$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
251 reviews
Portland Wedding

In Portland for the first time to attend a wedding. Chose the Deluxe based on customer ratings and... See full review

  • Notatwin
  • Oct 19, 2014
Perfect stay!

This hotel has it all! The staff is so helpful and knowledgeable . They told us which local... See full review

  • Aaronwalter
  • Sep 2, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ron DiCrescenzo
Business
Portland Oregon
Aug 11, 2012

Old, small, tiny bed, real small bathroom, left after one horrible night!

See above! Never stay again!! Old place room too small! Bathroom very small! Bed was not standard size! Not comfortable! It was a terrible experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandrajean
Business
Whidbey Island
Jul 19, 2012

portland trip

I have stayed at this hotel before and they are always accommodating. The television was not getting good reception, and they did try and fix the problem. I was not charged for the movie. although it was never resolved (might have been the Direct TV) they told me that I would receive a better price on my next booking since I had prepaid this stay. Which I felt was nice of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good museum, and good movies not far away for a nice walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leeanne
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 9, 2012

Not 4 star quality

First and last, the room was TINY. We had a king deluxe room and my husband and I could not walk anyplace in the room and pass each other. With the bathroom door opeon, access through the room was blocked. It was warm and we could not control the thermostat, even though there was one in the room. Service was great, the bar and restaurant were good, and the common areas of the hotel were nice. But we won't return to that tiny room. There was not even any place to comfortably sit down except on the bed. Neighborhood was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebec
Business
Dayton, OH
Jun 1, 2012

Loved everything about this hotel

The location is away from noise, yet walking distance to downtown and great restaurants. Very courteous and accommodating staff. I loved the cozy room and white-tiled bathroom. I flew in from Ohio to see Pickwick at the Wonder Ballroom. Stayed two nights and slept like a baby. Very comfortable bed. I can't wait to come back to Portland and I will choose this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the Saturday market...food, entertainment, etc. So alive! Take the train...one of the best transit systems I've experienced to date.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chippyjack
Business
Redwood City, CA
May 15, 2012

Hotel

Great decor and great old school bar. Staff very helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many resturants and food truck within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John likes architure
Business
San Francisco
May 14, 2012

Lovely small hotel, with intimate lobby and good staff

My room was a good value, with partial views of the city and Mt. Hood. The lobby is its best asset being both gracious and intimate. Althought my room was large, it had leaky windows and lackluster decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The Pearl District is both fun and lively and is a 10 block walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOHN BLLL
Business
TOLLAND, CT
May 11, 2012

A great hotel

when I checked out I told the front desk that they had a fantastic hotel. It was the best place I have stayed in years. A cup of coffee waiting in my car was only one of the many things the staff did to make me feel at home. All hotels should have a staff like this one. I give it six stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KESmith
Business
San Francisco, California
May 8, 2012

High Class

This is one of the best hotels I've ever experienced. The only complaint is that it is an older hotel so the sound proofing was not the best. However, the staff was superb, the food great, and it was terrific overall. A big plus was that I didn't see any children at all! I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruna
Business
San Mateo, CA
May 5, 2012

Our stay....

Friendly staff. Our room was small & the bathroom was very small, but we managed . I don't like using liquid bath soap, so I requested a bar of soap for my shower. I think you should provide enough of both. Very nice stay. Restaurant was very good...enjoyed our breakfast (we ate there twice). Bath towels were nice and thick and the bedding very nice. Thank U!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jake's Crawfish-Excellent dinners and wonderful happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeatherAnne
Business
Boise, ID, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Modern Style with Old World Charm

Nice Hotel. Just around the block from the Max. Walked everywhere downtown, would have preferred a more central location, but not too bad. The bed was amazingly comfortable and pillows magnificent. I would stay there again. Great hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top