Inn at the Convention Center

3 stars
420 Northeast Holiday St, Portland, OR 97232
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
62 reviews
Great place, good location

My husband and I were visiting with no particular reason. We did some touristing, met some cool... See full review

  • Mallory M.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Inn is a good value

Although the hotel is a bit down on their luck, they have all the amenities - refrigerator,... See full review

  • Sister Em
  • Aug 6, 2014
Moderate prices limited feature five-story hotel 97-rooms interior corridors rooms with two-queens and or king. Non-smoking guest rooms smoking available upon request pets accepted. All rooms have in-room coffeemakers irons and boards data ports in all phones free local calls free covered parking for hotel guests cable television with premium channels AM/FM radios individually controlled heating and air conditioning in all guest rooms. Hotel is located directly across the street from the Oregon s largest indoor mall Lloyd Center Rose Garden Arena Memorial Coliseum and the state building. Adjacent to the MAX Light Rail. The MAX system is free to downtown for Tax-free shopping and a low cost transportation to the Portland International Airport and Portland s Expo Center. Easy access to Interstates 5 and 84. PICTURE ID AND CREDIT CARD ARE REQUIRED AT CHECK IN.

Inn at the Convention Center Rooms

Standard
Std 2 Qun NS-Room includes a full bathroom. TV with cable channels and HBO. Phone with dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron. Individually controlled heat and A/C. Additional charge rollaway 10.00 USD.
Standard
Std 1 Qun SM-Room incldues a full bathroom with tub and shower. TV w/cable and HBO. Phone w/dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron. Individually controlled heat-ing and A/c. Additional charge rollaway 10.00 USD.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Std 1 Kng SM- Room includes a full bathroom. TV with cable channels and HBO. Phone w/dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron/board. Individually controlled heating and A/C. Charge rollaway bed 10.00 UDS.
Standard
Std 1 Kng NS-Room includes a full bathroom. Cable TV. Phone w/ dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Iron/board. Individually controlled heating and A/C. For additional charge rollaway beds 10.00 USD.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

45.5298 -122.6612
Nearby airports
Portland Intl Airport, (PDX), 10.00, MI, SE; Portland-Hillsboro Airport, (HIO), 30.00, MI, E; Portland-Troutdale Airport, (TTD), 26.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.5 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.5 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.5 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.5 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.8 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 1.8 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.7 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.9 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 3 mi
  • Washington Park: 3 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 3.5 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.8 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.3 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8 mi
  • Forest Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 28.7 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 45.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Convention Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manjura Nayamatullah
Business
Sann Antonio, Texas
Jun 6, 2014

Money Saver

Very close to the Oregon convention center and downtown. Public transportation is easily accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sister Em
Business
Chicago
Aug 6, 2014

Inn is a good value

Although the hotel is a bit down on their luck, they have all the amenities - refrigerator, microwave, etc. and the staff is really nice. Rooms are clean. Wi-fi a little slow, but for the price, the whole deal was incredible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buca, nice Italian for reasonable prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mallory M.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Great place, good location

My husband and I were visiting with no particular reason. We did some touristing, met some cool people, and visited a ton of breweries and beer bars. Pros: - Location was perfect! It's right off of the MAX line, which goes straight to the airport and into downtown. It's also walking distance to a ton of other stuff if, like us, you enjoy walking. - It was so cheap! When I searched, it was just about the cheapest available place. - The room! It was HUGE (they gave us a double room for some reason), and one entire wall was a window that faced downtown. Really lovely. Cons: - The towels are tiny and a bit scratchy. The soap etc. were pretty bad, and they didn't have any toothpaste to give us when we realized we had forgotten ours. - The sheets were IMMACULATELY clean but had that sort of scratchy, bleached feel to them. Not the best, but I still slept like a rock. I highly recommend this hotel. Now if Portland could just get ridesharing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Simpatica had AMAZING bloody marys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Spokane, WA
Jul 11, 2011

Great place for the price

This is an older motel, but you can't beat the price. Room was comfortable and clean, it was nice to have air conditioning as it was very warm outside. This was a great location for going to an event at the Rose Garden Arena, easily within walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff with useful info in the lobby for area attractions and maps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rose garden or convention center within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Reluctant Traveler
Business
Olympia, WA
May 10, 2012

Great Value

My husband and teenage daughter accompanied me on this trip. We were primarily touring Portland as a two day get-away. We wanted to do this trip on the cheap, but we also wanted to be safe and comfortable. The Inn at the Convention Center fit the bill. It was perfect for its intended purpose. The room was clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The total cost for a double queen room was $61.50, which was a good value. The location of the hotel was perfect as we were able to catch TriMet right outside the hotel. This is not luxury or aesthetically up to date lodging, but if you want an inexpensive room that is safe and convenient to downtown this is a good deal. I will book this hotel on our next trip to Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The food carts are the best! Some of these outdoor carts are operated by culinary school grads that are trying to get their name out in the most economical way possible. I highly recommend the food for taste and value. Take TriMet, its the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JunKaela
Business
Seattle
Jul 17, 2012

You get what you pay for.

The hotel staff was very nice and the room was spacious. Hotel is in front of train station so it's very convenience. On the other hand, it was noisy at night. Last train was around 12:30am. You can go to downtown and Lloyd center from the hotel by train. It's all ride free zone so you won't need to pay for transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anjel
Business
oregon
Jun 13, 2012

personal

Good view in room. Pokey things on carpet in areas that hurt..its an old hotel though. Very nice staff. Overall a great pl for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lloyd center mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck Norris of Ecology
Business
Auckland, New Zealand
Aug 21, 2012

Great value, noisy though

I stayed both in a single room, and a week or two earlier a friend and I stayed in a share. The rooms have everything you need, relatively large and no problems. One difficulty is it is right next to the train tracks and sound proofing is sub-optimal so bring ear plugs. For a student attending a conference at the conference center it is ideal. Very cheap, good value, right next to top conference center, and just next to the steel bridge and train lines into town and on the airport line. Red Robbin and Dennys are across the road. Oh and the internet was pretty slow most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
national.park ranger
Business
new york
Sep 12, 2012

reasonable

Location is good. It is only 20min walk from the center of the city. Neighbor is good. Even I checked in after 1am, I didn't feel any scare walking there. There are so many room. I even thought that it was motel. But it was a hotel. It worth staying with this cheap price. I highly reccomend you this hotel. But don't expect too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tjdilling
Business
Portland , or
Jul 24, 2013

Great

The shower was strong and the mattress was firm . Perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The coliseum was right there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top