$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
376 reviews
Good for a Short Getaway - unless you are wealthy.

Since it was almost 90 degrees, we wished they had a pool. And in general, parking was an... See full review

  • R to the
  • Jul 8, 2014
Relaxing respite in a whirlwind visit

This hotel was within walking distance of our daughter's apartment, a lightrail to the airport and... See full review

  • Tanacitafolia
  • Jul 1, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KESmith
San Francisco, California
May 8, 2012

High Class

This is one of the best hotels I've ever experienced. The only complaint is that it is an older hotel so the sound proofing was not the best. However, the staff was superb, the food great, and it was terrific overall. A big plus was that I didn't see any children at all! I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruna
San Mateo, CA
May 5, 2012

Our stay....

Friendly staff. Our room was small & the bathroom was very small, but we managed . I don't like using liquid bath soap, so I requested a bar of soap for my shower. I think you should provide enough of both. Very nice stay. Restaurant was very good...enjoyed our breakfast (we ate there twice). Bath towels were nice and thick and the bedding very nice. Thank U!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jake's Crawfish-Excellent dinners and wonderful happy hour.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeatherAnne
Boise, ID, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Modern Style with Old World Charm

Nice Hotel. Just around the block from the Max. Walked everywhere downtown, would have preferred a more central location, but not too bad. The bed was amazingly comfortable and pillows magnificent. I would stay there again. Great hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redbrick
Business
Sundridge, Ontario, Canada
Apr 24, 2012

Amazing stay

We have spent a lot of time in hotels over the past few years but our stay at the Hotel Deluxe has been amazing. Not your usual hotel room but very much an "at ease" place to stay. We love the ambience of the hotel's take on the golden age of movies. You HAVE to go to the Driftwood lounge, it is a must. Would not hesitate to stay there again...the staff went above and beyond. Staying in Portland? Stay at the Hotel Deluxe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go check out Blueplate a few blocks from Hotel Deluxe...they are open till 4pm but AMAZING food and drink.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMackenzie
New York
Apr 17, 2012

Elegant Yet Relaxed Urban Chic

Great location, blocks from the MAX (streetcar) system; staff very helpful and on point, friendly but not saccharine, extremely efficient. My room was elegant; although the space was small, the bathroom was gorgeous and immaculately clean; bed was plush and comfy. Central air was somewhat slow to respond; I had my thermostat set at 82 (!) and it always felt like 70. Initially my room's safe did not work and there wasn't a "quiet please" sign to be found in the room. Literally within 3 minutes of my call to front desk I received a knock on my door from a manager to drop off my sign and apologize for the safe. Within another minute maintenance was at my door to fix the safe. Unbelievable response time; very much appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking is safe in the area, several convenience stores blocks away, as well as a McDonald's and several local restaurants. Also, the MAX goes directly to/from the airport and this hotel, about a 30-minute convenient ride either way. And it only costs $2.40 one-way. Still convenient even if you have luggage to lug. The MAX station at the airport is literally outside the door from the baggage carousels, and the nearest MAX station from the hotel is 2 short blocks away.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dovey
New York, NY, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Best Portland Hotel Stay

First Class! We loved everything about this hotel - the atmosphere, helpful staff, beautiful room that had everything we could want for our comfort, convenient, quiet location and a restaurant with delicious food, and a variety of options. I am a vegetarian and the kitchen prepared dinner meals for me that were delightful ! The wine recommendation was excellent and unusual as well, to our delight. I would highly recommend this as a comfortable, beautiful and luxurious urban experience in the heart of Portland, Oregon. It was like living the glam life for the time of our stay, from the gorgeous lobby, to the elegantly appointed room - even the hallways were lovely, lined with black and white stills from old movies - a cut above ! Thank you for giving me and my Mom the memory of a lifetime, from a fan in New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat the most delicious and hearty breakfast from the ultimate menu, full of healthy and delicious choices !

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew New Mexico
New Mexico
Mar 20, 2012

Rooms

The Rooms At The Hotel Are Very Small, and no refrigerator in the room which would be nice. The beds are very comforatable. Not much to the hotel really. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Not for children!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffrey F.
Pomona, CA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Great classic, quiet stay

From the moment we stopped in front of the hotel to check-out, all staff was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Each time we passed through the lobby, we were greeted by at least one staff member. The room was small, but when you are just a couple, who needs lots of space? We sure didn't. The classic film theme used throughout the building was well done and was not obtrusive, but interesting. The bed was comfortable and soft and all the lights had dimmers, which was a nice touch. No problems throughout the stay and would definitely look to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can choose valet parking for ease of use, but street parking nearby was very easy over the weekend, despite it being St. Patrick's Day. Just watch out for a Timbers home game (the stadium is 2 blocks away), when it might be difficult to find parking. Most of the spots nearby have a 5 hour max and you can park overnight for free.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKNY
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 12, 2012

So comfortable & friendly

Clean classic rooms, super comfortable bed. Super nice & attentive staff. i was sad to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Richard B.
Business
LA
Mar 3, 2012

24 hour business trip

The hotel looks great. Staff were excellent. Rooms clean. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top