$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Jupiter Hotel

3 stars
View map of 800 E. Burnside Street, Portland, OR 97214

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jupiter Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 20, 2010

Noisy, not the best location

When I arrived on Sunday night, my room next to the hotel bar/club resonated with music. I called the front desk to ask to switch rooms, but the hotel was full. They informed me, however, that the music was not as loud on week nights. Confused, I pointed out it was Sunday. He (and the hard partying hipsters and sketchy 40 older crowd) didn't seem to realize that Monday, a weekday comes after Sunday. It turned out that he was right -- the music was only loud enough to keep me awake until 1:30 am on the weeknights (instead of echo throughout my room until 2am). At least they provided ear plugs. Despite being located a half mile from the convention center, the location is not as ideal as some of the hotels north of the center or west of the river (near the light rail). The surrounding area wasn't terrible, but it definitely wasn't as nice as some other parts of Portland. The rooms were clean, but there wasn't very much light and they were rather small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Earth
Dec 26, 2009

In the Know Hotel

Stayed at this hotel on Christmas night while visiting family in Portland. Great location away from downtown. Feels like you're in a real neighborhood with a lot of personality. This hotel is very unique and stylized. It also has a bar (the Doug Fir) that might be one of the best in America. Truly northwest! It has a live music venue, a tattoo parlor and lots of other interesting shops as part of the repurposed complex. Think 1960s Travel Lodge meets NYC hot spot. Very fun with lots of good interesting people. The rooms are fun but not great. It's certainly not luxury. Stay here to have a great Portland experience, not a hotel getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Dec 14, 2009

Noisy but clean and comfy bed

The room is pretty small but clean and tidy. The bathroom is clean and well kept. Free Wi-Fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Good for budget travelers who could tolerate the noise at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 29, 2009

A fantastic place!

The people there were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the overall service was great. The only problem was the first night with a noisy bar, but after that it was quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Oct 20, 2009

rock n roll hotel-loud til late

This is a motel style hotel in Portland that is really a rock n roll venue in disguise. Every night there's a new loud rock and roll act that shakes the foundations until midnight. Then drunken patrons party outside your window until 2 am....then the wait staff closes up and chats outside your window until 2:30 am. I don't recommend this place if you want to actually sleep at night. If you like rock n roll and partying til late, well that's another thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ticked off runner
Business
Oregon
Oct 6, 2009

False advertising

The hotel described itself as a place that holds lots of events and has a happening bar, which sounded interesting. It was a party hotel, the music from the bar was blasting into our room. There was not a quiet room available. I had to run a marathon the next day at seven in the morning and I didn't get to sleep until one a.m. I slept with a pillow over my head. It was ridiculous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Virgina's Cafe had excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too old for this place.
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 29, 2009

For alternative young people

The three star rating and description was misleading. This should definitely be a two star. This is a hotel for "alternativy" young people. Complimentary red condom on my bedside table with a card that read "Yes" on one side and "No" on the other side.Tatoo artist on site. You get the picture. Room doors open onto open air hallway. Two stories, no elevator; had to carry my luggage up. Clean enough, cheap furniture, small room. Front desk staff were very sweet and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good breakfast at hotel's dining room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, wa
Jul 24, 2009

Cool, hip remodeled motel

This lace is pretty cool. It is an old travelodge type motel that has been remodeled into into hip, ikea inspired hotel. While not five star, it is still clean and in good shape. There is a music venue, which we missed, but heard it is a really good place for shows. The noise did not bother us, but I could see how it may bother other couples, or families. The staff was very friendly and approachable. When they did not have my reservation, because Orbitz never sent it, the girl at the front desk was extremely helpful and even upgraded us when she finally got the reservation faxed over. This was overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Really cool restaurant about a block away....FARM. Vegetarian friendly, local-ingredient focused restaurant in a cool old Victorian style house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 9, 2009

"Great location, helpfull staff"

The hotel was great and the staff was very helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

After a long day of exploring Portland you can enjoy a fab dinner at the Doug Fir which is the in house rest. After dinner enjoy drinks in the bar or take them and relax outside by the fire pit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 27, 2009

Perfect for Gen X and Y

Tons of college and post-college kitzsch, good indie music scene, short bus ride from EVERYWHERE. Went to the Japanese Gardens, took less than an hour to get there by bus and on foot. If the mall is more your scene, a ride and a transfer are all you need to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're going to be seeing a little of everything, or spending hours away from your hotel, get a longer-term pass (7 day) for "all zones" from the MAX light rail stations. This will let you take unlimited rides on the bus and light rail in Portland and (according to some of the locals) in Vancouver as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top