$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
376 reviews
Good for a Short Getaway - unless you are wealthy.

Since it was almost 90 degrees, we wished they had a pool. And in general, parking was an... See full review

  • R to the
  • Jul 8, 2014
Relaxing respite in a whirlwind visit

This hotel was within walking distance of our daughter's apartment, a lightrail to the airport and... See full review

  • Tanacitafolia
  • Jul 1, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerRM
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 18, 2013

Perfect

Great hotel. Very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DolemiteSF
San Francisco, CA
Dec 8, 2012

Great spot if you are going to the Crystal Ballroom

I was in town to see a couple of shows at the Crystal Ballroom. Hotel deLuxe is walking distance to the venue, as well as the Pearl District and downtown. The Driftwood room has great drinks, friendly bartenders and both an early and a late happy hour. Our room was small, but had plenty of room for our needs. It was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cassidy's Restaurant is a short walk away, and they have a great late night happy hour from 10:00pm to 2:00am (serving food the entire time).

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ISO Portlandia
Baltimore, MD
Dec 4, 2012

Charming hotel, wonderful, nice staff

I came to Portland just to get away, didn't really have a set itinerary. One of the front desk staff (I forgot his name, I regret) was great in explaining what was in the area. Downtown is just walking distance from the hotel. I was able to walk to a nearby food truck pod on Alder. The bed is absolutely comfortable, had some great sleep. My only complaint is the shower head's low water pressure; that's just my personal preference...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sugar britches
Seattle, WA
Dec 4, 2012

Great in-city accommodations

Friendly staff. Charming restaurant with terrific service. Comfortable room. Water pressure was a bit low but the bathroom was spacious. Great location within walking distance to downtown and city sights but removed enough to be quiet. Tasteful decor. Swanky lounge. Seemed gay friendly. On Tri-Met routes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Affordable dining on 21st NW at Dick's Kitchen. Laughing Planet a couple blocks away from Dick's is good, too. Salt & Straw ice cream on 23rd NW not far from Dick's. Cool moon ice cream on NW Johnson is also awesome. These are all about 20-25 minute comfortable walk from the Hotel deLuxe.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norma Baseball girl
Seattle, WA
Dec 3, 2012

Hotel deLuxe Portland, OR

We had a very nice stay at Hotel deLuxe. Hotel was in a great location, lovely and the amenities were nice. The bar was good, but the restaurant was Great and really affordable! The bed was so very comfortable. The only thing I did not like was the size of the room, they are very small. We had 2 friends come by and there was no where for them to sit. Besides that we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant was teriffic!

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Displaced Hoosier
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2012

Good experience

I drove in from Seattle and was very pleased with this hotel. The staff was very friendly and quick, and the room was nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharpie
San Pedro
Nov 29, 2012

Great place to stay

We really enjoyed this. The staff was fantastic. Location great. The decor and colors fabulous. The room was well appointed. It is an original hotel so they can't do much with the small, but cheery rooms and bathroom. We also ate at the restaurant for breakfast and it was exceptional. Did I mention that the staff made you feel at home and really wanted to make your experience special?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kat Robert
San Francisco
Nov 21, 2012

Truly Deluxe Accommodations!

This was my ideal hotel--Great old building from 1912, with new design updates tastefully done, to blend perfectly with old design..... and so elegant! We loved having so much natural light during the day, and the lamps were very subtle at night. The bed was sooooo comfortable and soothing, and the old bathtub was perfect for that end-of-day soak! Very nice TV screen, and we appreciated having HBO. During the hard rains of our recent stay, we found it wonderful to "eat in" at Gracies, an excellent restaurant, reasonably priced. The service at the hotel was impeccable, including the doormen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We needed really good, strong coffee in the morning. Our doorman directed us to a coffee house a few blocks away, which was perfect: Coffee People

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tat Kat
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Nov 21, 2012

Overrated Stay

The hotel is cheap dressed up in classy, and topped off with absurdly expensive. The toilet was actually a plastic public toilet in a tiny bathroom. Also, there was left over trash from the last guest in the trash can, and the bathtub looked like it had been stained with left over grime. The room's decor was no better than any Best Western, and was much smaller. The best was comfortable, but there was so much noise coming in from the hall and outside that sleep was impossible. The staff was decently cordial, but no one was particularly helpful with the exception of the valet team (there were the gem in this hotel's crown). The hotel also gouges you every which way for extra fees... overall, my experience was less than satisfactory, and I'll never pay that much to spend a night in Hotel DeLuxe again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeborahK
Tucson, AZ
Nov 16, 2012

Portland: A Great Visit

Very nice hotel. The front desk folks were very good, friendly, helpful. Fitness room is small (free weights and one bike, one treadmill, one glider). Public transport practically outside the front door and the walk to downtown/Pearl not bad if you enjoy walking. Parking is expensive but there is a garage right next door. We never used the car we rented as the public transportation was so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mlink
San Francisco, CA
Nov 5, 2012

retro modern comfort

Loved my stay here! Came with a girlfriend for a weekend getaway. Comfortable - they had a menu of pillow types (!) Nice bed, covers, clean. The room was not large but it was very cute and clean. Easy walking distance to a ton of good spots on the westside. Delicious breakfast in the downstairs restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the saturday farmer's market down near portland state for local, fresh, edible goodies.

Back to menu Return to top