end restaurant, a gorgeous patio for riverside dining and free bicycles for guests. The hotel also has top-notch meeting facilities, ranging from a room that fits 20 to a ballroom that holds 200.
Dining
The elegant Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill at The RiverPlace, a Kimpton Hotel, not only offers an upscale menu and happy hour, but its menu features such mouthwatering cuisine as seared scallops and pumpkin-seed crusted cod. The restaurant also offers a three-hour happy hour that features a variety of selections at half-price, which guests can enjoy while lounging on the wraparound porch.
Transportation
  • Short walk to MAX light rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-5 (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12.8 mi/20.7 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (2.4 mi/3.9 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.7 mi/4.4 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Several lovely rooms can accommodate groups from 20 to 200
  • Catering, multimedia and audiovisual support available
  • 24-hour business center with computers, printing, fax and copying services available

Hotel Map

45.5113 -122.6742
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport, (PDX), 13.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Marina View 1 Bedroom Suite 1 Ki
1 King Bed Suite 885 sq ft, river view, kitchen, living rm, fireplace, dining room
Courtyard King Suite 1 Bed
1 King Bed Suite 410 sq ft, courtyard view, mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD, WiFi
Accessible King Junior Suite
1 King Bed Suite 450 sq ft, courtyard view, mini bar, accessible bathtub, DVD, WiFi
RiverFront King Junior Suite
1 King Bed Suite 410 sq ft, river view, mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD, WiFi
Courtyard Executive King Suite
1 King Bed Suite 450 sq ft, courtyard view, living room mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD
RiverFront Executive King Suite
1 King Bed Suite 490 sq ft, river vw, living rm mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD, WiFi
City Fireplace Suite 1 King Bed
1 King Bed Suite 650 sq ft, city view, fire- place, jet tub, mini bar, indoor pool access
RiverFront Fireplace King Suite
1 King Bed Suite 650 sq ft, river view, fireplace, mini bar, jetted tub, DVD, WiFi
Marina View 2 Bedroom Suite
1 King 1 Queen Bed Suite 1285 sq ft, river vw, fireplace, kitchen, balcony
Grand Suite with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed Suite 1150 sq ft, river view, living room, fireplace, jetted tub, WiFi
Courtyard King Deluxe Room
1 King Bed 350 sq ft, courtyard view, mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD, WiFi
Accessible King Roll In Shower
1 King Bed 350 sq ft, city view, mini bar, roll in shower, DVD, WiFi
City Double Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Double Beds 400 sq ft, city view, mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD, WiFi
Riverfront King Deluxe Room
1 King Bed 350 sq ft, river view, mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD, WiFi
Riverfront Double Room 2 Beds
2 Double Beds 400 sq ft, river view, mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD, WiFi
Courtyard Queen Suite 1 Bed
1 Queen Bed Suite 410 sq ft, courtyard view, mini bar, indoor pool access, DVD, WiFi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
DVD player
Telephone
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Fire place
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.6 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.1 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.6 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.1 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.5 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2 mi
  • Washington Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.1 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.5 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 5.1 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.7 mi
  • Forest Park: 8.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.4 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.8 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.9 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.5 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.1 mi

Dining

Three Degrees Restaurant and Bar
Fresh Pacific Northwest fare at Three Degrees Restaurant and Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingUSA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 25, 2012

Great service, good room

Stayed here for business as hotel was across the street from my conference hotel at the Marriott. Service was spectacular, and they upgraded me to a mini-suite. Room was in good shape, spacious, and had a nice view of the park and city (and partial river view). While not as centrally located to downtown, the trolley is located within a short walk south of the hotel along the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley stop is a few blocks south of the hotel and is free throughout the downtown area of Portland. It was more convenient to take the trolley when going to the far north part of downtown by Powell's, but an easy walk if staying in the south part of downtown.

Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biggdogg357
Seattle, wa
Jun 23, 2014

Fantastic Trip

I arrived at the hotel and was received with a warm welcome. The staff was extremely professional and mad my stay really comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Woodburn outlets.

Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ireland1227
morris, IL
Jun 19, 2014

River Place Hotel

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The restaurant is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
booca55
Seattle, WA
Jun 3, 2014

Relaxing home away from home.

Greetings from the moment we stepped out of our car were warm and genuine without a rushed feeling. We arrived early and were graciously accommodated. A pet friendly hotel that I plan to bring my four legged friend to visit. Rooms were well appointed, beds were heavenly and all was well cleaned and kept. Only downsides to this hotel was valet parking pretty expensive $31, location off the beaten path from the more touristy destinations, bathroom toiletries were a bit on the small side, and occasionally we heard the people above us walking around but not enough to keep me awake just a bit annoying. Overall a relaxing and excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Powell's books an amazing experience if you love to read. Grab a book and then hit VooDoo donuts with very fresh, tasty and original creations.

Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenfiggy
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 24, 2014

Lovely place to stay

Excellent service and pet friendly! As the name suggests it is located on the river, so the view was beautiful. My favorite part is they have wine hour every evening complimentary for guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nina84
irvine, ca
Feb 20, 2014

Good hotel

The hotel is in a cool location - right on the river. But, if you want to be in the heart of the city, it's not the best hotel for you. It's about a mile walk to downtown, and even farther from the Pearl District. So, it's a bit too out of the ways from all of the places you'll want to be when you're first visiting and trying to explore the city. The staff was very friendly, but a little absent-minded in providing service. The room was very clean, which I love. The bar downstairs cannot produce a good cappuccino so don't waste your time. Overall, I'm happy with my stay but probably wouldn't stay here again - I'd go somewhere more centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparkie
San Carlos, CA
Feb 18, 2014

Great stay

This is truly a four star hotel. The staff is very helpful, friendly and courteous. The room had a very eclectic style and very comfortable! The only con I have is the restaurant. Service was great but the food was just okay, especially for the prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calhobbs6
Las Vegas Nv
Jan 12, 2014

Awesome!!!

From the time we pulled up and the time we left, we were met with nothing but friendliness, professionalism and, even though we reserved on a web travel site intstead of their site, first class service the whole way. I cannot think of anything bad to say about this hotel, everyone was pleasant, treated you like a first class person and was gorgeous. The restaurant cooked my skirt steak to well done, and, credit to the chefs, it was still most and perfect. There is nothing bad I would say about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Gorgeous waterfront location...cafes and bars within walking distance but you really don't need them - the bar and restaurant are great. If you feel like walking, it is a gorgeous riverside promenade that is easy to walk and enjoyable shops/cafes. Just watch out for the bikes and joggers :)

Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomas from SB
Santa Barbara
Nov 5, 2013

Great location and outstanding hotel

We recently stayed there while visiting our sons. We have travelled all over and these rooms are among the nicest we have ever stayed in. We did not have a river view but the restaurant and bar have both and are reasonably priced. The free wine tasting happy hour is just another nice touch. They do have a rather unique electrical plug system that is quite annoying and I spoke to staff about it, but no reason not to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jakenrysmom
CLackamas, OR
Nov 2, 2013

Fantastic!

We stayed one night at this fabulous hotel during Halloween Night. The staff greeted us at check in with a glass of wine and a smile! Pet friendly made the stay for our pug even more fun with his own bed, feeding dishes, chew toy and doggie biscuit! The room was beautiful and the area around the hotel is so nice! The walk along the waterfront with all the beautiful Portland bridges made for a perfect night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harborside by McCormick and Scmidts was fabulous and close to the hotel

Review of RiverPlace a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy Jet
Windsor, CA
Apr 16, 2013

Delightful waterfront hotel

This is a great place to enjoy Portland. Really nice views, porches, rooms and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top