$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
376 reviews
Good for a Short Getaway - unless you are wealthy.

Since it was almost 90 degrees, we wished they had a pool. And in general, parking was an... See full review

  • R to the
  • Jul 8, 2014
Relaxing respite in a whirlwind visit

This hotel was within walking distance of our daughter's apartment, a lightrail to the airport and... See full review

  • Tanacitafolia
  • Jul 1, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
zyxw
Business
2
Oct 19, 2011

Buyer Beware

This building is old, the rooms are very small. The staff was very friendly; however, there was no hot water meaning FREEZING cold shower. That in itself would not be bad IF management made an accommodation. The manager's offer of $15 discount was insulting and further aggravated by the manor I was treated at check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ron DiCrescenzo
Portland Oregon
Aug 11, 2012

Old, small, tiny bed, real small bathroom, left after one horrible night!

See above! Never stay again!! Old place room too small! Bathroom very small! Bed was not standard size! Not comfortable! It was a terrible experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring
Sep 29, 2008

Nothing Spectacular Here.

Hotel Deluxe is approximately four blocks from Portland's buzzing urban center. The intervening blocks at night are quiet and feel a bit dicey but we were never hasselled on our way to or from the hotel. The room is unexpectedly small as is the bathroom. We called to ask whether there was a tub in the room, we were told yes and turned up to find a shower stall that would be considered small even by European standards. On the first day by 3p.m. the bed had not been made, a bit of a disappointment to return to a messy room. The hotel's charm is its old cinema theme, the staff however needs to be more familiar with the names of the actors on the key cards...Eddie Rochester Anderson is not Sydney Poitier and I don't care what it says on the computer. The Saturday market is a must, remember that it is divided into two sections; one for imported stuff, the other for hand-made stuff sold by the artists and artisans. Oh and hotel is easily accessible by rail, no need for an expensive taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants surround the hotel. India House may not be inviting but the food is yummy and for breakfast go to Mother's Bistro and Bar and have the greek frittata it is phenomenal. If you like good coffee the Coffee House on SW Broadway and Alder makes an excellent Mexican Mocha.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring
Sep 29, 2008

Nothing Spectacular Here.

Hotel Deluxe is approximately four blocks from Portland's buzzing urban center. The intervening blocks at night are quiet and feel a bit dicey but we were never hasselled on our way to or from the hotel. The room is unexpectedly small as is the bathroom. We called to ask whether there was a tub in the room, we were told yes and turned up to find a shower stall that would be considered small even by European standards. On the first day by 3p.m. the bed had not been made, a bit of a disappointment to return to a messy room. The hotel's charm is its old cinema theme, the staff however needs to be more familiar with the names of the actors on the key cards...Eddie Rochester Anderson is not Sydney Poitier and I don't care what it says on the computer. The Saturday market is a must, remember that it is divided into two sections; one for imported stuff, the other for hand-made stuff sold by the artists and artisans. Oh and hotel is easily accessible by rail, no need for an expensive taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants surround the hotel. India House may not be inviting but the food is yummy and for breakfast go to Mother's Bistro and Bar and have the greek frittata it is phenomenal. If you like good coffee the Coffee House on SW Broadway and Alder makes an excellent Mexican Mocha.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tat Kat
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Nov 21, 2012

Overrated Stay

The hotel is cheap dressed up in classy, and topped off with absurdly expensive. The toilet was actually a plastic public toilet in a tiny bathroom. Also, there was left over trash from the last guest in the trash can, and the bathtub looked like it had been stained with left over grime. The room's decor was no better than any Best Western, and was much smaller. The best was comfortable, but there was so much noise coming in from the hall and outside that sleep was impossible. The staff was decently cordial, but no one was particularly helpful with the exception of the valet team (there were the gem in this hotel's crown). The hotel also gouges you every which way for extra fees... overall, my experience was less than satisfactory, and I'll never pay that much to spend a night in Hotel DeLuxe again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monthly Vegaser
Seattle, Wa
Feb 21, 2010

Not bad, but not Impressed

Hotel was quaint. Rooms are a little small for the price but otherwise very clean and cozy. My biggest problems are 1: No free internet in building. Most people on travel need internet for about 2 minutes a day to check email and to pay $24 for that is absurd. 2: I payed $40 for less than 48hrs of parking in their own garage. I was debating between three locations and $40 would have changed where I stayed had I know. Maybe that's a Portland thing, but I've never stayed at hotel that charges parking. You're also about ten blocks from everything you want to do downtown, which wasn't too bad, but next time I'll stay at the Nines. Better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Morton's Steakhouse is well worth the money compared to what you get at places like Ruth Chris or El Gaucho.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Corbett Guy
Columbia River Gorge
Feb 11, 2014

Snowy weekend

Overall it was a good stay. The staff was great. The room was as expected. However, from this type of hotel I really expect the heat to be more than a space heater in the room (the room heat was not working and was not fixed while we were there). Bathroom was a bit cold. I suspect the snow event slowed things down a bit for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cannot think of any!
Business
Midwest
Jul 3, 2010

It was alright!

They could be more forthcoming about the charges for extensions (for late check out, for example).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Grrl
Mountain View, CA
Dec 31, 2009

Hote Deluxe

The Hotel is a boutique hotel which means they took an old hotel and the only investments they made were in the look and feel to it. Nice paint, linens, etc, but freezing cold in the winter and noisy as heck. I asked for a top floor room, quiet, away from the elevator and because I arrived early and the assigned room wasn't ready, they moved me to a room on a lower floor which was right next to a service stairwell the housekeeping and room service staff used (I said I didn't mind waiting until the room was ready but the staff insisted for some reason). I didn't realize how noisy the room was until the next morning, and thankfully i travel with ear plugs. the bathroom lighting was poor. Quality of room service food was good, although pretty predictable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Oct 19, 2009

Over rated hotel at 4 stars

Rooms were small. The bathroom was even smaller. No bathroom exhaust fan, so the shower steamed everything up. The door and windows were very thin, allowing any and all noise to enter the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top