Jupiter Hotel ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$169
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016
3.7 /5
Overall score
75%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard Single
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Bar Patio Lobu
  • Size: 129 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Chill Side Metro
  • Size: 129 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Bar Patio Metro
  • Size: 139 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Chill Side Lobu
  • Size: 129 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Lobu
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Chill Side Deuce
  • Size: 204 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Lexidog Pet Room
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deuce
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Bar Patio Deuce
  • Size: 204 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4

Overview

The hip Jupiter Hotel is a former motor inn that has been turned into one of the coolest Portland hotels. The pet-friendly hotel has cozy rooms, a lounge with handcrafted drinks and concerts and more. Rooms have standard features like flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and down comforters. But the rooms also offer offbeat amenities, such as quirky decor like large Buddha posters, speakers for MP3 devices and more. The hotel also boasts the Doug Fir lounge, a hip bar with nightly concerts and a menu with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients.

Dining

The Doug Fir Lounge at the Jupiter Hotel features fresh Pacific Northwest cuisine, like pan-seared Pacific halibut. The bar features an extensive wine list and handcrafted drinks. One floor below is a venue that holds nightly concerts by local bands.

Rooms

The rooms at the Jupiter Hotel come in many themes. Options include the smaller chill side LoBu room, the metro kitchenette with a small kitchen and a suite with a separate living area, and bar with bartending accessories. All come with retro styling and feature free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, down comforters and more.

Property features

This hip former motor inn features 81 rooms with quirky decor like massive Buddha posters. The Jupiter Hotel also has rental bikes and a bar that features indie rock bands. The pet-friendly hotel has bamboo-laden courtyards and an outdoor area with a fireplace. GQ magazine named it one of the best "new-old" hotels in the country, and it has been featured in the New York Times, Travel + Leisure and other publications.

Highlights

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Trendy, retro rooms
  • Hip bar and restaurant with nightly rock concerts
  • Comfortable outdoor patio area
  • Bikes for rent at the Jupiter Hotel

Nearby attractions

  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.6 mi/2.6 km)  
  • Portland Art Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (3.4 mi/5.5 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (4.5 mi/7.2 km)

Business

  • Two meeting rooms and outdoor area available, totaling 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary audio-visual equipment available, including plasma TV, LCD projector and more
  • Computer and printer for guest usage, copy and faxing services available

Transportation

  • Close to MAX light rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-5 (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)

Dining

Doug Fir Restaurant & Lounge
Located at the Jupiter Hotel, the Doug Fir, a post-modern classic, featuring eclectic Northwest Cuisine, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night dining from 7am til 2am daily. Awesome cocktails, an incredible lounge and club, the Doug Fir is the destination for global nomads. From the Timberline Scramble to the Astoria Salad to the Tender Elk Roast, the Doug Fir truly serves up some of Portland's most delicious cuisine. The Doug Fir Lounge and Live Music Club, Portland's premiere east-side concert venue, features a 300 capacity pro sound underground ballroom, cutting edge local and national bands, the region's top DJ's, and a trend setting dcor by Skylabdesign.com.
Restaurant / Dining Information
The Jupiter is located conveniently next to Grendel*s Cafe serving Light Breakfast and Lunch, and the Farm Cafe, serving Organic Cuisine, nightly.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dream Box Event Space, Party Tent, Corporate Think Tank Meeting Space. Space for 10 to 500

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.9 / 5
$139

Hotel deLuxe

★★★★
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$139
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$134
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$129
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$149
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$165

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi

General

  • Pet friendly

Activities

  • Spa

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Reviews

3.7 /5 Overall score

75% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.4/5
  • Comfort: 3.6/5
  • Location: 3.9/5
  • Value: 3.7/5

Weekend trip

Would recommend Tue, Dec 1, 2015
The staff was really nice! When we got there, the lady at the reception upgraded us to a better room, and she gave us tips on where to go and what to do, even recommended her favorite dounts which were really awesome! The location is really close to downtown, so walking back and forth was easy, and also there's bars and breweries in the area. The hotel bar, Doug Fir is very cozy and nice, with firepits and live music down the basement. It gets really crowded on weekends and the hotel get's a bit loud, so keep that in mind. It was great for us cause we got to party right in our hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable, parking was easy and 24h, overall, great stay.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

