$155 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Jupiter Hotel

3 stars
800 E. Burnside Street, Portland, OR 97214
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
64 reviews
great downtown location

Fantasticly close to good music, restaurants, and breweries- all within walking distance See full review

  • big roller
  • Sep 26, 2014
Portland getaway

Hotel was great and centrally located...hotel was pretty clean. I think it's more of a hotel for... See full review

  • Andy7979
  • Aug 4, 2014
Trendy hotel offers hip, retro atmosphere in Lower Burnside
The hip Jupiter Hotel is a former motor inn that has been turned into one of the coolest Portland hotels. The pet-friendly hotel has cozy rooms, a lounge with handcrafted drinks and concerts and more. Rooms have standard features like flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and down comforters. But the rooms also offer offbeat amenities, such as quirky decor like large Buddha posters, speakers for MP3 devices and more. The hotel also boasts the Doug Fir lounge, a hip bar with nightly concerts and a menu with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Trendy, retro rooms
  • Hip bar and restaurant with nightly rock concerts
  • Comfortable outdoor patio area
  • Bikes for rent at the Jupiter Hotel
Rooms
The rooms at the Jupiter Hotel come in many themes. Options include the smaller chill side LoBu room, the metro kitchenette with a small kitchen and a suite with a separate living area, and bar with bartending accessories. All come with retro styling and feature free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, down comforters and more.
Features
This hip former motor inn features 81 rooms with quirky decor like massive Buddha posters. The Jupiter Hotel also has rental bikes and a bar that features indie rock bands. The pet-friendly hotel has bamboo-laden courtyards and an outdoor area with a fireplace. GQ magazine named it one of the best "new-old" hotels in the country, and it has been featured in the New York Times, Travel + Leisure and other publications.
Dining
The Doug Fir Lounge at the Jupiter Hotel features fresh Pacific Northwest cuisine, like pan-seared Pacific halibut. The bar features an extensive wine list and handcrafted drinks. One floor below is a venue that holds nightly concerts by local bands.
Transportation
  • Close to MAX light rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-5 (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
Attractions
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.6 mi/2.6 km)  
  • Portland Art Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (3.4 mi/5.5 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms and outdoor area available, totaling 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary audio-visual equipment available, including plasma TV, LCD projector and more
  • Computer and printer for guest usage, copy and faxing services available

Hotel Map

45.5227 -122.6569
Area served
Located conveniently at 800 E. Burnside, the Jupiter is only a few blocks from downtown, via the Burnside Bridge, only 6 blocks from the Portland Convention Center, and only 15 minutes from the Portland International Airport.
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jupiter Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Jupiter Hotel Rooms

Bar Patio Lobu
An intimate hotel room perfect for a spontaneous rendezvous or the value-conscious traveler. This room features our standard amenties: Chalkboard door, free WiFi and cable tv, private bath with Natura eco-amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Bar Patio Lobu is located adjacent to the Doug Fir Lounge bar patio, open nightly until 2 am.
Bar Patio Deuce
Double your pleasure with twice the beds and twice the fun. This room features two pillow top queen beds along with 32" flat-screen TV, Tomita Design desk, chalkboard door, free WiFi, private bath with eco-bath amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Bar Patio Deuce is located adjacent to the Doug Fir Lounge bar patio, open nightly until 2 am.
Chill Side Lobu
An intimate hotel room perfect for a spontaneous rendezvous or the budget -conscious traveler. This room features our standard amenties: Chalkboard door, free WiFi and cable tv, private bath with Natura eco-amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Chill Side Lobu is located on our Bamboo Courtyard.
Chill Side Deuce
Double your pleasure with twice the beds and twice the fun. This room features two pillow top queen beds along with 32" flat-screen TV, Tomita Design desk, chalkboard door, free WiFi, private bath with eco-bath amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Chill Side Deuce is located on our Bamboo Courtyard.
Lexi Dog Pet Room
Our Lexi Dog pet-designated rooms are tricked-out, spacious Metros with everything your pampered pup needs for a perfect hotel stay: an eco-friendly dog bed, food & water bowls to use during, a stylish leash, a special brush and dry shampoo to use during your stay. Plus, enjoy the complimentary take-home LexiDog doggie daycare coupons, toys, snacks, potty bags and other treats! Sleep soundly with the knowledge that part of every pet-friendly reservation provides a donation to the Oregon Humane Society. Woof!
Bar Patio Metro
Our most popular room. The Metro has space to spread out and get creative. These rooms feature 32" flat-screen TVs and modern Tomita Design desks in addition to our standard amenities: Chalkboard door, free WiFi, private bath with eco-bath amenities, queen pillow-top platform beds, down comforters and pillows, and speakers for your notebook or MP3 player. The Bar Patio Metro is located adjacent to the Doug Fir Lounge bar patio, open nightly until 2 am.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.3 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 1.5 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.3 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 1.5 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.7 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.9 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 3 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 3 mi
  • Washington Park: 3 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 3.2 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Chiles Center: 5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 7.7 mi
  • Forest Park: 8.6 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.4 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 28.6 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 45.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dream Box Event Space, Party Tent, Corporate Think Tank Meeting Space. Space for 10 to 500

