$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Inn at the Convention Center

3 stars
420 Northeast Holiday St, Portland, OR 97232
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
61 reviews
Great place, good location

My husband and I were visiting with no particular reason. We did some touristing, met some cool... See full review

  • Mallory M.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Inn is a good value

Although the hotel is a bit down on their luck, they have all the amenities - refrigerator,... See full review

  • Sister Em
  • Aug 6, 2014
Moderate prices limited feature five-story hotel 97-rooms interior corridors rooms with two-queens and or king. Non-smoking guest rooms smoking available upon request pets accepted. All rooms have in-room coffeemakers irons and boards data ports in all phones free local calls free covered parking for hotel guests cable television with premium channels AM/FM radios individually controlled heating and air conditioning in all guest rooms. Hotel is located directly across the street from the Oregon s largest indoor mall Lloyd Center Rose Garden Arena Memorial Coliseum and the state building. Adjacent to the MAX Light Rail. The MAX system is free to downtown for Tax-free shopping and a low cost transportation to the Portland International Airport and Portland s Expo Center. Easy access to Interstates 5 and 84. PICTURE ID AND CREDIT CARD ARE REQUIRED AT CHECK IN.

Hotel Map

45.5298 -122.6612
Nearby airports
Portland Intl Airport, (PDX), 10.00, MI, SE; Portland-Hillsboro Airport, (HIO), 30.00, MI, E; Portland-Troutdale Airport, (TTD), 26.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Inn at the Convention Center Rooms

Standard
Std 2 Qun NS-Room includes a full bathroom. TV with cable channels and HBO. Phone with dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron. Individually controlled heat and A/C. Additional charge rollaway 10.00 USD.
Standard
Std 1 Qun SM-Room incldues a full bathroom with tub and shower. TV w/cable and HBO. Phone w/dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron. Individually controlled heat-ing and A/c. Additional charge rollaway 10.00 USD.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Std 1 Kng SM- Room includes a full bathroom. TV with cable channels and HBO. Phone w/dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron/board. Individually controlled heating and A/C. Charge rollaway bed 10.00 UDS.
Standard
Std 1 Kng NS-Room includes a full bathroom. Cable TV. Phone w/ dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Iron/board. Individually controlled heating and A/C. For additional charge rollaway beds 10.00 USD.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.5 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.5 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.5 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.5 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.8 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 1.8 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.7 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.9 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 3 mi
  • Washington Park: 3 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 3.5 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.8 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.3 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8 mi
  • Forest Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 28.7 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 45.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Convention Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pythia
Business
eugene
Dec 5, 2012

too noise

I can not sleep because it is easy to listen the sound comes from other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

easy for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
national.park ranger
Business
new york
Sep 12, 2012

reasonable

Location is good. It is only 20min walk from the center of the city. Neighbor is good. Even I checked in after 1am, I didn't feel any scare walking there. There are so many room. I even thought that it was motel. But it was a hotel. It worth staying with this cheap price. I highly reccomend you this hotel. But don't expect too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck Norris of Ecology
Business
Auckland, New Zealand
Aug 21, 2012

Great value, noisy though

I stayed both in a single room, and a week or two earlier a friend and I stayed in a share. The rooms have everything you need, relatively large and no problems. One difficulty is it is right next to the train tracks and sound proofing is sub-optimal so bring ear plugs. For a student attending a conference at the conference center it is ideal. Very cheap, good value, right next to top conference center, and just next to the steel bridge and train lines into town and on the airport line. Red Robbin and Dennys are across the road. Oh and the internet was pretty slow most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elsie very patience
Business
Seattle,Wa
Aug 17, 2012

Worse Hotel

requested a non smoking room,but the room smell cigarettes,the front desk gave us $10.00 off for the smell. Then bathroom look like a public restroom, the toilet bowl needs to be scrub, the sink under is sprinkling water everytime you turn on the faucet. The pillow cases has hole and red spot on it,towels are the same have red spot. The good thing is, this is only for overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
backpacker man
Business
Seattle
Jul 26, 2012

Good Value

Very noisy on the streetcar side of the building until about 11pm.All else about average but with considerable savings from downtown Portland and a free 10 minute streetcar(Red Line) ride to the front door.Easy quick walk to the (east side of the) river promenade walk...great views of downtown Portland on that walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys and McDonalds 1-4 blocks with other upscale options not much farther away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cjvancura
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 18, 2012

Disappointed

Booking went smoothly and wonderful for a one kings size bed at the Inn at the Convention Center. I called the hotel early Friday morning of my stay to confirm reservation and to make a simple request for a room with a view, preferably on the top floor. Receptionist replied certainly, and I was assured one king size bed with a view would be available and ready for my stay. Later that evening during check in, I was shock to find the room promised to me hadn't been cleaned all day and there weren’t any other King size beds available. The only room left was a small double queen in the back of the hotel with a great view of Portland’s popular and rambunctious transits station. My card key never once worked for either of the day’s I was there. Front desk had to let me into my room each time I would return from an outing. There are stains on all of the furniture. The Wi-Fi signal was so weak that surfing the web was impossible. I encourage you to spend the extra dollar and stay elsewhere. Inn at the Convention Center was not the best of experience and I will NOT be recommending it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JunKaela
Business
Seattle
Jul 17, 2012

You get what you pay for.

The hotel staff was very nice and the room was spacious. Hotel is in front of train station so it's very convenience. On the other hand, it was noisy at night. Last train was around 12:30am. You can go to downtown and Lloyd center from the hotel by train. It's all ride free zone so you won't need to pay for transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RoseCityFan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Double Queens room with a city view

The entrance, lobby, elevator and corridors are depressing, smelly and scary. The room itself was better. Still, had a musty odor and wasn't clean. The entire building is old and shows it everywhere. Not for a lady or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pythia
Business
eugene
Jun 22, 2012

Bad sound insulation effect

Too noise that I can not sleep well. It is also hard to find a power outlet. I can just to charge my phone near the bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just 10 minutes walk for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anjel
Business
oregon
Jun 13, 2012

personal

Good view in room. Pokey things on carpet in areas that hurt..its an old hotel though. Very nice staff. Overall a great pl for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lloyd center mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top