$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
251 reviews
Portland Wedding

In Portland for the first time to attend a wedding. Chose the Deluxe based on customer ratings and... See full review

  • Notatwin
  • Oct 19, 2014
Perfect stay!

This hotel has it all! The staff is so helpful and knowledgeable . They told us which local... See full review

  • Aaronwalter
  • Sep 2, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
klw026
Business
Portland Oregon
May 28, 2013

pretty expensive for what you get

pretty expensive for what you get. i was super bummed the room was so small- $200/ night was not a good value for the room. Staff was super friendly, though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trixiedarling
Business
Mill valley, California
May 25, 2013

Gorgeous hotel, super helpful staff, fabulous bar

I can't say enough about this hotel. It was a beautiful building, the staff was attentive and polite, the bar had fantastic food and cocktails and it was only two blocks from the red line train. The rooms are on the small side but they are beautifully decorated. One of the best hotel experiences ive had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Darcy
Business
Pasadena, Ca
May 10, 2013

Portland gem

We received a great deal on a 2-night stay and were pleased to find the location within easy walking distance of the places we planned to visit. The staff were great and even waived the self-parking fee when they discovered it had been mistakenly omitted from the final bill. The hotel lounge was charming and the bartender friendly and knowledgeable. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the car in the parking garage and walk instead- everything is close by and easy to get to!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paval
Business
portland
May 6, 2013

should be 2.1/2 stars hotel not 4 stars

good hotel but not for 4 stars, no free continental breakfast and not swiming pool, not too happy. also charged me for the parking too, otherwise was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gnarlvision
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 30, 2013

Great Service, small rooms, location could be better

When my wife and I arrived at the hotel deluxe we were greeted by a concierge who quickly helped us decide where to eat for the night. He was a tremendous help. We then went to our room, which was quite small. The bathroom was small as well. Don't expect more than one person to be in there at the same time. The bed was really comfortable. The location was a bit farther away from the main hub of downtown than I realized. Luckily, the weather was really nice, so the 10 block walk wasn't so bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My Lou
Business
Hickory, North Carolina
Apr 14, 2013

Walk into a bygone era!

After a nightmarish flight experience and being severely delayed, I arrived at the hotel. What a joy to be greeted by a valet who gave me all the parking options with no attempt to "sell me" the most expensive hotel option. The lobby was beautiful and the fame of the hotel (for filming movies and Hitchcock films to boot) was done nicely. While I got in too late to enjoy dinner at the restaurant, I did have breakfast which was furnished in the same classic style. The room was very comfortable for a hotel of that age. I had everything I needed from the most comfortable bed to free wi-fi to a place to charge my iPhone. I particularly liked the bathroom. The only thing I missed was a bathtub thinking I may have wanted to have a hot bath after the long flight. I was treated very well by all the staff--upon check-in, after I explained why I was so late, my room was automatically upgraded. The valet and waiter at the restaurant made wonderful recommendations for destinations in my limited time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave Jr
Business
rockford, il
Apr 8, 2013

Excellent Place

Comfortable hotel. Nice appearance. Downtown so it was close walking to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motown Jeff
Business
Brighton, MI
Mar 27, 2013

What a Hotel Experience Should Be

A Friendly Staff, speedy valet, comfy bed, reasonable rate, convenient locale, as well as the attention to detail, (an addictive option in the form of Portland's "Salt and Spoon" ice cream being made available by the quart, rather than having to endure the long lines at their Alberta St. location), all made for a hotel experience worth repeating; the Hotel Deluxe being the only place we stay when in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Picking up a copy of the book "Breakfast in Bridgetown" helps the decision of finding the right breakfast eatery amidst the vast selections of what are Portland's Worthwhile Breakfast eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dolph618
Business
Long beach, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Cute hotel

Very boutique neatness. Great theme going but our room was real small. Very clean and gives off a luxurious feeling. Good overall..very nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar has a great happy hour menu, my favs were the cheeseburger, fries and Mac and cheese, amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adboglek
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 19, 2013

Four Star Urban Hotel in Downtown Portland

This is a wonderful little hotel, especially considering the very affordable rate. The location is great, within walking distance of everything in downtown Portland, though just a couple blocks out of the heart of things. We stayed in the queen room - which was gorgeous - though I did see the king room and the added space might be worth the few extra dollars. The bar serves great cocktails, has a lovely atmosphere, and a rather extended happy hour. Might be a little pricey for the budget conscious outside of those hours though, and there is rather limited seating so don't be surprised if it's at capacity. They're dog friendly, which is great, and we saw many little canines while we were there. The staff is fantastic, from the doormen to the waiters - I was really impressed. There is a classic Holywood theme to the place, which a lot of people will love. It's cute, but wasn't really my thing, but it didn't detract. All in all it was a great place to stay, and I'd definitely recommend it, and will most likely be back the next time I'm in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The lunch carts on SW-10th and Washington were a pleasant surprise. Huge number of choices for whatever you're craving at affordable prices an easy walk from the deLuxe. We also loved Sheryl's for breakfast - a recommendation of the staff, and for a 5 star dinner Higgins at the corner of Broadway and Jefferson was great and they use local ingredients - though you'll be paying 5 star prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top