$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Inn at the Convention Center

3 stars
420 Northeast Holiday St, Portland, OR 97232
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
56 reviews
Money Saver

Very close to the Oregon convention center and downtown. Public transportation is easily accessible. See full review

  • Manjura Nayamatullah
  • Jun 6, 2014
Awesome location!!!

Hotel was literally right next to the railway station so it was perfect and smack dab in the middle... See full review

  • KennaS
  • Jul 1, 2014
Moderate prices limited feature five-story hotel 97-rooms interior corridors rooms with two-queens and or king. Non-smoking guest rooms smoking available upon request pets accepted. All rooms have in-room coffeemakers irons and boards data ports in all phones free local calls free covered parking for hotel guests cable television with premium channels AM/FM radios individually controlled heating and air conditioning in all guest rooms. Hotel is located directly across the street from the Oregon s largest indoor mall Lloyd Center Rose Garden Arena Memorial Coliseum and the state building. Adjacent to the MAX Light Rail. The MAX system is free to downtown for Tax-free shopping and a low cost transportation to the Portland International Airport and Portland s Expo Center. Easy access to Interstates 5 and 84. PICTURE ID AND CREDIT CARD ARE REQUIRED AT CHECK IN.

Inn at the Convention Center Rooms

Standard
Std 2 Qun NS-Room includes a full bathroom. TV with cable channels and HBO. Phone with dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron. Individually controlled heat and A/C. Additional charge rollaway 10.00 USD.
Standard
Std 1 Qun SM-Room incldues a full bathroom with tub and shower. TV w/cable and HBO. Phone w/dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron. Individually controlled heat-ing and A/c. Additional charge rollaway 10.00 USD.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Std 1 Kng SM- Room includes a full bathroom. TV with cable channels and HBO. Phone w/dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hairdryer. Iron/board. Individually controlled heating and A/C. Charge rollaway bed 10.00 UDS.
Standard
Std 1 Kng NS-Room includes a full bathroom. Cable TV. Phone w/ dataport. AM/FM radio alarm clock. Activity table. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Iron/board. Individually controlled heating and A/C. For additional charge rollaway beds 10.00 USD.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5298 -122.6612
Nearby airports
Portland Intl Airport, (PDX), 10.00, MI, SE; Portland-Hillsboro Airport, (HIO), 30.00, MI, E; Portland-Troutdale Airport, (TTD), 26.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.5 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.5 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 1.1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.5 mi
  • PGE Park: 1.5 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 1.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1.8 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 1.8 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.7 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.9 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 3 mi
  • Washington Park: 3 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 3.5 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.8 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.3 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8 mi
  • Forest Park: 8.2 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 28.7 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 45.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Convention Center

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Reluctant Traveler
Olympia, WA
May 10, 2012

Great Value

My husband and teenage daughter accompanied me on this trip. We were primarily touring Portland as a two day get-away. We wanted to do this trip on the cheap, but we also wanted to be safe and comfortable. The Inn at the Convention Center fit the bill. It was perfect for its intended purpose. The room was clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The total cost for a double queen room was $61.50, which was a good value. The location of the hotel was perfect as we were able to catch TriMet right outside the hotel. This is not luxury or aesthetically up to date lodging, but if you want an inexpensive room that is safe and convenient to downtown this is a good deal. I will book this hotel on our next trip to Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The food carts are the best! Some of these outdoor carts are operated by culinary school grads that are trying to get their name out in the most economical way possible. I highly recommend the food for taste and value. Take TriMet, its the best.

Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mcki
lynnwood, wa
May 7, 2012

No (good) Room at the Inn

Reception Desk Clerk was very friendly and helpful. The lobby area was not clean. The elevator was dirty and musty. The hallways were dark, dirty, dinghy, and smelly. The room was dirty and musty. Lots of street noise. Definitely wear slippers. No bare feet on this creapy carpet. Furniture was very old, with holes. Not a place you would want to sit. Sheets had holes in them. TV WORKED GOOD. Bathroom was in two parts. The first part was the sink. This area was non-inviting, with a dirty, dinghy era about it. There was one piece of paper left in the kleenex box. Past the hollow door was the toilet, tub & shower space. It was worse than the outer area. Very little paper on roll. There was an extra roll on toilet. Tub was rusty, walls were very dirty. Water worked good, hot water was sufficient. This building and room rate only a marginal " 1 ", and I would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks

Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susanp
Business
Eastern Oregon
Apr 15, 2012

convention bound

The location is perfect, the room was average, but better than I expected considering the low price and great location. It is very worn, threadbare washcloths and sheets with patches, but seemed clean. Parking available, but they also sell parking for events, and that was an issue, as was noise from the Max and street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Njk1
Oregon
Mar 26, 2012

Horrible

Horrible experience and I didn't even make it through the night, in need of SERIOUS renovation!! I wouldn't stay there for free!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Opehlia
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

A true two-star hotel

The location and price were fine. The room was adequately clean, although the bathroom was old and a little funky. The temperature was either cold or hot and the heater blew the curtains so that car lights came in the window after lights out. They supplied soap and shampoo, but no lotion or other amenities. The train was right outside, but that didn't really bother me. Good shower head and plenty of hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nakedsaturday
scottsburg, oregon
Mar 14, 2012

Getaway to the city

Stayed here since it was close to public tranport and entertainment. Served its purpose. Will stay again next time in Portland!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mthoodrat
Suburbs south of Portland
Feb 19, 2012

Good 'Nuff

Nice staff. The room was unclean. We stayed at the Benson once and they offer a 'companion goldfish', should you find yourself lonely in the way that only a goldfish will pull you out of. In the bathroom of THIS hotel we found an extra guest, and we assume that the Inn at the Convention Center must offer 'companion silverfish'. All kidding aside, the location is superb, right on the MAX line and the price is significantly cheaper than other hotels in the area, I'm sure that's due to the less than sparkling clean rooms. If you are picky about that sort of thing, spend extra money and go somewhere else because you WILL be grossed out, but if you just need a place to pass out drunk, close to downtown on the cheap, well my friend, you're home! FYI, odd number rooms are on the MAX line, while even numbers are on the parking lot (and presumably quieter) side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We called Lonesome's Pizza for a late night delivery. They deliver until 4am. Hells yes!

Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss Katie
Tacoma, WA, USA
Feb 6, 2012

last minute reservations

When we stepped inside, I knew immediately we had made a mistake. Not surpising as we made our reservations based on pricing and location, rather tha quality or reviews. Very dingy, lots of young people, which seemed inviting as I am "young" but realized it because they couldn't afford anything nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of places to eat close by, large shopping mall and lots of little dive bars within a 5 minute drive. nice area, not so nice hotel.

Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLJL
Portland, OR, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great customer service

I've stayed at The Inn at the Convention Center on 2 occassions now & both times the staff has been very accommodating! I enjoy the friendly service & look forward to a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
odd89
Burbank, CA, USA
Dec 6, 2011

close to downtown

it was a great place location wise and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top