$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Jupiter Hotel

3 stars
View map of 800 E. Burnside Street, Portland, OR 97214

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jupiter Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Oct 7, 2007

You get what you pay for

The Jupiter hotel is definitely not for everyone. Don't stay here if you're trying for a fun family trip-- not unless you want to try to explain the on-location sex toy shop or the condoms left like mints on the nightstand. The amenities are utilitarian. You get a bed, you get a tv (great lineup) you get towels. If you run out of something like Tissues don't expect housekeeping to notice and fill it back up. There's always a lot going on location so it's noisy, but it's a fun party if you're interested. And I didn't have trouble sleeping. The restaurant, the Doug Fir, is awesome but gets busy at dinner. The hot water in the bathroom took a really long time to warm up but it did warm up. The premises are clean and the bed is comfortable. The location isn't that close to the rest of downtown but it is close to transportation. It was more affordable than other downtown hotels and convenient as I didn't stay on the premises much. I was satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco, CA
Sep 29, 2007

Hipster Hotel

The Jupiter was a great hotel, definately for the younger crowd as it is always loud and rowdy....music, parties, etc. But this is the appeal of the Jupiter, and I would stay there again. The room was small but clean, but the bed was VERY comfortable. The best part of the Jupiter was the Doug Fir...the food was amazing, though the staff was too cool to acknowledge you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A mall with a Macy's and a Nordstrom's is a long walk/short drive.

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 20, 2007

Very different..

The Jupiter Hotel is located in downtown area. We travelled for an auction & arrived very late, after 1am. The area on a Wednesday evening was full of young people dressed in black, spiked hair & multiple piercings all over the streets...At first we were uncomfortable, but the people we passed were very friendly & we felt safe. The room was very small, art deco type decor. And the door on inside & out is a chalk board...Lobby & room both were clean and comfortable. Not a family place, but close to our auction, so for us it worked out OK...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

near Convention Center

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Aug 16, 2007

They say hip...I say NOT

1)Promises not kept---i asked the desk for an iron & board when i checked in as well as a wake up call....got neither 2)Basic failures- the TVs reception was very poor and in the morning, no hot water--had to take an almost cold shower. Now that i've ranted a little bit...I have to say that if I was in my 20's and a party animal like I used to be, the Jupiter may be right up my alley. I strongly suggest that unless you like: noise, cramped rooms with no place to store anything, no desk/chair to use a laptop, you stay somewhere else. I certainly wish I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 6, 2007

Great for hipsters

it's beautiful trendy cool hotel. has an outside bar with band performances (the only drawback is probably for hotel guests who like their hotels quiet). on weekends, it gets a little noisy and it's fine for guests who return to their rooms at 2am. the design is excellent, scandanavian minimalist, not too many frills, perfect for the price. The hotel also houses doug fir, a hot place for the coolest music. i was nicely surprised by this hotel. i'd definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Aug 2, 2007

Indie/ Alternative Accomodations

The Jupiter Hotel was like no other hotel I had ever stayed in. Tucked into a bohemian neighborhood within 1 mile walking (public transportation right in front of hotel, too) to downtown and clubbing areas, it offered some unusual amenities. It had a on premises tattoo parlor (vey clean) and in one of the rear rooms a adult novelty shop (descreet). There is also a breakfast, lunch and dinner restaurant called The Doug Fir and an adjacent nightclub by same name featuring alternative music. Nearby resturants are highly recommended too. The room was smallish but clean, furnished in an Ikea kind of way. Cool features: Chalkboard covered door to express you inner poet, complimentary Jupiter birth control/safe sex devise, and excellent body care products. The room was clean and crisp looking(lots of white tones with colorful accents). The pared down look was refreshing. Outside room was a canopy covered courtyard for gathering parties. Staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the stay and would stay there again. Great place for young adults and open-minded fun loving baby boomers (like us).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 1, 2007

Very comfortable

The Jupiter Hotel was very comfortable. I stayed for a conference, and it was very close from the Convention Center (10-15 mintues walk). The neighborhood was not so touristic, but it had a bus stop that you can take to do downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alanyami
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jul 19, 2007

very helpful in responding to requests for map information and finding maps

The room was comfortable and bathroom was clean and well maintained. The bathroom door did not open properly and stuck. The underground garage was very convenient and easy to park our vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Major shopping at Lloyds center was within a 15min walk. Downdown Portland was nearby and within 6 blocks.

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Jul 13, 2007

Tatoo Kingdom & Adult Shoppe

Plusses (Ha Ha): The hotel has an adult sex shop and tatoo parlor on site, and caters mostly to the tatoo crowd. (this is not a plus, since the place attracts like kind, and plenty of them) Minuses: The airconditioner did not work, and the room was very uncomfortable. Furthermore, the phone did not work, so I had to walk to the office to report the airconditioning problem. They had no maintenance person on staff, so both problems went un attended. The band played well into the night, but the music was good. The noise from the non-functioning air conditioner drowned it out inside the room. The following morning the place was strewn with beer bottles, cigarette butts, empty cups and spilled drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This place is near absolutely nothing. It is a very long walk to anywhere.

Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 11, 2007

Cheap Boutique Hotel in The Thick of P'land

Having never been to Portland before, I was pleasantly surpised to find The Jupiter Hotel right in the center of town. Close to downtown. Close to the Hawhorne shopping districts. And not to mention a few places on East Burnside. The Doug Fin (restaurant) is great for a cheap breakfast - and drinks late in the evening. Unlike other boutique hotels, though (like The Standard), you can't charge it back to your room. No biggie. I ended up at this place in the midst of a heatwave. Although they didn't have a pool, the staff gladly moved me to a better (and bigger room) when my A/C wasn't working. I would gladly stay again. Though I'd choose a kitchenette next time. Good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top