$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Inn at the Convention Center

3 stars
420 Northeast Holiday St, Portland, OR 97232
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
61 reviews
Great place, good location

My husband and I were visiting with no particular reason. We did some touristing, met some cool... See full review

  • Mallory M.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Inn is a good value

Although the hotel is a bit down on their luck, they have all the amenities - refrigerator,... See full review

  • Sister Em
  • Aug 6, 2014
Moderate prices limited feature five-story hotel 97-rooms interior corridors rooms with two-queens and or king. Non-smoking guest rooms smoking available upon request pets accepted. All rooms have in-room coffeemakers irons and boards data ports in all phones free local calls free covered parking for hotel guests cable television with premium channels AM/FM radios individually controlled heating and air conditioning in all guest rooms. Hotel is located directly across the street from the Oregon s largest indoor mall Lloyd Center Rose Garden Arena Memorial Coliseum and the state building. Adjacent to the MAX Light Rail. The MAX system is free to downtown for Tax-free shopping and a low cost transportation to the Portland International Airport and Portland s Expo Center. Easy access to Interstates 5 and 84. PICTURE ID AND CREDIT CARD ARE REQUIRED AT CHECK IN.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Inn at the Convention Center Rooms

Standard
Std 2 Qun NS-Room includes a full bathroom. TV with cable channels and HBO. Phone with dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron. Individually controlled heat and A/C. Additional charge rollaway 10.00 USD.
Standard
Std 1 Qun SM-Room incldues a full bathroom with tub and shower. TV w/cable and HBO. Phone w/dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron. Individually controlled heat-ing and A/c. Additional charge rollaway 10.00 USD.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Std 1 Kng SM- Room includes a full bathroom. TV with cable channels and HBO. Phone w/dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron/board. Individually controlled heating and A/C. Charge rollaway bed 10.00 UDS.
Standard
Std 1 Kng NS-Room includes a full bathroom. Cable TV. Phone w/ dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Iron/board. Individually controlled heating and A/C. For additional charge rollaway beds 10.00 USD.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.5 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.5 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.5 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.5 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.8 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 1.8 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.7 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.9 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 3 mi
  • Washington Park: 3 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 3.5 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.8 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.3 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8 mi
  • Forest Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 28.7 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 45.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Convention Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 61
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rock n Roll Tourist
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Sep 1, 2014

Great location, helpful staff

Not to mention extremely reasonable rates. I'd definitely stay again. My only complaint is that the 4th floor didn't have an ice machine, just a freezer full of little bags of ice, which was messy to break into usable chunks. But that's a very minor complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Max (light rail) station is right there, as are bus stops. Just don't miss the early morning train to the airport like I did!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayInAustin
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 7, 2014

Nice location, good price

Although you can tell this place is feeling its age, it's still a good place to stay. It's very convenient location includes great access to light rail as well as streetcars. Plus, the view of downtown is great, I'm not sure what the other side was like, but this was nice. The staff was very helpful, even allowing me to print off my boarding pass for next day's flight. If you are looking for a place to stay the night before heading to the airport via light rail, this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manjura Nayamatullah
Business
Sann Antonio, Texas
Jun 6, 2014

Money Saver

Very close to the Oregon convention center and downtown. Public transportation is easily accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lady lady lady
Business
Kansas City MO
Jun 6, 2014

Right in the heart of it all!

The staff was helpful and warm. My tub drain didn't hold water, I changed beds because the lamp on the bed I originally chose didn't work. The hallway smelled like cigarettes and the view from my window was stunning and although there isn't much right near the hotel, it's not far from everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
xTraveller
Business
Seoul
May 1, 2014

Good budget hotel

Location is Okay. Overall good for the price. A little bit old though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kate2014
Business
Maryland
Mar 30, 2014

An average hotel

I chose this hotel b/c it is right by the convention center where I came to attend a conference. The young smile-less guy at the front desk was as not very welcoming and talked to his customers as if they had done something wrong. One day, (among the several days I was staying), I came back to my room only to see the room was not cleaned by the housekeeper!! I just hope this was the one-time incident. Also, inside the room, you're not allowed to open the glass door to the balcony, so the room always had a smell of something damp. Other than that, everything is okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlondMike
Business
Woodstock, Illinois
Oct 9, 2013

Stay on the City Side!

I stayed here for four nights. When I checked in, the clerk suggested that I switch rooms after the first night. This is because my room was on the side of the building where the train runs. (The train is very convenient, but also a bit noisy!) The next day, I switched to a room on the "city side" of the hotel, which is quieter and has a better view. In my brief experience, the staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive or take the train to an Oregon Symphony Orchestra concert at Schnitzer Hall. Excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weary Roadtripper
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 9, 2013

Dump This Dump

Filthy dirty. My non-smoking room stunk of smoke (the drapes) and there were cigarette burn holes in my sheets. Rude desk staff. Broken TV & ice machine. In my opinion, this place is one step from a derelict dive. Avoid this joint at all costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
national.park ranger
Business
new york
Sep 12, 2012

reasonable

Location is good. It is only 20min walk from the center of the city. Neighbor is good. Even I checked in after 1am, I didn't feel any scare walking there. There are so many room. I even thought that it was motel. But it was a hotel. It worth staying with this cheap price. I highly reccomend you this hotel. But don't expect too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
backpacker man
Business
Seattle
Jul 26, 2012

Good Value

Very noisy on the streetcar side of the building until about 11pm.All else about average but with considerable savings from downtown Portland and a free 10 minute streetcar(Red Line) ride to the front door.Easy quick walk to the (east side of the) river promenade walk...great views of downtown Portland on that walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys and McDonalds 1-4 blocks with other upscale options not much farther away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top