When a good night's sleep isn't the goal

Would not recommend Mon, Nov 16, 2015
Great hotel for party-fun but not ideal for business. Rooms are adequate with some fun surprises but don't expect them to be comfortable for lots of time hanging out they're not set up for relaxation per se. If party noise is a concern, ask for the Chill side of the hotel. Note totally quiet but better than above/near Doug Fir lounge and outdoor smoking patio. All rooms surround a main courtyard and are not particularly well-insulated. This is a hotel for purpose - not ideal for families or business. Wifi was slow, lack of sitting options in room, lack of desk or workspace. Great location to so many of Portland's treasures on the East Side.

| N/A Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

great get-a-way

Would recommend Fri, Oct 23, 2015
Love the vibe and the location. The staff id very helpful. The rooms are small, but adequate. WiFi is available but in and out - going 4 G was better. The bed was sad. Been here several times and this time was the first time with a bad bed. Overall a good stay and will be back.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful staff!

Would recommend Wed, Oct 21, 2015
I knew going into this that I was picking a more 'hipster' hotel for the sake of my daughter in our travel for college tours - and I read the reviews and was prepared for more of a 'party' atmosphere that I would prefer. Small, airless room adjacent to a boisterous bar crowd is not my thing. But the AMAZING staff more than made up for that: I've stayed at many finer hotels and never experienced more genuine graciousness than I did from front desk (Brett and Josh?) who gave us great tips and where to go and what to do, and housekeeping (Cindy?).

| N/A Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful Time

Would recommend Sun, Oct 18, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the Jupiter Hotel. We plan to go back.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great for couples or singles looking for hip hangout

Would recommend Thu, Sep 24, 2015
Loved the motel, hotel completely and utterly Portland!

| N/A Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Couples trip

Would recommend Tue, Sep 15, 2015
The room had a funny smell when we entered and there was an unopened condom on the night stand provided by the hotel.

| Brooklyn Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Road trip

Would recommend Thu, Sep 10, 2015
The Jupiter was a great find! A makeover of an old school motel. Great rooms, great ouTdoor 'chill' space, and a great restaurant onsite ( amazing food...and 1/2 price apps from 3-6! The location was walking distance from downtown, but honestly liked the Jupiters area much more! Loved it!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Location and Vibe

Would recommend Mon, Jul 27, 2015
The Jupiter had a great staff and comfortable rooms. The chalkboard doors were fun and the texting the front desk feature was very helpful. We stayed on a Saturday night and it wasn't loud at all. By the time we went to bed shortly after 1am it seemed like everything died down. My only complaint was that there were small hairs on the bathroom floor when we checked in. Other than that the room was very clean.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

hard trip

Would recommend Thu, Jul 9, 2015
the stay was perfect. i messed up the flight from san franscio to portland so i had to pay alot of money to get me and my friend to portland . i was very upset when i got to the hotel and i needed just a friendly people to make me feel better and they did...... love this hotel.

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Lan Su Chinese Garden 0.8 mi
Moda Center 0.9 mi
Hawthorne Bridge 0.9 mi
Tom McCall Waterfront Park 1 mi
Oregon Museum of Science and Industry 1.1 mi
Living Room Theater 1.2 mi
The Gerding Theater at Armory Building 1.2 mi
Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall 1.2 mi
Keller Auditorium 1.3 mi
Ira Keller Fountain Park 1.3 mi
Oregon Histrorical Society 1.3 mi
Portland Art Museum 1.4 mi
Laurelhurst Park 1.5 mi
Peter W. Stott Center 1.7 mi
PGE Park 1.7 mi
Jeld-Wen Field 1.7 mi
Bagdad Theatre 1.7 mi
Oregon Holocaust Memorial 1.7 mi
International Rose Test Garden 2.4 mi
Portland Japanese Garden 2.4 mi
Pittock Mansion 2.9 mi
Oregon Zoo 3 mi
Hoyt Arboretum 3 mi
Washington Park 3 mi
Portland Children's Museum 3.1 mi
Mount Tabor Park 3.2 mi
Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden 3.2 mi
Chiles Center 5 mi
St. Johns Bridge 6.8 mi
Willamette Valley 7.7 mi
Forest Park 8.6 mi
Columbia River Gorge 15 mi
Sauvie Island Wildlife Area 15.4 mi
Oneonta Gorge 28.6 mi
Mt. Hood Ski Bowl 45.6 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$169
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016