$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Jupiter Hotel

3 stars
800 E. Burnside Street, Portland, OR 97214
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
64 reviews
great downtown location

Fantasticly close to good music, restaurants, and breweries- all within walking distance See full review

  • big roller
  • Sep 26, 2014
Portland getaway

Hotel was great and centrally located...hotel was pretty clean. I think it's more of a hotel for... See full review

  • Andy7979
  • Aug 4, 2014
Trendy hotel offers hip, retro atmosphere in Lower Burnside
The hip Jupiter Hotel is a former motor inn that has been turned into one of the coolest Portland hotels. The pet-friendly hotel has cozy rooms, a lounge with handcrafted drinks and concerts and more. Rooms have standard features like flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and down comforters. But the rooms also offer offbeat amenities, such as quirky decor like large Buddha posters, speakers for MP3 devices and more. The hotel also boasts the Doug Fir lounge, a hip bar with nightly concerts and a menu with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Trendy, retro rooms
  • Hip bar and restaurant with nightly rock concerts
  • Comfortable outdoor patio area
  • Bikes for rent at the Jupiter Hotel
Rooms
The rooms at the Jupiter Hotel come in many themes. Options include the smaller chill side LoBu room, the metro kitchenette with a small kitchen and a suite with a separate living area, and bar with bartending accessories. All come with retro styling and feature free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, down comforters and more.
Features
This hip former motor inn features 81 rooms with quirky decor like massive Buddha posters. The Jupiter Hotel also has rental bikes and a bar that features indie rock bands. The pet-friendly hotel has bamboo-laden courtyards and an outdoor area with a fireplace. GQ magazine named it one of the best "new-old" hotels in the country, and it has been featured in the New York Times, Travel + Leisure and other publications.
Dining
The Doug Fir Lounge at the Jupiter Hotel features fresh Pacific Northwest cuisine, like pan-seared Pacific halibut. The bar features an extensive wine list and handcrafted drinks. One floor below is a venue that holds nightly concerts by local bands.
Transportation
  • Close to MAX light rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-5 (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
Attractions
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.6 mi/2.6 km)  
  • Portland Art Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (3.4 mi/5.5 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms and outdoor area available, totaling 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary audio-visual equipment available, including plasma TV, LCD projector and more
  • Computer and printer for guest usage, copy and faxing services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jupiter Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Jupiter Hotel Rooms

Bar Patio Lobu
An intimate hotel room perfect for a spontaneous rendezvous or the value-conscious traveler. This room features our standard amenties: Chalkboard door, free WiFi and cable tv, private bath with Natura eco-amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Bar Patio Lobu is located adjacent to the Doug Fir Lounge bar patio, open nightly until 2 am.
Bar Patio Deuce
Double your pleasure with twice the beds and twice the fun. This room features two pillow top queen beds along with 32" flat-screen TV, Tomita Design desk, chalkboard door, free WiFi, private bath with eco-bath amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Bar Patio Deuce is located adjacent to the Doug Fir Lounge bar patio, open nightly until 2 am.
Chill Side Lobu
An intimate hotel room perfect for a spontaneous rendezvous or the budget -conscious traveler. This room features our standard amenties: Chalkboard door, free WiFi and cable tv, private bath with Natura eco-amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Chill Side Lobu is located on our Bamboo Courtyard.
Chill Side Deuce
Double your pleasure with twice the beds and twice the fun. This room features two pillow top queen beds along with 32" flat-screen TV, Tomita Design desk, chalkboard door, free WiFi, private bath with eco-bath amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Chill Side Deuce is located on our Bamboo Courtyard.
Lexi Dog Pet Room
Our Lexi Dog pet-designated rooms are tricked-out, spacious Metros with everything your pampered pup needs for a perfect hotel stay: an eco-friendly dog bed, food & water bowls to use during, a stylish leash, a special brush and dry shampoo to use during your stay. Plus, enjoy the complimentary take-home LexiDog doggie daycare coupons, toys, snacks, potty bags and other treats! Sleep soundly with the knowledge that part of every pet-friendly reservation provides a donation to the Oregon Humane Society. Woof!
Bar Patio Metro
Our most popular room. The Metro has space to spread out and get creative. These rooms feature 32" flat-screen TVs and modern Tomita Design desks in addition to our standard amenities: Chalkboard door, free WiFi, private bath with eco-bath amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Bar Patio Metro is located adjacent to the Doug Fir Lounge bar patio, open nightly until 2 am.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.3 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 1.5 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.3 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 1.5 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.7 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.9 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 3 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 3 mi
  • Washington Park: 3 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 3.2 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Chiles Center: 5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 7.7 mi
  • Forest Park: 8.6 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.4 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 28.6 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 45.6 mi

Dining

Doug Fir Restaurant & Lounge
Located at the Jupiter Hotel, the Doug Fir, a post-modern classic, featuring eclectic Northwest Cuisine, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night dining from 7am til 2am daily. Awesome cocktails, an incredible lounge and club, the Doug Fir is the destination for global nomads. From the Timberline Scramble to the Astoria Salad to the Tender Elk Roast, the Doug Fir truly serves up some of Portland's most delicious cuisine. The Doug Fir Lounge and Live Music Club, Portland's premiere east-side concert venue, features a 300 capacity pro sound underground ballroom, cutting edge local and national bands, the region's top DJ's, and a trend setting dcor by Skylabdesign.com.
Restaurant / Dining Information
The Jupiter is located conveniently next to Grendel*s Cafe serving Light Breakfast and Lunch, and the Farm Cafe, serving Organic Cuisine, nightly.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dream Box Event Space, Party Tent, Corporate Think Tank Meeting Space. Space for 10 to 500

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Jupiter Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Timber East
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 1, 2013

