$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
131 reviews
last minute overnight stay in downtown

The room was clean and nicely decorated. I would recommend this hotel to people looking for a stay... See full review

  • Allison D.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Funky luxury

Great escape in the heart of PDX. Staff are uber friendly and always helpful. The beds are... See full review

  • axlander
  • Jul 3, 2014
Elegant old building transformed into award-winning Portland hotel
The award-winning Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, combines top-notch service and old-school elegance. The ornate hotel was named a "Reader's Choice Top 100 Hotel" by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and one of the "Top 500 Hotels in the World" by Travel + Leisure magazine. The hotel offers 221 rooms and suites in a building erected in 1912. At the evening wine reception, guests at the Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel are given paintbrushes, paint and canvas so they can create their own artwork.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Daily wine reception where guests can create their own artwork
  • Free bicycle rental
  • A 24/7 fitness center
  • In-room spa services
Rooms
The Art Deco-inspired rooms at the Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offer comfort and top-notch amenities. Options include the pet-friendly standard guest rooms, with large plasma flat-screen TVs and large dining/writing tables. There are also several suites, which feature separate living areas with sleeper sofas.
Features
The award-winning Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, provides lodging that is comfortable, elegant and whimsical. The centrally located hotel offers unusual amenities like free bicycle rental and a nightly wine reception where guests can create their own artwork. The more standard comforts include a 24/7 fitness center with Precor machines, free weights and yoga mats. After a tough workout, guests can get in-room spa services, including massages and invigorating body treatments.
Dining
The Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, serves as home to the Red Star Tavern and Roast House. This cozy, critically acclaimed restaurant and tavern features local fare that is often organic, as well as handcrafted libations for finicky drinkers. Menu items include the popular wood-grilled Sweet Briar Farms pork chop and the Cascade Natural 32-ounce porterhouse with house-made Worcestershire.
Transportation
  • Short walk to MAX light rail station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12.4 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.4 mi/2.3 km) 
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.5 mi/2.4 km) 
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.3 mi/3.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
Business
  • More than 8,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site multimedia and audio-visual support
  • Computers with print, fax and copying services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Suite 1 King Bed
Accessible King Suite 550 sq ft mini bar, Italian bath amenities,Starbucks coffee, WiFi
Accessible Dbl Suite 2 Beds
Accessible 2 Queen Suite 550 sq ft mini bar, Italian bath amenities,Starbucks coffee, WiFi
Monaco Qn Qn Ste 2 Qn Beds
Monaco 2 Queen Suite 550 sq ft mini bar, Italian bath amenities,Starbucks coffee, WiFi
Monaco King Pmr Ste 1 King
Monaco King Premier Suite 550 sq ft mini bar, Italian bath amenities,Starbucks coffee, WiFi
Grand Suite 1 KG Bed Jet Tub
Grand Suite 850 sq ft jetted tub, dining room mini bar, Starbucks coffee
Queen Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed
Queen Deluxe 300 sq ft flat panel TV, mini bar, Italian bath amenities, Starbucks coffee, WiFi
Accessible King Premier Suite
Accessible Premier Suite 550 sq ft mini bar 8th/10th floor,Italian bath amenities,Starbuck
Accessible King Ste Roll In Show
Accessible King Suite 550 sq ft mini bar,roll in shower,Italian bath amenities,Starbucks
Accessible Grand Roll In Showr
Accessible Grand Suite 850 sq ft mini bar, dining room, roll in shower, plus half-bath
Accessible Dbl Suite Roll In Sho
Accessible 2 Queen Suite 550 sq ft mini bar, roll in shower,Italian bath amenities,Starbucks
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe 350 sq ft flat panel TV, mini bar, Italian bath amenities, Starbucks coffee, WiFi
King Corner Room 1 King Bed
King Corner Room 350 sq ft flat panel TV, mini bar,Italian bath amenities,Starbucks,WiFi
Monaco King Ste 1 King Bed
Monaco King Suite 550 sq ft mini bar, Italian bath amenities,Starbucks coffee, WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.5 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.5 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.5 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.5 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1 mi
  • Moda Center: 1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2 mi
  • Washington Park: 2.1 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.5 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.1 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.2 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.9 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.6 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.6 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.4 mi

Dining

Red Star Tavern and Roast House
Celebrate great American cuisine at this favorite Portland restaurant HOURS Breakfast Monday through Friday 630 am - 1030 am Brunch Saturday and Sunday 0800 am - 1500 Dinner Daily 1700 pm - 2200 pm Friday and Saturday until 2300 pm Tavern menu avai

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington va
Apr 3, 2010

Great pearl hotel

Fabulous, enormous suite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing, China
Dec 9, 2010

Good place for a hen's night!