Dining

Doug Fir Restaurant & Lounge
Located at the Jupiter Hotel, the Doug Fir, a post-modern classic, featuring eclectic Northwest Cuisine, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night dining from 7am til 2am daily. Awesome cocktails, an incredible lounge and club, the Doug Fir is the destination for global nomads. From the Timberline Scramble to the Astoria Salad to the Tender Elk Roast, the Doug Fir truly serves up some of Portland's most delicious cuisine. The Doug Fir Lounge and Live Music Club, Portland's premiere east-side concert venue, features a 300 capacity pro sound underground ballroom, cutting edge local and national bands, the region's top DJ's, and a trend setting dcor by Skylabdesign.com.
Restaurant / Dining Information
The Jupiter is located conveniently next to Grendel*s Cafe serving Light Breakfast and Lunch, and the Farm Cafe, serving Organic Cuisine, nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Jupiter Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Timber East
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 1, 2013

Hotel Stay

This hotel was very subpar, no hot water for the first 48 hrs. The room was very cold, heat didn't work very well. I had roadies from a band loading and unloading until five in the morning a few feet from my window. Also had drunk strangers knock on my door several times. The guests upstairs sounded like they were playing croquet all night. I also cleary paid for a smoking room, there was a box to check, and I checked it, when I checked in they told me it was a non-smoking hotel. Not the best experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ox Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Tom
Business
New Jersey, USA
May 15, 2012

Not my cup of tea

Apparently I don't fit this hotel's demographic. It's an imaginative refurbishing of a 60's motel with decor that's a refreshing change from the inoffensive, plain vanilla decor of most hotels; however, the room was unbelieveably small. I've stayed in economy motels that had rooms at least half again larger than this was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sohoben
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Under construction

Without telling me that the hotel was under considerable construction, the staff addressed most of my needs, finding a better room, upgrading me for free. One day when I had to work in the room I could not escape the construction noise. I wish I knew about the renovations in advance. Staff was very responsive and accommodating. Room comfort was "dinged" because of construction noise during the day only. Wait til after the renovation is completed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pok Pok for Thai food. Eat in or use take out window.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LVbarEric
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Boutique party hotel

The juniper Bar and restaurant are good the club is Fun. but the room had some cool features but when you really look it was run down older furniture and bathroom. only good if you spend most of your time parying outside the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andres74
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Jupiter fun

great staff and location if you're looking to stay close to all the action. My room was steps from the Doug Fir where I ate and caught a great band. My top destination next time in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Doug Fir

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 5, 2011

The sad lives of the hipster chic

I just wasn't hip enough to stay here. Corn-rowed hipster at the counter couldn't find my reservation because, he told me, he was "so hung over." (It was 3 p.m.) He convinced me to buy parking pass for secure underground parking, but when I went to park that night, there were no spots available. Had to upgrade my room because patio party rolls on until 2 a.m., hipster said.The whole place struck me as juvenile -- condoms by the bedside, which I'm sure are great if you're a teenager but I can take care of myself, thanks. Alarm went off at 1:15 a.m., which was a funny prank, I guess. Bed was fine, and room was clean.This place has received some press, but it's really just a new coat of paint on a cheap, old motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kirkland, WA
Jun 8, 2011

Interesting....

I liked the decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Mar 5, 2011

It was a good stay

room was very small. the bar down below was great though. loved that they were animal friendly. the chalk board door was really fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La, ca
Dec 17, 2010

Okay, probably too trendy.

Was loud due to the bar on sight. Rooms were tiny and upgrades were merely cosmetic, still felt and looked rather cheap for the price. Lots of marketing and gimmicky stuff all over the placed, again, it cheapened the hotel. Other than that, the bed was excellent, very soft and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 11, 2010

I don't suggest for early crashers!

The staff was great, the rooms were modern and clean. We stayed here the first night of our trip and booked another night at the end, so it was an all around decent experience. I would not recommend to anyone who is a light sleeper, even on night when they don't have a band booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top