$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
247 reviews
Great Front Desk

Front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The hotel was booked for our staff... See full review

  • Miracle Worker from SM
  • Jul 30, 2014
Good for a Short Getaway - unless you are wealthy.

Since it was almost 90 degrees, we wished they had a pool. And in general, parking was an... See full review

  • R to the
  • Jul 8, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 247
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Okcnewbie
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Aug 10, 2014

Hotel Deluxe

Convenient location just down the street from the MAX and a quick walk to Pearl District. Arrived fairly early (noon) and they already had a room ready. Room was a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dsosman
Los Angeles, CA
May 31, 2014

Well Done!

The Hotel Deluxe, located downtown, is accessible to good restaurants, shopping, and a MAX station. My room was small but well-appointed, with the most comfortable hotel bed I've had in a while. The staff is warm and attentive; I sensed their desire to make me as comfortable as possible. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tasty and Alder

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kauaigal
hanalei, hi
Sep 21, 2013

Lovely old hotel with charm

The reservation/concierge staff was welcoming and eager to provide information on the city. The restaurant was charming and the food was excellent. The bar had good ambience, but was too dark for my taste, but then I wasn't there for a romantic assignation. The option for pillow-to-taste is a great idea, although I didn't need to use it. The room was small as is ordinarily the case in older hotels, but made up for it in charm and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JudyJudyJudy
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jun 18, 2013

high marks

excellent customer service! i came for a psu graduation just for the night... the staff offered to collect treats from a local bakery for me to take to the after party, which was really terrific, especially since i was so crunched for time.... everyone i encountered was cheerful & extremely polite. this is a great location in the pearl district... loads of local cafe's & boutiques. room was very clean & comfortable. extremely secure with key access to each floor & amenities. they offer valet, but there is plenty of street parking if you bring quarters. overall, fantastic hotel, and highly recommended:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

saint cupcake galore on morrison has the most amazing treats! and an equally amazing vegan selection:) treat yourself, or take to a party... two frosting covered thumbs up!

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Australian visitor
Melbourne, Australia
Jan 19, 2013

Comfortable

The Hotel DeLuxe suited my needs for a few days in Portland. The Happy Hour dining in the bar was a friendly experience, and convenient with good food. Glad not to spend time going out for meals on this trip. If price included breakfast it would be really good value. Otherwise all amenities in the hotel worked well and the staff were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Check the happy hour times and menu in advance so you can decide to go for full dining, or sit more casually at the bar for happy hour food which is a limited choice but great value and delicious.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ISO Portlandia
Baltimore, MD
Dec 4, 2012

Charming hotel, wonderful, nice staff

I came to Portland just to get away, didn't really have a set itinerary. One of the front desk staff (I forgot his name, I regret) was great in explaining what was in the area. Downtown is just walking distance from the hotel. I was able to walk to a nearby food truck pod on Alder. The bed is absolutely comfortable, had some great sleep. My only complaint is the shower head's low water pressure; that's just my personal preference...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebec
Dayton, OH
Jun 1, 2012

Loved everything about this hotel

The location is away from noise, yet walking distance to downtown and great restaurants. Very courteous and accommodating staff. I loved the cozy room and white-tiled bathroom. I flew in from Ohio to see Pickwick at the Wonder Ballroom. Stayed two nights and slept like a baby. Very comfortable bed. I can't wait to come back to Portland and I will choose this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the Saturday market...food, entertainment, etc. So alive! Take the train...one of the best transit systems I've experienced to date.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMackenzie
New York
Apr 17, 2012

Elegant Yet Relaxed Urban Chic

Great location, blocks from the MAX (streetcar) system; staff very helpful and on point, friendly but not saccharine, extremely efficient. My room was elegant; although the space was small, the bathroom was gorgeous and immaculately clean; bed was plush and comfy. Central air was somewhat slow to respond; I had my thermostat set at 82 (!) and it always felt like 70. Initially my room's safe did not work and there wasn't a "quiet please" sign to be found in the room. Literally within 3 minutes of my call to front desk I received a knock on my door from a manager to drop off my sign and apologize for the safe. Within another minute maintenance was at my door to fix the safe. Unbelievable response time; very much appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking is safe in the area, several convenience stores blocks away, as well as a McDonald's and several local restaurants. Also, the MAX goes directly to/from the airport and this hotel, about a 30-minute convenient ride either way. And it only costs $2.40 one-way. Still convenient even if you have luggage to lug. The MAX station at the airport is literally outside the door from the baggage carousels, and the nearest MAX station from the hotel is 2 short blocks away.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harriet T.
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Absolutely perfect for the single traveler

What a special place, especially for movie buffs! They were very welcoming and security conscious for the single traveler. The front desk gave great suggestions for nearby restaurants. I'd return in a minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Japanese Gardens at Washington Park are not to be missed!

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aj aj
Cambridge
Sep 20, 2011

Good if you want to be close to the max

The rooms were nice enough, but mine was on the second floor facing a wall which made the whole atmosphere kind of depressing. Location is good if you want to be close to the max. Friendly service. Decent bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search