$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Jupiter Hotel

3 stars
View map of 800 E. Burnside Street, Portland, OR 97214

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jupiter Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Timber East
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 1, 2013

Hotel Stay

This hotel was very subpar, no hot water for the first 48 hrs. The room was very cold, heat didn't work very well. I had roadies from a band loading and unloading until five in the morning a few feet from my window. Also had drunk strangers knock on my door several times. The guests upstairs sounded like they were playing croquet all night. I also cleary paid for a smoking room, there was a box to check, and I checked it, when I checked in they told me it was a non-smoking hotel. Not the best experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ox Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Tom
Business
New Jersey, USA
May 15, 2012

Not my cup of tea

Apparently I don't fit this hotel's demographic. It's an imaginative refurbishing of a 60's motel with decor that's a refreshing change from the inoffensive, plain vanilla decor of most hotels; however, the room was unbelieveably small. I've stayed in economy motels that had rooms at least half again larger than this was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sohoben
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Under construction

Without telling me that the hotel was under considerable construction, the staff addressed most of my needs, finding a better room, upgrading me for free. One day when I had to work in the room I could not escape the construction noise. I wish I knew about the renovations in advance. Staff was very responsive and accommodating. Room comfort was "dinged" because of construction noise during the day only. Wait til after the renovation is completed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pok Pok for Thai food. Eat in or use take out window.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LVbarEric
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Boutique party hotel

The juniper Bar and restaurant are good the club is Fun. but the room had some cool features but when you really look it was run down older furniture and bathroom. only good if you spend most of your time parying outside the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andres74
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Jupiter fun

great staff and location if you're looking to stay close to all the action. My room was steps from the Doug Fir where I ate and caught a great band. My top destination next time in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Doug Fir

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 5, 2011

The sad lives of the hipster chic

I just wasn't hip enough to stay here. Corn-rowed hipster at the counter couldn't find my reservation because, he told me, he was "so hung over." (It was 3 p.m.) He convinced me to buy parking pass for secure underground parking, but when I went to park that night, there were no spots available. Had to upgrade my room because patio party rolls on until 2 a.m., hipster said.The whole place struck me as juvenile -- condoms by the bedside, which I'm sure are great if you're a teenager but I can take care of myself, thanks. Alarm went off at 1:15 a.m., which was a funny prank, I guess. Bed was fine, and room was clean.This place has received some press, but it's really just a new coat of paint on a cheap, old motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kirkland, WA
Jun 8, 2011

Interesting....

I liked the decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Mar 5, 2011

It was a good stay

room was very small. the bar down below was great though. loved that they were animal friendly. the chalk board door was really fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La, ca
Dec 17, 2010

Okay, probably too trendy.

Was loud due to the bar on sight. Rooms were tiny and upgrades were merely cosmetic, still felt and looked rather cheap for the price. Lots of marketing and gimmicky stuff all over the placed, again, it cheapened the hotel. Other than that, the bed was excellent, very soft and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 11, 2010

I don't suggest for early crashers!

The staff was great, the rooms were modern and clean. We stayed here the first night of our trip and booked another night at the end, so it was an all around decent experience. I would not recommend to anyone who is a light sleeper, even on night when they don't have a band booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top