Hotel Stay

This hotel was very subpar, no hot water for the first 48 hrs. The room was very cold, heat didn't work very well. I had roadies from a band loading and unloading until five in the morning a few feet from my window. Also had drunk strangers knock on my door several times. The guests upstairs sounded like they were playing croquet all night. I also cleary paid for a smoking room, there was a box to check, and I checked it, when I checked in they told me it was a non-smoking hotel. Not the best experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ox Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
msmicroscopy
Business
mt.view, ca
Aug 19, 2010

"An Unexpected Surprise"

I was attending a business conference 10 blocks away from the Hotel and was surprised to find my room was located over the bar which had a live 'show' and band until 11:00 pm. (Very low level comedy as well.) The music toned down a bit after 11:00 and they did provide earplugs for the room. I changed rooms the 2nd night but the second room was adjacent to a heavy traffic area [...]. The staff were very gracious but I'd never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Conference Dirk
Business
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Aug 17, 2010

Cheap Chic and Very Noisy

Visited Jupiter hotel for a conference. If you book a Bar Patio Lobu room, do not expect to get any sleep before 2 AM given the music blasting from the patio speakers. Ear plugs are provided, but are by no means sufficient. The other rooms are slightly better (they did transfer me to another room after complaints), so the provided earplugs might be sufficient there. And after 2 AM, just hope that the visitors in the next door rooms are not too noisy, since the walls insulate sound not that well... (A good thing about the patio speakers, you don't hear your neighbors before 2 AM. :-)) Nevertheless, if you're looking for a hotel because you want to get sleep, you might want to look to other hotels. Having said that, the bar itself (and the restaurant) are beautiful, and nice to visit. However, for the prices they charge, the rooms should have been better renovated and sound-proofed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ticked off runner
Business
Oregon
Oct 6, 2009

False advertising

The hotel described itself as a place that holds lots of events and has a happening bar, which sounded interesting. It was a party hotel, the music from the bar was blasting into our room. There was not a quiet room available. I had to run a marathon the next day at seven in the morning and I didn't get to sleep until one a.m. I slept with a pillow over my head. It was ridiculous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Virgina's Cafe had excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Oct 20, 2009

rock n roll hotel-loud til late

This is a motel style hotel in Portland that is really a rock n roll venue in disguise. Every night there's a new loud rock and roll act that shakes the foundations until midnight. Then drunken patrons party outside your window until 2 am....then the wait staff closes up and chats outside your window until 2:30 am. I don't recommend this place if you want to actually sleep at night. If you like rock n roll and partying til late, well that's another thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 20, 2010

Noisy, not the best location

When I arrived on Sunday night, my room next to the hotel bar/club resonated with music. I called the front desk to ask to switch rooms, but the hotel was full. They informed me, however, that the music was not as loud on week nights. Confused, I pointed out it was Sunday. He (and the hard partying hipsters and sketchy 40 older crowd) didn't seem to realize that Monday, a weekday comes after Sunday. It turned out that he was right -- the music was only loud enough to keep me awake until 1:30 am on the weeknights (instead of echo throughout my room until 2am). At least they provided ear plugs. Despite being located a half mile from the convention center, the location is not as ideal as some of the hotels north of the center or west of the river (near the light rail). The surrounding area wasn't terrible, but it definitely wasn't as nice as some other parts of Portland. The rooms were clean, but there wasn't very much light and they were rather small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Aug 16, 2007

They say hip...I say NOT

1)Promises not kept---i asked the desk for an iron & board when i checked in as well as a wake up call....got neither 2)Basic failures- the TVs reception was very poor and in the morning, no hot water--had to take an almost cold shower. Now that i've ranted a little bit...I have to say that if I was in my 20's and a party animal like I used to be, the Jupiter may be right up my alley. I strongly suggest that unless you like: noise, cramped rooms with no place to store anything, no desk/chair to use a laptop, you stay somewhere else. I certainly wish I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too old for this place.
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 29, 2009

For alternative young people

The three star rating and description was misleading. This should definitely be a two star. This is a hotel for "alternativy" young people. Complimentary red condom on my bedside table with a card that read "Yes" on one side and "No" on the other side.Tatoo artist on site. You get the picture. Room doors open onto open air hallway. Two stories, no elevator; had to carry my luggage up. Clean enough, cheap furniture, small room. Front desk staff were very sweet and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good breakfast at hotel's dining room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 5, 2011

The sad lives of the hipster chic

I just wasn't hip enough to stay here. Corn-rowed hipster at the counter couldn't find my reservation because, he told me, he was "so hung over." (It was 3 p.m.) He convinced me to buy parking pass for secure underground parking, but when I went to park that night, there were no spots available. Had to upgrade my room because patio party rolls on until 2 a.m., hipster said.The whole place struck me as juvenile -- condoms by the bedside, which I'm sure are great if you're a teenager but I can take care of myself, thanks. Alarm went off at 1:15 a.m., which was a funny prank, I guess. Bed was fine, and room was clean.This place has received some press, but it's really just a new coat of paint on a cheap, old motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2007

Tatoo Kingdom & Adult Shoppe

Plusses (Ha Ha): The hotel has an adult sex shop and tatoo parlor on site, and caters mostly to the tatoo crowd. (this is not a plus, since the place attracts like kind, and plenty of them) Minuses: The airconditioner did not work, and the room was very uncomfortable. Furthermore, the phone did not work, so I had to walk to the office to report the airconditioning problem. They had no maintenance person on staff, so both problems went un attended. The band played well into the night, but the music was good. The noise from the non-functioning air conditioner drowned it out inside the room. The following morning the place was strewn with beer bottles, cigarette butts, empty cups and spilled drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This place is near absolutely nothing. It is a very long walk to anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top