$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
View map of 729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
261 reviews
Moving trip

The wife and I came to Portland to see if it would be a good place to live. Not knowing the area, I... See full review

  • Michael D.
  • Mar 21, 2015
great hotel!

great hotel with a very attentive staff! art deco design at its best! the driftwood room was the... See full review

  • Aaronwalter
  • Mar 2, 2015
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi access, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 261
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christian M.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Business trip with wife

As I took my wife for the first time in Portland with me, the choice of the Deluxe hotel has been one of the best thing I have done. We have really enjoyed the class of this hotel , the quality of the room, the attention of the personnel as well as the very good location in the center of this amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenkiadr
Business
Marlow, UK
Oct 27, 2014

Great business stay

I stayed for 15 nights on a recent business trip to Portland and found Hotel deLuxe a warm, comfortable and inviting place. The staff were excellent, the rooms clean and I really liked the 40's/50's Hollywood glamour theme to the hotel - very tastefully done. The only thing that could have been better was the gym - it was a bit basic. That said, I'd be very happy to stay there on my next trip to Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Portland is a great cycling city. Rent a bike in town and the hotel will store it overnight in the basement at no charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miracle Worker from SM
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jul 30, 2014

Great Front Desk

Front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The hotel was booked for our staff and he ended charging some things not part of the booking. Our office said we will take care of it and we will give them our corporate card. They accepted the payment even thought the whole transaction (approval and authorization) where all done over several emails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

easy back and forth trip to business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fredkim82
Business
San Francisco, ca
Jun 28, 2014

business trip

Classy and traditional hotel. Hollywood themed hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms and amenities. Gracies restaurant was very good and driftwood bar feels like a gentle men's club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tasty and alder is a great restaurant. Multnomah whiskey library is a fantastic experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zbootvp
Business
New York
Jul 26, 2013

Overnight stay for business in downtown Portland

This is a lovely hotel with lots of Hollywood Charm. The front desk was very friendly and polite. There is a quaint bar tucked into the corner of the Hotel which is perfect for winding down after a long day's travel. Pity last call is 11pm. Two small nits - one more annoying the other just an observation: 1. The observation: The room I stayed as was very, very small. A bed, the bathroom and a small desk. This was more reminiscent of a NYC hotel room where space is always at a premium. 2. The annoyance: There was not a single outlet with which I could plug in my electronics. Unless I wanted to leave my phone on the bathroom sink overnight - which doesn't really work when I use my phone as my alarm clock as well. There was no place to plug in my laptop! even at the desk area. I had to unplug a lamp so that i could use the outlet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

had a lovely dinner at Tasty and Alder. Great food and nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Jo
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 3, 2013

Friendly Staff

The hotel is a good place to stay in downtown Portland. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist you with whatever you request. My room was quite small but I was gone most of the time so it didn't matter that much. If you were going to spend any time in your room ask for one that is larger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trixiedarling
Business
Mill valley, California
May 25, 2013

Gorgeous hotel, super helpful staff, fabulous bar

I can't say enough about this hotel. It was a beautiful building, the staff was attentive and polite, the bar had fantastic food and cocktails and it was only two blocks from the red line train. The rooms are on the small side but they are beautifully decorated. One of the best hotel experiences ive had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paval
Business
portland
May 6, 2013

should be 2.1/2 stars hotel not 4 stars

good hotel but not for 4 stars, no free continental breakfast and not swiming pool, not too happy. also charged me for the parking too, otherwise was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My Lou
Business
Hickory, North Carolina
Apr 14, 2013

Walk into a bygone era!

After a nightmarish flight experience and being severely delayed, I arrived at the hotel. What a joy to be greeted by a valet who gave me all the parking options with no attempt to "sell me" the most expensive hotel option. The lobby was beautiful and the fame of the hotel (for filming movies and Hitchcock films to boot) was done nicely. While I got in too late to enjoy dinner at the restaurant, I did have breakfast which was furnished in the same classic style. The room was very comfortable for a hotel of that age. I had everything I needed from the most comfortable bed to free wi-fi to a place to charge my iPhone. I particularly liked the bathroom. The only thing I missed was a bathtub thinking I may have wanted to have a hot bath after the long flight. I was treated very well by all the staff--upon check-in, after I explained why I was so late, my room was automatically upgraded. The valet and waiter at the restaurant made wonderful recommendations for destinations in my limited time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave Jr
Business
rockford, il
Apr 8, 2013

Excellent Place

Comfortable hotel. Nice appearance. Downtown so it was close walking to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top