$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
View map of 729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fussy traveler.
Couples
Berkley, Michigan
Jan 21, 2013

Exceeded expectations!

From the moment we checked in until when we check out- in the wee hours of the morning, the staff was very attentive and helpful. This hotel could be the best kept secret in Portland. Looking forward to returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the valet service.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Darcy
Couples
Pasadena, Ca
May 10, 2013

Portland gem

We received a great deal on a 2-night stay and were pleased to find the location within easy walking distance of the places we planned to visit. The staff were great and even waived the self-parking fee when they discovered it had been mistakenly omitted from the final bill. The hotel lounge was charming and the bartender friendly and knowledgeable. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the car in the parking garage and walk instead- everything is close by and easy to get to!

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paval
Business
portland
May 6, 2013

should be 2.1/2 stars hotel not 4 stars

good hotel but not for 4 stars, no free continental breakfast and not swiming pool, not too happy. also charged me for the parking too, otherwise was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gnarlvision
Couples
Los Angeles, California
Apr 30, 2013

Great Service, small rooms, location could be better

When my wife and I arrived at the hotel deluxe we were greeted by a concierge who quickly helped us decide where to eat for the night. He was a tremendous help. We then went to our room, which was quite small. The bathroom was small as well. Don't expect more than one person to be in there at the same time. The bed was really comfortable. The location was a bit farther away from the main hub of downtown than I realized. Luckily, the weather was really nice, so the 10 block walk wasn't so bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My Lou
Business
Hickory, North Carolina
Apr 14, 2013

Walk into a bygone era!

After a nightmarish flight experience and being severely delayed, I arrived at the hotel. What a joy to be greeted by a valet who gave me all the parking options with no attempt to "sell me" the most expensive hotel option. The lobby was beautiful and the fame of the hotel (for filming movies and Hitchcock films to boot) was done nicely. While I got in too late to enjoy dinner at the restaurant, I did have breakfast which was furnished in the same classic style. The room was very comfortable for a hotel of that age. I had everything I needed from the most comfortable bed to free wi-fi to a place to charge my iPhone. I particularly liked the bathroom. The only thing I missed was a bathtub thinking I may have wanted to have a hot bath after the long flight. I was treated very well by all the staff--upon check-in, after I explained why I was so late, my room was automatically upgraded. The valet and waiter at the restaurant made wonderful recommendations for destinations in my limited time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave Jr
Business
rockford, il
Apr 8, 2013

Excellent Place

Comfortable hotel. Nice appearance. Downtown so it was close walking to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motown Jeff
Couples
Brighton, MI
Mar 27, 2013

What a Hotel Experience Should Be

A Friendly Staff, speedy valet, comfy bed, reasonable rate, convenient locale, as well as the attention to detail, (an addictive option in the form of Portland's "Salt and Spoon" ice cream being made available by the quart, rather than having to endure the long lines at their Alberta St. location), all made for a hotel experience worth repeating; the Hotel Deluxe being the only place we stay when in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Picking up a copy of the book "Breakfast in Bridgetown" helps the decision of finding the right breakfast eatery amidst the vast selections of what are Portland's Worthwhile Breakfast eateries.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dolph618
Family
Long beach, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Cute hotel

Very boutique neatness. Great theme going but our room was real small. Very clean and gives off a luxurious feeling. Good overall..very nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar has a great happy hour menu, my favs were the cheeseburger, fries and Mac and cheese, amazing!

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adboglek
Couples
Boston, MA
Mar 19, 2013

Four Star Urban Hotel in Downtown Portland

This is a wonderful little hotel, especially considering the very affordable rate. The location is great, within walking distance of everything in downtown Portland, though just a couple blocks out of the heart of things. We stayed in the queen room - which was gorgeous - though I did see the king room and the added space might be worth the few extra dollars. The bar serves great cocktails, has a lovely atmosphere, and a rather extended happy hour. Might be a little pricey for the budget conscious outside of those hours though, and there is rather limited seating so don't be surprised if it's at capacity. They're dog friendly, which is great, and we saw many little canines while we were there. The staff is fantastic, from the doormen to the waiters - I was really impressed. There is a classic Holywood theme to the place, which a lot of people will love. It's cute, but wasn't really my thing, but it didn't detract. All in all it was a great place to stay, and I'd definitely recommend it, and will most likely be back the next time I'm in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The lunch carts on SW-10th and Washington were a pleasant surprise. Huge number of choices for whatever you're craving at affordable prices an easy walk from the deLuxe. We also loved Sheryl's for breakfast - a recommendation of the staff, and for a 5 star dinner Higgins at the corner of Broadway and Jefferson was great and they use local ingredients - though you'll be paying 5 star prices.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evie A
Couples
Bellingham, Washington
Mar 18, 2013

Love old Hollywood

The decor is simply amazing! Rooms are on the small side but the location is perfect for exploring downtown Portland by foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brittany Simmons
Couples
Capistrano Beach
Mar 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel & great location

Hotel de Luxe was an amazing hotel! It is so beautiful inside, has a classic old Hollywood glam feel. The staff was very helpful, and gave us great recommendations the whole time on great places to eat & shop! What we loved most was the Drift Room bar, such a cool vibe. We found ourselves hanging out here before we went out every night. The bar tender was great and the drinks were delicious! The other great thing about this hotel is that it is walking distance to all the restaurants & shops, which was great for us because we didn't rent a car. We would defiantly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jakes restaurant was absolutely to die for!

Back to menu Return to top