I booked this for 4 friends who were having a bachelorette party. There were 2 double beds and a pull out queen. It was plenty of room and a nice place to hang out. We went to the cocktail hour in the lobby which was nice and mellow as well as fancy. We had a very good visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the local bars for a good happy hour. We went to a place called Space Box that was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sleepynb
Business
Seattle
Nov 15, 2010

Where was Timmy?

I really liked the individuality of the hotel. Each room was different, had lovely, fluffy beds, a Pendleton throw and a stuffed bear! Food was great. I loved all the dogs, but didn't get to meet the resident dog, Timmy. We decided to stay at the hotel because of the lobby. And it's lovely. I like the events held there. Staff was fabulous, and we were close to an Aveda and Apple store..I needed supplies from both. I just wish the bar stayed open until 1...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a haircut at the Aveda Salon next to the hotel. You get to people watch while they're cutting your hair!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Wangs
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jun 5, 2010

Above and Beyond!

Great location to explore downtown. Took MAX from the airport & it was super easy and close to the hotel. Had the best massage of my life at the by Jessica at the Aveda Salon attached to the hotel. Entire staff at Monaco was friendly, helpful and seemed to really love to work here. This hotel has thought of everything-- and goes above and beyond to make you feel like you are at home. Loved the free wine and local beer every night, coffee hour in the mornings, and other little extras. We had yummy homemade mint ice cream at the happy hour at the Red Star. Stumptown coffee and Bijiou Cafe were a couple of favorites. True vacation-- came home relaxed and loving Portland. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

$55 each massage and facial special for hotel guests! GREAT price for an Aveda spa treatment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Pasadena, CA
May 31, 2009

What a find in downtown Portland!

This was an escape trip for 2 days. I have not been to downtown Portland for a couple of decades. It's the best trip I have had in years. Very easy to get around on the light rail and streetcar. Very walker friendly (safe). The hotel is an old bldg. but fun funky with fantastic goodies and services. Can't wait to go back in the fall to see the foliage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to light rail. Buy a day ticket $4.75 and go to Washington Park, lots to do, take bus to Arboretum and Japanese Garden/Rose Garden (Zoo is at the park but I didn't go).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Traveller
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 5, 2010

Great Place in a great loaction

Very friendly customer service who were happy to answer our every question about the hotel and area. Plenty of space in the room and clean spaces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carts near hotel offer a great quick bite of tasty food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington, UT
Aug 18, 2009

Fantastic time!

My family was so impressed with the helpful and friendly staff, wonderful downtown location, warm hospitality extended to us and to our family dog, lovely wine reception, and immaculate room that we cannot wait to come back to Portland for another stay! Thank you for making that part of our Oregon vacation so fun, relaxing, and memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dbert
Business
Salem, OR
Feb 20, 2011

Spacious and Beautiful!

We had a great stay at the Hotel Monaco. Our room was very spacious and beautiful. We were so comfortable and even entertained with another couple in our sitting room. The lobby area has a "living room" with free wine tasting and piano music every night. What a lively and fun atmosphere! While we didn't bring a pet along, we enjoyed seeing several dogs in this pet-friendly hotel. We walked everywhere--excellent shopping and dining within just a couple blocks. We will return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Red Star restaurant, which is attached to the hotel. They have a great Happy Hour from 4-8 every day with good food, drinks, and prices. We also enjoyed eating their for breakfast. The shortrib hash was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Jun 29, 2009

Extremely Happy With Accomodations

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Monaco. The hotel staff was the nicest and most helpful I have ever experienced and the hotel was spotless and just fun to be in. The location was also excellent. I would return again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's Restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Just three blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
out of town adventurer
Business
boise, id
Mar 27, 2011

Great location with friendly atmosphere

Great location for everything. Friendly staff with great food recommendations and don't miss the beer bike at 5pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

gruners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top