$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
248 reviews
Great Front Desk

Front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The hotel was booked for our staff... See full review

  • Miracle Worker from SM
  • Jul 30, 2014
Good for a Short Getaway - unless you are wealthy.

Since it was almost 90 degrees, we wished they had a pool. And in general, parking was an... See full review

  • R to the
  • Jul 8, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 248
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MickiS
Oakland
Aug 26, 2014

Convenient and classy hotel

Attentive and friendly staff, location is close enough to downtown to be convenient, but not too close so it is quieter. Rooms are on the smaller side but very clean and comfortable--everything is designed to maximize space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanacitafolia
San Mateo, California
Jul 1, 2014

Relaxing respite in a whirlwind visit

This hotel was within walking distance of our daughter's apartment, a lightrail to the airport and the wonderful 23rd Ave and downtown, yet the area was quiet. The bath was comfortable for a soak not just a container for the shower. The staff was great, helpful and quick to respond when one of our lamps had no bulb. We enjoyed the movie themed decor. The robes were a nice touch but I could have used a lower hook on the bathroom door to hang it on. My one concern: Our bathroom window was hard to open and had to be supported to stay open, yet it was the only way to let moisture out of the room. I told the staff as we left so I don't know how quickly they could fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oblation Press is a stationary store and upscale printer that is heaven for anyone who loves paper, pens, and writing. The cards he prints there are whimsical and perfect for every mood.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikleigh18
Seattle, WA
Jun 24, 2014

Weekend trip

The staff at hotel deluxe could not have been more accomodating. Had an excellent trip. Rooms were very clean, well decorated, very comfortable bed and pillows. Rooms were on the smaller size but that was fine-matched the boutique feel. Happy hour at the bar was good value and breakfast by room service was tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine S
California
May 28, 2014

Nice hotel, quiet location

Nice, older building, with great ambiance. We stayed for 3 nights for our anniversary. Had a corner king room on the top floor, view was nice and windows on most of the 2 outside walls. Could hear into the next room a bit- not terrible, could be covered up by the TV or radio. Room was a little small- only a couple of feet on either side of the bed due to desk and dresser in the room. Room was very clean and nicely appointed, plenty of room in the closet and dresser (even with mini bar in the bottom of dresser) if you aren't spending all day in the room it is a nicer than average hotel room. Staff was pleasant and helpful, they reacted quickly and appropriately when a local city issue came up with the water supply- not the hotel's fault, but they offered bottled water and information about the situation in a timely manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Accessman
Spokane, WA
Apr 29, 2014

small

although, the hotel Deluxe had a vintage feel to it, the room we stayed in was the smallest queen bed room i have ever stayed in before. At $169/night, I really expected more. I understand it is close to the downtown Portland area, but so is the Watertown hotel in Seattle and that cost just as much but provided way more. I will say that the staff were friendly and helpful, but all in all, it fell below my expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKVeronica60
Cape Coral, FL
Apr 28, 2014

Lovely retro hotel

Clean, lovely hotel with an old movies classics motif. Huge room with very comfortable bed. Staff is friendly and helpful. On site restaurant is very good. Close to downtown action, but you do have to walk a few blocks to get there. The valet charges were a surprise, and a few bucks more than other hotels, though the valets themselves were awesome. If you don't need to leave the area, don't rent a car. Use taxis and the downtown rail system instead. The cost of the valet service was close to equal to the cost of renting a full sized car for the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car if you don't need to leave the area, get a cab for the longer distances instead instead. Valet charges for a week were close to equal to the cost of renting a full sized vehicle for that same week. I have arthritis issues, and I could still walk to most venues. Some, however, were too far, especially considering I was walking to the meeting place for a walking tour of downtown Portland.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mango123
Washington
Apr 27, 2014

Cute, but needs updating

The hotel is really cute, but it's old. The walls are thin and we could hear the conversation next door as if they were in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous325723
Columbus, IN
Apr 17, 2014

Great stay!

We spent a week at this hotel while visiting Portland. It was a great experience. The staff and service are impeccable. They gave us great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. They provided us with local maps to find locations as well. The Driftwood Room was a great place for night food and cocktails as well. We also loved the location. It was perfectly situated between the downtown area and the 23rd street area. We walked everywhere we went, but we are big walkers. The cleaning staff was great too. The gym/fitness room was small, but the machines they have a very nice and up-to-date. They had a bike, treadmill, and elliptical along with free weights and weight machine. The business center was small but very nice as well. We will definitely go back to this hotel when we visit Portland in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most of the local restaurants have great happy hour food and usually offer it early evening and late night. A lot of the higher end restaurants have great offers during these times. The food at the local restaurants was wonderful!

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heather the nanny
Bellevue, Wa
Mar 19, 2014

Perfect weekend getaway

We were able to park the car on Friday and not get it to Sunday. It was great being able to walk or take transit to anything we wanted to do over the weekend. The rooms are smaller but decorated nicely and very comfortable. It is what you expect staying in a historic hotel. The omelets at Gracie's were amazing. The front desk staff was very friendly and were quick to switch our room to a/c and send up a fan when we notified them that our room was hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Berthoud Bob
Berthoud, CO
Mar 13, 2014

Nice

Had a great stay! Close to downtown sights and easy walk to many things we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

VooDoo doughnuts!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search